We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Quarters Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Captains Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Captains Quarters Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-2486   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer From $59/Night!
Ranked #97 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy Holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Our son and daughter-in-law joined us on vacation in Myrtle Beach. We all enjoyed the facilities, the pools, the friendly staff, the location. We have stayed here many times over the past numbers of years.

Room Tip: The oceanfront efficiency we rented was excellent. We sat on the balcony to relax as we listened to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for writing this review.. We love to see our returning guest year after year and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come see us again as soon as you can!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    448
    287
    172
    331
See reviews for
951
299
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I read so many negative reviews on this resort....so glad I kept our reservations. There were 9 of us and all of us enjoyed our holiday. Lots to do on the resort, and angle oceanfront room we had was very clean and updated. Pools were clean and staff were friendly. Would definitely go back. No complaints. Great holiday :)

Room Tip: book to stay in the newly renovated rooms in the angle oceanfront building . You will be pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you for such positive comments, we love to hear/read those.. We strive to do our very best and are so glad you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities. Come and see us again as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Although our party didn't stay at the Captains Quarters we did enjoy several breakfasts as part of a Blue Hotel package. The breakfast buffet was excellent with all the good artery clogging items with eggs cooked to order. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to write this review.. We are so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and our staff will love to hear the positive comments. You can beat the views from those ocean front views up there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock NC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed here the first weekend in October to meet up with our friends and go to Pirates Voyage. The Oceanfront Angle view was very nice. More of a view than a normal Oceanfront room at other places we have stayed. We used the indoor whirlpool and lazy river, very relaxing. Good location. Would stay again. Only problem was the parking as we had two couples staying in one room and they only allow one vehicle per room and then told us the other vehicle had to park in the Public Beach Access parking and pay to park. After my friend went down to the desk and talked to the clerk they did give her a parking pass as they were paying for the room just as we were. Overall it was a good weekend.

Room Tip: If you like a good view of the Ocean select Oceanfront Angle View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We enjoy having you with us and look forward to having you back in the future... Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had reservations for a stay at the Captains Quarters for Sat & Sunday Night. I woke up on Friday all excited about going to the beach and called the Captains Quarters to see if we could get a room for Friday too.. I spoke to a very nice Steve and he said they had room on Friday.. So after work we loaded the car , picked up a mother with Dementia and off we went for a 4 hr trip to the beach.. We were so excited to had an Oceanfront , one bedroom suite and we would be seeing the ocean within hours. We planned on using bell hop service to get things to the room.. with a disabled person it is the easiest way.. Well I should have know that with the looks of the front check in area that maybe this was not the place that looked so good on the internet.. But we took the room key and all of our things... there was NO bell hop service.. and went to find our room.. The elevators were not clean and the carpet smelled.. We finally found our room and when we went in we were shocked at the condition.. Wet smelling carpet , cigarette smoke , spray painted refrig. door, and a warped table.. Opened the door to the deck and we had an obstructed view of the ocean.... It was almost 11 pm and we just could not stay... We got our money refunded and we were on our way out of the middle of Myrtle Beach heading down the Kings Highway to North Myrtle Beach area.. Stayed that night is a small but very clean Courtyard Inn.. and in the morning we went to Embassy Suite Kingston.. We were able to check in at noon. Wonderful one bedroom suite corner unit!! Captain's Quarters was so bad I was ready to buy a tent and stay at a campgrounds or sleep in the car....

Room Tip: Add a few dollars to what you have to spend a night and go somewhere else.. Leaving central Myrtle B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered while a guest at our property. It is always disturbing to hear/read of a dissatisfied guest and your comments have been passed on to the appropriate manager. We hope that you decide to give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very good hotel for family when you get a good rate. Hotel is not suitable for honeymoons or romance geta-ways. Location is on the beach with both indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzis and lazy-rivers. Also a waterpart which is great for toddlers. Two and one have days of wind and rain on our vacation found us appreciative of the indoor pools. The pool facilities are kept in excellent shape too. Nice weight room with updated treadmills and weight lifting machines. You don't see too many people in the weight room, as everyone is outside on the beach or at the pools. There is plenty of parking. The vast majority of rooms are ocean view. The hotel is renovating its rooms. The renovated rooms are immaculate. We stayed in a room that had not been renovated. This room needed minor cosmetic work; but was clean and ok. Our room had a kitchen and living room with a balcony that opened out with ocean view. It was nice to cook breakfast, go to the beach and return for lunch cooked in our kitchen. The money we saved doing this allowed us to dine out on the town in the evening. Best advice- Don't pay full price for this one. Get a discount online and the great value will allow you to overlook any cosmetics. It was hugely handy to be in a hotel with both indoor and outdoor pools during our October stay. Two and one half days of rain simply drove us to the indoor pools until the weather got bettwer.

Room Tip: Most rooms have ocean view. Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind words.. We strive to do our very best. Come and see us again as soon as you get a chance.. We cant wait to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

we had a great time there. it was very clean and large. the bowling alley we used both nights we were there and it was free you just had to pay for your shoes $2 each. if you have your own, bring them!
beach was quiet as we went in sept. plenty of parking.
only few complaints which were the key didnt work so we had to go to the lobby which was a long walk. then the second time it didnt work so another long walk. so on the 3rd time they had to send maintence which only took 10 minutes until it was fixed.
the other things I did not like and didnt realize from the pics was the entry door to your suite came into the only bedroom which when you had a child napping or sleeping early you had to come in through there to get to the kitchen and living room. not a smart set up.
the pools are not heated so they were very cold. and no sun hits them inside so freezing cold water was the norm
otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all our amenities. We must have had some technical difficulty during your stay due to our pools are heated. I have passed on your comments to the appropriate manager to ensure proper heating of pools. Hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Captains Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Resort

Address: 901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-2486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Quarters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Captains Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Family Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters Family
Captains Quarters Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Captains Quarters Motel Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Quarters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.