We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summertime birthday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Summer Wind Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Summertime birthday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My son chose Myrtle Beach for his 21st birthday. We stayed @ Summer Wind. It is right on the beach and has an outdoor pool. There are several Putt Putt golf courses, an arcade and amusement park all within walking diatance. The room had a fridge and microwave so we were able to prepare food during the week. Grocery store was within walking distance as well. Plenty of stores with beach toys close by as in addition to restaurants suitable for a 21st birthday celebration.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear E Louise,
Happy belated birthday to your son! Thank you for celebrating the special occasion at Myrtle Beach and for staying at Summer wind Inn & Suites. Sometimes, we are remiss in not sharing our close proximity to many attractions. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful. We hope that you make it tradition and return again for other family celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    15
    9
    61
See reviews for
51
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When my sister and friend arrived the air was not working.We watched them replace it. We changed our clothes got our things DOUBLE CHECKED the door and went to the beach. We stayed from 1:00-4:00 got ready to go eat and discovered that I had $500 and my friend had $400 MISSING out of our purses.Our purses were in a drawer together.No, we should not have left the money in there but the door was still locked when we got back telling me that someone with a key watched all of us go out and went in our room. We filed a police report they took a envelope to see if they could get fingerprints. Of course we couldn't get our money back.Foolish mistake on our part,but our room should not have been entered.Do Not stay here !

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Terry A,
We are terribly sorry that money was missing from your room. Our management team fully cooperated with the Police in this investigation, and followed best hotel operating practices. While we are prohibited from commenting in an open forum about a police matter, other Trip Advisor readers should know that Summer Wind upgraded the room locks and key card system in May '2013. This upgraded system allowed us to interrogate the lock and identify every key that was used to enter the room along with the time. Theft has not been an issue at the Summer Wind, and we have not had another occurrence. Again, we are terribly sorry that this happened. I know that other readers will find your comment about not leaving valuables in your room or vehicle when traveling helpful. Also, when staying in a first floor guestroom, extra care should be taken to make sure that all exterior doors are locked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We reserved non-smoking... first room smelled like cigarettes, 2nd room smelled like weed, 3rd room still smelled like cigarettes, but we gave up because the desk person Michael was obviously disinterested in our satisfaction. Very unpleasant and uncomfortable to be in the room, so we ended up leaving early even though we couldn't get a refund. The hotel is next to the beach but do yourself a favor and pick a hotel where the staff cares about your experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear DC Travels,
We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at Summer Wind. Many hotels no longer allow any smoking in the guestrooms, and while we continue to strive to accommodate the needs of all guests, we are terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced by a previous guest who did not observe the non-smoking guestroom. Regrettably, during busy season, there were a limited number of alternative rooms for relocation. Again, we apologize for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here this past weekend and I must say this was one of the most awful place I've ever encountered. The rooms are old,carpet is old, strain and smells. To top it off, they only have 3 irons in this entire nasty motel. So my advice to anyone is don't stay here go some where else and if we hadn't prepaid weeks before we would have went some where else. Only good thing is its on the beach.Didn't see no roaches but if your on a budget this is the way to go we booked because of the pictures on line plus they call themselves a inn and suite that's a fat lie.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ohajia,
We are sorry that you were disappointed in the Summer Wind Inn & Suites. As noted throughout Trip Advisor, Summer Wind is an older oceanfront motel. Each staff member strives to provide excellent guest service, and our housekeeping team adheres to best hotel cleaning practices to insure cleanliness. For guests who are looking for franchised hotel type amenities, Summer Wind is probably not the best fit. You are correct, Summer wind does not equip the guestrooms with irons/boards. The front desk does keep a few irons for guest use. Again, we apologize for your dissatisfaction, but do hope that you will return to the beautiful Myrtle Beach Grand Strand again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The main reason I chose Summer Wind was because it is pet friendly.Even though the motel is a little old and outdated,it was clean(no pet smells) and the OF Eff was well stocked with everything I needed.My room had recently been refurbished,with new paint,carpet,new mattress,and pillows.I was really surprised at such a GREAT DEAL..Hope to visit again..

Room Tip: If you have a pet and want ocean front eff,ask for room 312..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Janrp1960,
Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. I'm sure that other TripAdvisor readers will find your mention that we are a Pet Friendly Myrtle Beach motel helpful. We appreciated your business and hope that you can return again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cockroaches, tiles falling off, dirty pool, doors are screwed up so bad you can stick a pencil through the gap. The room has a old smell to it and if your on the first floor your right behind the people at the pool...eye to eye. Doors must be slammed into in order to open. Cockroaches alone disgusted me...women said "I will have maintenance take care of it, its hot so there are some cockroaches" WTH? It's just plain bad and we are not picky. Just listen...and don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Tim B,
We deeply regret that we did not meet your vacation expectation. We were disturbed to read your review that indicated that there was an issue with some bugs in your room. When our management company assumed the operations of Summer Wind earlier this year, we immediately outsourced the pest control to a leading commercial pest prevention company, Ecolab. We treat these issues seriously, and will immediately contact them to do a complete room to room inspection, in addition to their regular prevention program. Again, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will return to the beautiful Grand Strand area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We made our reservations then came across the reviews online. But we decided to stay anyway and give the new owners a chance since the reviews we all old. I'm glad we did! For the price the rooms were very clean and well stocked (we were in a full efficiency room). The only complaints I have really were that the spacing on the balcony rails were almost large enough for my 20month old daughter to fit through and the pipes under the sink in the bathroom need to be hidden.
My husband asked the maids not to clean on our 2nd day there simply because we didn't need it and they were a little confused, in a good way. They wanted to clean our room to make sure we were happy with our stay. It is steps away from the beach and far enough away from the boardwalk are to be quiet for my children at night so they can sleep. We will be returning to this establishment and hope that they can resolve the minor issues that still exist.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear EricaB,
Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful as well as your photos. We look forward to you returning to the motel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Address: 1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#174 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#174 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh and relax in our pool and hot tub with the tropical warm breeze of the Summer Wind on the oceanfront in world famous Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Our South Ocean Boulevard location provides a laid-back family atmosphere and quick access to all the popular Myrtle Beach attractions. In fact, the Summer Wind is within walking distance of restaurants, fishing pier, miniature golf, Par 3 golf, 18 hole Championship golf, water parks, miniature stockcar race track, shopping malls, and many other attractions. Public transportation comes by the Summer Wind every 20 minutes during the summer months, making access to the entire city, including Broadway at the Beach, a quick and pleasurable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel a Summer Wind

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Wind Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.