We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“booking a room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Summer Wind Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Parkersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“booking a room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked my room in April for the end of may and when I got down here they said my revs had been cancelled, in which I did not cancel , go to show me that they didn't check to see if it is the right person cancelling . last time I stay here, manager acted like I didn't know what I was talking, said I had wrong hotel I use to stay here a lot .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Misty578,
I apologize for the delay in responding to your TripAdvisor review. Regrettably, your reservation was cancelled in error. The front desk associate was able to find you accommodations in the same room type and the same rate. However, we apologize that your reservation was cancelled in error. We appreciate your past business, and will work harder to earn your future business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    15
    9
    60
See reviews for
50
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay clean rooms everyone around us shared alcohol and things... Pool party Was great..... Store right to the left of the hotel .... Security was reasonable ... No room for trailers :/ met alot of great ppl there

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sagg.star,
Thank you for traveling to Myrtle Beach over the Memorial Day holiday and for staying at the Summer Wind Inn & Suites. We appreciated you taking the time to comment on your experience and for noting that your room was clean. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I want to say I think Summer wind is a great place for the dollar if any one has had a problem with this place come back give them a second chance Tim and Chris do a great job with all the staff you will love it I always stay at Summer Wind Paul.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice room 415 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Paul W,
Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We appreciated you noting that positive changes have been made, and we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome back former guests. We are fortunate to have a good team at the hotel, and it is always gratifying for the team members to be positively recognized. We hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I just stayed there recently and found it enjoyable. I was pleased with the pleasant staff that helped make my stay pleasurable. Not the Hilton but very clean and well kept. I am a repeat guest and it was much improved from the last time. The rooms were upgraded and very clean. The staff was very helpful and nice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear LMR231,
Thank you for returning to Summer Wind Inn & Suites. We appreciated the opportunity to earn your business, and thank you for noting the positive changes that have been made. We hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We paid 49.00 a night which we stayed 2 nights.The room was clean,not fancy but we loved the Patio.The first night we were there we saw a roach,We sit all of our stuff on the Patio, but brought them back inside when we didnt see any more.They had sprayed and maybe 1 got away.It was nice and I would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear 212cooper4,
Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for writing a review. We appreciated the opportunity to earn your business. As you noted, Summer Wind is not the newest or the fanciest motel on the oceanfront. Thank you for noting that your room was clean and comfortable. We apologize that you saw an insect in your room. As with any commercial building, pest elimination is outsourced and is provided by a leading extermination company. Thank you for noting that the building's pest maintenance was recently performed. We hope that you will return to the beautiful Grand Strand soon, and that you will come back to Summer Wind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I was worried when I read all the reviews about roaches - but I haven't seen a single one since I've been here. There is nothing fancy about this hotel - but the rooms are decently clean and the price is cheap. I would suggest to anyone traveling on a budget. I was disappointed that the hot tub was out of order and way too small!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Cd65023,
Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for taking the time to write an honest review of your experience. While we do not claim to be the newest property on the oceanfront, the new management team strives to make sure that the guestrooms are clean and comfortable. Your review is a good reminder that we should let folks know that we offer comfortable, oceanfront lodging that is ideal for guests who are traveling on a budget. We hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

As I read the reviews for this motel, it brings back memories from 5 years ago. We stayed here 5 years ago for 4 nights and it was a terrible experience. This place is plain and simply A DUMP!! It looks as if nothing has changed in the five years that have passed. I'm surprised to see that it remains open.
When we stayed there, the windows were so dirty that we bought some windex and cleaned it ourselves so that we could see the ocean view. We were scalded or froze in the shower as it was difficult to regulate the temperature, the toilet paper holder was attached to the wall 6 inches from the floor, the sheets on the beds were old and very thin. The pool was out of commission for our whole visit. At that same time they were advertising that the rooms were newly renovated, NOT! That was our first visit to Myrtle Beach and because we had prepaid for the room, we could not get a refund, wish we had known about tripadvisor back then, it would have saved us from this place.
The only nice thing about this place is the beautiful ocean view. Good thing that there are much better places to stay in Myrtle Beach and THANK YOU TRIPADVISOR for your website! Travellers BEWARE and read the reviews!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Canadathebeautiful.
Regrettably, we cannot address what you experienced at Summer Wind Inn & Suites five years ago. As you know, a lot can change in five years time. Our management company assumed the operation of the hotel just this year, and began a renovation project. Since you posted a review without having stayed with us recently,we would like to invite you to stop by to see our progress. We do not profess to be the newest hotel on the oceanfront, however, the new management and staff take pride in providing clean accommodations and friendly, helpful guest service. Hope that you will stop by when you are in the beautiful Grand Strand area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Address: 1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh and relax in our pool and hot tub with the tropical warm breeze of the Summer Wind on the oceanfront in world famous Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Our South Ocean Boulevard location provides a laid-back family atmosphere and quick access to all the popular Myrtle Beach attractions. In fact, the Summer Wind is within walking distance of restaurants, fishing pier, miniature golf, Par 3 golf, 18 hole Championship golf, water parks, miniature stockcar race track, shopping malls, and many other attractions. Public transportation comes by the Summer Wind every 20 minutes during the summer months, making access to the entire city, including Broadway at the Beach, a quick and pleasurable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel a Summer Wind

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Wind Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.