We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ghetto motel and no customer service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Motor Inn
Save
You added Bar Harbor Motor Inn to your Saves list
100 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
sc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ghetto motel and no customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

this was the most awful motel at myrtle beach. The room was very cluttered and small not like it was on the website. The night maiantience man tried to fight and agrue with my fiancee for asking questions. The maids was ordering if we didnt hurry and leave by eleven theyd throw our things out do not stay here but the bermuda sands hotel next door is good.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    59
    54
    35
    129
See reviews for
129
95
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Valle Crucis, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited the beach last weekend for the marathon and did not have reservations. Not having reservations we did not realize how busy the beach would be. All the large resorts were booked. We wanted to stay at Oceans One but they were booked. The staff there told us to try Barharbor accross the street that they have done a number of renovations. We checked the reviews on our smartphone and said no thanks. After looking for about 2 hours we decided to go look at a room at Barharbor. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean. The front desk staff said they had a new head housekeeper and cleaning staff. The beds and carpet were brand new. Great location with the nice pier only 1 block away. We will come back.

Room Tip: The king suite room had a wonderful oceanfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great and perfect for my ideal trip to the beach! Love the location, the fact that its ocean front is a major plus and i like that its close to the sky Wheel and board walk and pier but not right on top of it. In other words, its close enough to enjoy the walk. Loved the view From our room. loved everything! I am really hoping to be back! I found our room to be clean and comfortable and ALL of the staff was very friendly, helpful and nice. :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We first checked into a 4th floor room. The air conditioning/heater did not work. Then we noticed a beeping sound. It was the remains of a non-working smoke detector. We asked to move. They moved us next door. No tv remote. We later found debris and cigarette ashes behind the night stand. The chair was broken on the balcony and the balcony was very dirty.This facility needs to clean up its act or tear down!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are large however the bathroom was very nasty. Looked as the floor wasn't cleaned at all. The smoke alarm was laying on the table whenever we arrived. I'm unsure of the wifi service only staying one night I didn't take my laptop with me

Ok I guess probably not somewhere I will stay again. During this time a year you can get a much better and cleaner room for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Room was large, ocean view with balcony, kitchen, very clean.

Location is perfect, right in the center of action

We had 2 medium dogs that loved their stay too, especially watching the people & dogs on the beach.

We will be returning.

Room Tip: go for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veksoe, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Pro: friendly service, splendid view from our 5th floor room, plenty of restaurants within walking distance and price.
Cons: in one word (or two actually) bed bugs! We have hundreds of bites all over, itching like beep

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motor Inn

Address: 100 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Motor Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bar Harbor Hotel
Bar Harbor Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.