We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minnie Christmas Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Quarters Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captains Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Captains Quarters Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-2486   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Late Checkout From $39!
Ranked #99 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Minnie Christmas Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed at this resort on several Occasions for Christmas with my Family. This year was just ok. The carpet in the room was filthy, just to walk from the bedroom to the balcony my socks where filthy and my kids feet where so dirty. I still love this place but really needs better soaps for the bathroom and cleaning aids for the kitchen. I love that the level 6 was open on Christmas Day, and my grandson loved the lazy river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doris915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for spending your Christmas Break with us. We would like to apologize for any issues you had while on vacation and have passed your comments onto the department managers. We are glad that you and your grandson enjoyed the lazy river and the bolwing alley on Christmas Day. Such Fun! We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hopewell, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a very nice place for a mini vacation during Christmas break. Myrtle beach has everything for young and old. Never a dull moment. The resort has something to do for everyone. It's pretty awesome that they have a bowling alley on the 6th floor. And they give you a free ticket a day. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely go next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review for us.. We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us and we agree so much to do in myrtle beach and at the resort itself.. We are glad that you enjoyed the Bowling in Level 6.. such fun!!!! Cant wait till you return to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location was great. The hotel definitely had the myrtle beach feel to it. The room was dingy and the tv was small. The channels were far from anything special. The shower was horrible. It was like taking a shower under a hot garden hose!! The view from the ocean front rooms were great but other than that it was pretty run down. Would recommend for a family vacation but not a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review for us. Its comments such as these that help us to make improvements. We are sorry that you had any issues and if you would like to further discuss any issues please call a manager at 1-800-373-4091. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place to stay. We had a king size bed and it slept just like ours at home. The front desk people are so friendly and helpful. The room staff did an excellent job. We have stayed at this hotel many times and enjoy each time we visit. Our only wish is they would get thicker towels!!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms away from the pool are much quieter (no kid noise). Close to the coastal mall and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We would like to thank you for being a repeat guest with us.. We just love our returning guest that come a couple times a year or year after year... We look forward to seeing them each and every time.. Thank you for your comments on the staff, we will pass those comments onto them. Hopefully you can come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Overall, our stay was pleasant. Was disappointed that we were only given one bottle of shampoo for three people to share over an entire weekend though. Other than, I was pleased. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for us.. We are sorry that you didnt have enough supplies in your room and have passed your comments on the housekeeping manager.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and loo forward to the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My family lives in Charlotte, NC and we like to visit Myrtle 2 or 3 times a year. We've stayed at various hotels along the strand, all in the same price range as the Captains Quarters. Out of all the places we've stayed out, this hotel was by far the worst.

I have never stayed in a hotel before where the rooms were built around the parking garage. What I mean is that when you open your hotel room door, you are smack in the middle of the dark, dreary, depressing indoor parking garage. Not exactly a relaxing vacation view.

The staff were friendly and helpful, even giving us an oceanfront room after I complained. So I would give the staff five stars, the pool and lazy river 5 stars, the bowling alley five stars, and the location five stars. But I just can't get over that horrible parking lot and all the unhealthy exhaust smells and poor ventilation every time we opened the room door. Even moving about the hotel required walking the hallways that face the parking lot. Blech. Not staying here again. One star for the parking lot situation.

Room Tip: Stay at the Carribean Resorts in an oceanfront suite for the best value on the strand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andromedaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed our ammenities such as the pools and the bowling alley and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We strive to provide the best customer service to each and everyone of our guest. Although not all of our rooms have doors near the parking lot, many guests find this very convenient when it comes to unloading when they arrive and loading their car back up when they depart. Some hotels along Ocean Blvd have their parking lots across the street, which is inconvenient and we have avoided by keeping our garage on the same side of the street. We are happy that you enjoyed your oceanfront room upgrade as well and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent move up from another location with plenty to do for my grandson. Staff courteous kind and efficient. Loved the ample parking even though the garage area was dark on the second floor main one. Hate parking across the street at other places. Everythiing worked well and no problems other than the safe not wanting to work after the first time use but it was promptly taken care of. Spacious area for my grandson. We loved the magic shows and the Pirate Man and all of it. Missed the fire show but we also love the bowling. It was a great place for kids. At breakfast one morning at the cafe it was good and staff friendly. Salty the mascot was a great hit with my grandson Jacob as well he loves mascots.

Room Tip: we had 2nd floor on the end over the bar a little noisy but didn't bother me I think the caddy c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khamm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us. We agree lots and lots to do.. Salty just loves making new friends.. We hope that you will visit us again as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
6.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
2.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#30 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#14 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Resort

Address: 901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-2486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Quarters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Travelocity so you can book your Captains Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Family Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters Family
Captains Quarters Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Captains Quarters Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Captains Quarters Motel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing