We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Motor Inn
Save
You added Bar Harbor Motor Inn to your Saves list
100 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My sister and I stayed here. We had a 4th floor room with a full kitchen and were ocean front. The room was alright. The view was good. Had some friends visit. Plenty of space. Take stairs, not elevator, it is shakey. Close to everything, the boardwalk area. Beach was nice. We all had fun. Would stay here again : )

Room Tip: stay above 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    59
    54
    35
    129
See reviews for
129
95
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The place is clean and very reasonably priced. The room was very nice sized and very quiet. I did not hear the people in the room next door which was nice. It is a little outdated and I was not comfortable sleeping alone because the door did not have that security block on it. The front desk service was great but the maid service was lacking. The first morning they cleaned the room, made the bed, refreshed the towels. The second morning, they did not make the bed, but cleaned everything else. The third morning they did not come at all. The fourth morning they did clean everything again. They have no on site restaurant which I forgot to check before I booked it. It was within walking distance to the amusement park and a little general grocery store. If you are looking for a cheap place just to sleep at night this is a perfect place. The outside covered pool on the third floor was really nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front with balcony some ocean fronts do not have a balcony, some only have ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My best friend and I packed and headed out Monday morning and had no idea where we were going to stay. We passed the hotel several times but something drew us back to it. When we walked in, the front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming which set us at ease. We had an oceanfront room and for $49 a night it was well worth it. The plus side was we were right beside 2nd Avenue Bar and Grill Pier which we enjoyed listening to the band while sitting on the beach access at our hotel. This is a pet friendly hotel also which was a plus for pet lovers. We couldn't check in our room until 3pm but they let us use their restroom to change so we could still get a good day in on the beach which in our book was very kind of them. The only thing I wish was different was the parking, but hey, all hotels have limited and small parking areas. We will definately stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms were ocean view so you cant get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I don't know where some of these people stayed. We just spent 6 nights here and it was one of the worst experiences we have ever had. We have stayed at many hotels and can overlook a lot of little things, but we felt that many of the other reviewers misrepresented this property. We felt we needed to share our experiences to save others from having a bad experience staying here. Yes, the front desk staff was nice, but as for the rest of the hotel, I would never recommend it! It is an older property that is very poorly maintained. The room we stayed in was very dirty. The housekeeping left much to be desired. We had one day of very good room service and the rest were very poor, if at all. We actually had 1 day that they only emptied one trash can and left a couple of clean towels on the kitchen counter. They did no cleaning on that day. The next day we had no service at all! The elevator was scary to ride on-not sure if you would be transported safely or not. Very disappointed that this is what we spent our hard earned money on. Myrtle Beach has many hotels to choose from-Pick another one!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

lovely folks at the front desk, friendly maid service. The motel is kind of worn in spots, but clean and right at the end of the boardwalk. The only snag was our shower was slow to drain. Balconies, pet friendly....will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

After spending 4 nights at a god awful resort we went to Bar Harbor. They treated us as though we where family. Our room was very large for a wonderful price. Everyday house keeping folded our new clean towles into wonderful shapes. Staff was extremely helpful and easy to talk to. If I didn't know any better I would say they where old family friends! They made my honeymoon so much better.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at Bar Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The best service I received in Myrtle beach. I will rent rooms from this place every time I visit Mrytle beach. Clean rooms great ocean view. Had everything I needed to cook with................................................................ very happy with my stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motor Inn

Address: 100 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Motor Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bar Harbor Hotel
Bar Harbor Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.