We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woke up to a roach on my head!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Quarters Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Captains Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Captains Quarters Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-2486   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Up To 50% Off!
Ranked #98 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Woke up to a roach on my head!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Enough said I woke up and a water bug was on my head. The room was okay not the best but it would do for a hotel that visited by thousands a year. The bathroom wasn't the best but it was somewhat clean. I would not recommend walking on the damp smelling carpet without shoes. I did enjoy the live show the children but on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We aplogize for your encounter with a water bug. We understand how traumatic this must have been. Water bugs, also known as Palmetto bugs, are quite common in the south and they do fly very quickly and can sometimes get into rooms when any door is open. We do srpay for bugs regularly with a trusted pets control company and we take the sightings very seriously.
We are very happy that you were able to enjoy our fire and hula show. We hope you will stay with us again. If we can assist you in any way please give us a call. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    401
    265
    156
    295
See reviews for
863
261
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our room, a king oceanview, was clean and had an excellent view with a small porch. The cleaning staff did a good job except for the coffee. They did not replenish the coffee or give clean coffee cups. Bowling alley was fun and Vista 9 breakfast each day was delicious. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: King oceanview room has a wall of windows overlooking the ocean plus a small balcony with sliding gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for us.. We are sorry about the coffee and have passed your comments onto the housekeeping manager. We are very glad that you enjoyed the bowling alley and agree the views and the food in Vista are great... Come see us again as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennettsville, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We rented an queen efficiency with separate living room. The room was nice. My problem was the bathroom was too small and the shower had very poor water stream. The tile in there was also not very presentable. I don't know if it was mold or mildew that was in the crevices. That should be worked on. That is something that needs to be addressed, because if it is mold, it could cause people to be sick.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all our feedback and have passed your comments on to the appropriate manager.. We are glad that you enjoyed your Queen with seperate livingroom.. We hope that you will come see us again in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We rented a room on the second floor 204 and it was very noisey because it was so close to the lobby and people going in and out the lobby door. The garbage trailers were being dragged in and out of the first floor parking garage. Now with that being said the room itself was fine and we enjoyed the pools and arcade. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay again just not in room 204.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment on your stay here at Captains Quarters. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words on the staff.. We look forward to your returning vist..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Really liked the pools, room was nice...maintenence and front desk were very helpful. Housekeeping did an excellent job. My family and I would stay there again. The front desk was very busy, but considering we checked in on a weekend morning they handled reservations efficiently and with courtesy. Being able to use the pool after driving 9 hours was very nice, especially for our toddler. The rooms were also quiet. The hawaiin show, shark, and captain with parrot were nice for kids.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.. We agree the Luau and fire show, Salty our shark and tiki bird are such fun! We look forward to your next vacation...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We rented two rooms on the ground floor and had problems with both. The rooms were dirty. There was mold growing in the bathrooms, and worst of all we found live roaches in both rooms. The only positive thing I can say is the staff was friendly. Overall, I was VERY disappointed with my stay and do not plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize fo an inconveniences you enoucntered while a guest on our property and that management takes all our comments seriously. We would like to hear more from you about your stay. At your convenience you can reach a manager at 1-800-373-4091.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our recent visit was amazing. We planned our visit during Sandy so with the rain and wind we did'nt expect to have a good time. But with all the Resort offered we had the best time. The staff was so friendly Just an amazing place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review for us.. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time.. Thank you for your comment about the staff we are happy to pass that on to them.. We hope that you will come see us again as soon as you get the first chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captains Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Resort

Address: 901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-2486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Quarters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Captains Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Family Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters Family
Captains Quarters Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Captains Quarters Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Captains Quarters Motel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Quarters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.