We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summer Wind Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cockroaches, tiles falling off, dirty pool, doors are screwed up so bad you can stick a pencil through the gap. The room has a old smell to it and if your on the first floor your right behind the people at the pool...eye to eye. Doors must be slammed into in order to open. Cockroaches alone disgusted me...women said "I will have maintenance take care of it, its hot so there are some cockroaches" WTH? It's just plain bad and we are not picky. Just listen...and don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Tim B,
We deeply regret that we did not meet your vacation expectation. We were disturbed to read your review that indicated that there was an issue with some bugs in your room. When our management company assumed the operations of Summer Wind earlier this year, we immediately outsourced the pest control to a leading commercial pest prevention company, Ecolab. We treat these issues seriously, and will immediately contact them to do a complete room to room inspection, in addition to their regular prevention program. Again, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will return to the beautiful Grand Strand area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    15
    10
    62
See reviews for
52
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catawba, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We made our reservations then came across the reviews online. But we decided to stay anyway and give the new owners a chance since the reviews we all old. I'm glad we did! For the price the rooms were very clean and well stocked (we were in a full efficiency room). The only complaints I have really were that the spacing on the balcony rails were almost large enough for my 20month old daughter to fit through and the pipes under the sink in the bathroom need to be hidden.
My husband asked the maids not to clean on our 2nd day there simply because we didn't need it and they were a little confused, in a good way. They wanted to clean our room to make sure we were happy with our stay. It is steps away from the beach and far enough away from the boardwalk are to be quiet for my children at night so they can sleep. We will be returning to this establishment and hope that they can resolve the minor issues that still exist.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear EricaB,
Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful as well as your photos. We look forward to you returning to the motel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First off we are not very picky. If the hotel is clean and appears safe we are happy. Overall the room was clean but very outdated. No big deal but the hallways smelled of urine of some sort and the elevator is one you might see in a run down New York City apartment building The girls were nervous at times. There was a half a role of toilet paper which we discovered at midnight and there is no one at the front desk to replenish it. There is an ocean view but it comes with a price. Looked forward to leaving in the morning.

Room Tip: Ocean front is nice but wouldn't recommend staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Ikeee5,
We regret that the Summer Wind Inn & Suites did not meet your expectations. You are correct that the hotel is an older oceanfront motel, so it does not have the updates as newer hotels. Our rates are of value and do reflect that. It is unusual that there was no an extra roll of toilet paper, and we will definitely follow up on that issue. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. I'm not sure what odor that you were referring to in the exterior corridors. Again, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

At the last minute we decided to get away for the 4th of July weekend. After looking everywhere (SC, NC, GA, FL, AL) for a reasonably-priced hotel or vacation rental that was near the ocean and finding nothing available under $170/night, I somehow found this one online. I went ahead and booked because it was <$100/night and oceanfront. Too good to be true, I thought. After booking, I read through the tripadvisor (& other sites) reviews and was afraid I'd made a big mistake. We were thisclose to cancelling the reservation, forefitting our deposit, and booking somewhere else because of the numerous complaints of roaches (can't handle that), dirty rooms, bad service, etc.

I'm glad we didn't! We got in late that night, the guy up front was waiting for us and said he was about to call to check on us (we got in around 9pm). In all honesty, the place does look a little sketch considering its a 4-story motel on a strip with some fancy, high-rise hotels. The parking lot was a little dirty and there weren't an abundance of parking spots but we are talking about the 4th of July weekend, right on the beach.

Our room was great, exactly as they described it. It smelled clean, no crazy stains anywhere and looked tidy. I looked behind the dresser, in the drawers, behind the curtains, under the beds - I searched it with a white glove to find evidence of roaches, other bugs, etc. I came up with nothing! The bathroom did have a few issues - there were a few water damage spots on the ceiling, but nothing leaking, no mold, no bad odor. The water pressure was a little crazy (I guess you could call it a 'massaging showerhead'), but I'd much rather have that than a showerhead that spits out a drop a minute.

The stove and appliances worked fine, the fridge and freezer were clean and were full size. We did a lot of cooking in the room to save money, and even with food everywhere, I never saw a bug (& I kept looking!)

We had new sheets, towels, garbage bags, etc every day. Always enough and always clean.

The kids loved the pool and hot tub; it was clean, the deck and chairs were nice and in good condition.

All in all, I thought it was great. We would definitely stay there again! It's not the Hilton, so you can't go into it expecting that, but if you're looking for an affordable oceanfront place, this one is great!

Room Tip: They said the ocean front rooms have been updated more recently, but our non-oceanfront was just fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Kaseyjkb,
Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for writing an honest review of your stay. In February, Summer Wind of Myrtle Beach contracted with a new management company. We appreciated you noting the room condition, and the team is working hard to improve the motel and guest service. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had an excellent time here also. There is nothing to complain about. These other peoples reviews, must be crazy. The staff was nice and meant all our needs. The rooms are very clean!! We did not see one bug and we could not say one bad thing about summer wind. We plan on staying here again and would recommend it to anyone. Do not let the other reviews make u think any differently.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Becky,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Summer Wind is an older motel that is located directly on the oceanfront. It is a small independent property. We strive to offer oceanfront rooms at a value, in a desired section of Myrtle Beach. We hope that you can come back and experience Myrtle Beach in the fall. It's a great time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a excellent time here.all our needs was met without a problem.the manager even got out of bed just to meet one of our needs.I love the location of this place too.We will all definately return for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear April 1976,
Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Despite our best efforts, things break and need repair. We appreciated you mentioning that the Manager was responsive in addressing your issue. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, ky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Really do not know where to start so will start with first day there, Monday - air conditioner was not putting out cold air enough to cool room. called front desk and they said they would send someone up. we left today on Saturday and no one came all week. we purchased box fans to try to cool room. bathroom too small to put fan in there. next roaches, we called the front desk and we think they sent someone the next day. next we had to take garbage and get our own towels most of the week. sheets changed on one bed all week long. then came in one day and the door that goes to adjoining room was open. called front desk and they said they would be right up. never did see a person all week in regards to this matter. then place was not accessible to handicap. I have a power chair that I rode to pool and there were two small steps you had to go down which I was afraid to do. I had to get out of chair and my husband took it down. on my way back, husband not with me, two men who were strangers to me lifted chair up the steps, again had to get out of power chair. put new locks on doors and we went out and when we got back we could not get in our room. got back at 10:45 and front desk is to stay open until 11, no one there. called emergency number on door, got no answer and finally the men putting in the new locks were on another floor and they let us in. during this time I went to someone else's room to use the bathroom and their ceiling in the bathroom was falling in. this place is a mess.i think we should have been given our money back. they hire an outside exterminator and he never came so they had someone who worked there to spray the next day. front desk never answered when we dialed zero and never got an answer and called long distance on our cell phones.

Room Tip: I saw nothing acceptable about this place. we will never be back there and if someone we know even m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear lindag18,
We apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay at Summer Wind Inn & Suites. As noted in many of the Trip Advisor responses, Summer Wind is an older oceanfront property. Our staff strives to provide clean and comfortable accommodations. We are sorry that you encountered an issue with your air conditioner that was not addressed immediately. We also regret that you were inconvenienced by the installation of new guestroom locks. Sometimes, it is a bit of a juggling act to continue to improve the property without inconveniencing the guests. I have noted that the light housekeeping services were not more adequately discussed with you at the time of your reservation or check in. Again, we regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Address: 1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh and relax in our pool and hot tub with the tropical warm breeze of the Summer Wind on the oceanfront in world famous Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Our South Ocean Boulevard location provides a laid-back family atmosphere and quick access to all the popular Myrtle Beach attractions. In fact, the Summer Wind is within walking distance of restaurants, fishing pier, miniature golf, Par 3 golf, 18 hole Championship golf, water parks, miniature stockcar race track, shopping malls, and many other attractions. Public transportation comes by the Summer Wind every 20 minutes during the summer months, making access to the entire city, including Broadway at the Beach, a quick and pleasurable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel a Summer Wind

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Wind Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.