We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Winds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carolina Winds to your Saves list
Carolina Winds
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer From $79/Night
Ranked #40 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hope Mills, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have never stayed at Myrtle Beach and spent weeks researching all the different condos, hotels, apartments, etc that are available. I wanted a place that was nice... really nice! That would fit my budget. I searched and searched and finally found Carolina Winds. I needed a fairly large condo to fit everyone as I needed an extra bedroom for a boyfriend of a 16 year old. Also, I snore and no one wanted to sleep in a room with me :(. So many of the places I looked at had reviewers complaining of bad odors, bugs, dirty conditions, etc. I was really scared because this was going to cost me a lot of money (to me) and was a celebration/vacation for my granddaughter's 16th birthday, and my daughter's graduation. I looked at the reviews for Carolina Winds and about the worst thing people said was that it was dated. So I made my reservation for a 3 br/2bth, ocean front deluxe condo. I paid for the rental on Thursday and on
Friday afternoon we took off for the beach! As we got to the outskirts of Myrtle Beach, great black clouds rolled in and it started pouring. It rained all the way in and was still pouring when we got to the resort. We checked in and got a quick intro to the property along with a list of places we could get a discount on meals, shopping etc. We drove around to the back door and unloaded. I parked (only complaint) and met the family at the front door of our condo. We opened the door and as we stepped into the foyer, I swear, we heard angels sing! The sun came shining through the balcony doors in the living room and the master bed room. We all just stood there with our jaws on the floor gawking like a bunch of hayseeds. Then the kids all squeeled and ran for the different bedrooms. Being the bill payer, I selected the master bedroom. Ocean front, balcony, full bath, walk-in closet, flat screen TV (as if I was going to watch it). The balcony went all the way across the ocean front of the master br, the living room, around the corner. There was also a side view balcony off one of the other two bedrooms. The condo was equipped with a washer/dryer, full kitchen with EVERYTHING you could possible need to cook just about anything, dishwasher, full size fridge. Dining table to fit six comfortably. Very comfortable living area. Flat screens in the living room and the other two bedrooms. The place was absolutely spotless, The guest book said that the owners had just remodeled in April/2012 and it really was well done. Since we only stayed for the weekend, we didn't request housekeeping while we were there, but I understand that they have daily housekeeping. I looked at the pools at the places I could see nearby and the pool here was crystal clear, even the kiddie pool, and the hot spa. It's a nice size pool and there is a small indoor pool, spa and weight room. There is a small video arcade and it looked like there was a little diner area, buy we didn't use it. The condo we stayed in was on the 5th floor, but even lower would have been quiet. I will definitely try to save my money and stay in the same condo for a whole week next time. The only complaint I had was the parking. I had to park across the street both nights and I would have preferred something closer.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of space, #503 is absolutely wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    155
    57
    28
    30
See reviews for
326
108
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The people is amazing and so is the beautiful views of the ocean. Be sure to request an ocean view room if they have any. It is owrth the extra penny. This is one of my favorite place for Myrtle Beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Carolina Winds for the first time on 9/4/12 - 9/7/12 in an angled oceanfront 7th floor unit. FANTASTIC VIEW OF THE OCEAN. Our rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated with plenty of storage. The staff and housekeeping were friendly and the outdoor area and pool are well maintained. You are right on the beach and it is a very quiet area at night.

Can't wait to go back. We will not stay anywhere else.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Vickie Y

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was expecting great, but got good! The outside needs some TLC badly. The best feature by far is the pool! Wow it's awesome, so clean and pretty! Also huge! Hate that they allow their employees to smoke right beside front door. Thought employees would be better dressed. Very casual. Need more ice machines, was always out of ice. The housekeeper did a pretty good job, but there was lots of dust in corner areas. We would stay again, but what I don't like is you don't know what to expect. All rooms are different. Need pictures of actual room you will be getting online. All rooms should b kept updated! Overall 3 1/2 out of 5!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Carolina Winds the week of the 4th of July. Again, it was another great vacation. We stayed in the 2 bedroom condo on the 2nd floor and it was awesome. The condo was clean and daily maid service was great. You can not beat this place for the money.

Room Tip: If you want a great oceanview, stay on the higher floors. You can see the ocean from the 2nd but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Carolina Winds from Sept 3 - 10, 2012. We usually don't stay in the northern end of Myrtle Beach, but as we were researching places to stay, we came across Carolina Winds. The low cost seemed almost unbelievable, so we had to try it out. The pools and hot tubs were very nice, clean, and family friendly. The room was great, but it did need a little updating. The staff was very friendly. The only two complaints I would have would be, 1. The air conditioner in our living room leaked onto the balcony pretty bad causing the carpet on the balcony to be so wet that we spent very little time out there. 2) There is no resturant in the hotel. Other than that, it was very nice and we would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are actually at an angle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have been coming to Carolina Winds Resort for about 22 years. It began when our children were little, scraping money together and looking to make the "biggest bang for our buck". The big atttractions are location, which is on the north end of the beach hotels, so the beaches are not crowded and the streets are not congested. It has an outside pool and Lazy River, as well as 2 jacuzzis. There is a small pool and hot tub inside for those rainy days. The hotel is right on the beach. We started out with our little family the Family suite, which we soon outgrew and graduated to a 2 bedroom. As our kids grew up and we invited grandparents and friends, we managed a three bedroom a few times as well. Now our kids are grown and out of the house. So we are back to the Family Suite. But they still come down with their own families to the place that has so many memories. Sometimes we even manage to be down there at the same time, which is wonderful. The other thing we we like is that there is a Food lion two blocks away. The hotel is aging, but the owners are required to update every few years, so the rooms for the most part are really nice. But it meets all our vacation requirements! It's a great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#47 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#32 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#11 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#46 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Tree Cove Resort
Jade Tree Cove Resort
#42 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Address: Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#48 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carolina Winds 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Carolina Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.