We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find a private condo owner!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Forest Plaza

Save Saved
You added Ocean Forest Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Forest Plaza
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5523 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Find a private condo owner!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Based on a lot of reviews here I was nervous about staying there. We found a really great deal with an owner who rents out a condo on the 19th floor with out having to book through the resort. That's definitely the way to go!! Our specific unit was very clean and well furnished but I want to review the actual resort. The building its self is extremely outdated and somewhat dirty. The elevators are hot and old, some of the hallways have an odd odor. The pool was nice and clean, and the beach is easily accessible. The parking garage is unlike any I've seen before. If you drive a large vehicle you won't be able to navigate the garage with out scraping walls. I thought it was tight for my corolla. I think we might stay here again if we go through a private owner who provides pictures, but I probably wouldn't risk booking through the actual property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We do have great homeowners. Although, if you book through a homeowner you do not get any of the amenities that are included. We have many units that homeowners update and rent through the hotel! We hope you will come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    17
    16
    22
See reviews for
64
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found a great discount through the Sands resorts on line. The room was just as promised with all the amenities. Free water park, round of golf, etc. This part of the beach is awesome, it is off the beaten path, wide beach and not so crowded. Our room was in great condition with a full kitchen and beautiful views (16th floor). I did ask for an updated room as previously mentioned on this site. One morning when I was out on the balcony, the pelicans flew right in front of me, I could have reached out to touch them. It was such a gift! The ladies at the front desk as well as the housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. When we needed more towels two people brought them within an hour or two. There are 3 elevators and we hardly ever had to wait. I would definitely recommend this resort and will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room. Higher floors have a great room. We were by the elevator and it did not kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for writing us a positive review!! Rarely do people take time to tell us about a good experience so we really appreciate it!! I agree I do like this part of the beach it does have a secluded feeling. Glad you had a great time, hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is probably the worst place we ever stayed. We were forced to stay here due to the affiliation with a local baseball tournament. Dirty doesn't begin to describe the condition of the room. There was mold in the shower, the paint was pealing off the walls and I wouldn't have dared to use the coffee maker. There is no one at the front desk from midnight to 7 a.m. So if you need anything you are basically out of luck or you have to go to another Sands location. The parking garage is full of trash and is very difficult to maneuver around. The elevator was past due for inspection. I got in the elevator with one of the housekeepers and she was rolling the clean towels around in a rusty old CVS shopping cart. It's was unbelievable.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are very sorry you did not have a good experience. Can you message us your information so we can look further into this issue. We do try to make cleanliness a priority. We are unable to run elevators with expired inspections, and the state is very good about keeping those up to date!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here from 7/6/13 to 7/13/13. they had us in the wrong room first night, I rented ocean front and when we got there it was ocean view. They did change us the next day, I had to wash all of our towels and at 2 dollars a load did get expensive but if I didn't we would still be waiting to take showers. They really need to get move towels and extra sets! I did like the location but the garage was hard to get in and out of. If you have a truck or bigger suv good luck trying to park! I don't know if I would stay here again! Didn't like the fact that you had to go to a different place for breakfast and waterpark and the fitness center!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! The next time we recommend staying at our Sand Dunes or Ocean Dunes location because they are the closest to the Waterpark and fitness center. We hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The general experience was very poor. - All of the furniture was old and dingy - The wallpaper was peeling in places - The toilet did not work. Seeing 2 plungers in the bathroom was the warning. - The sliding door to the balcony was broken. - The people in the hotel could not help as it was rented through Travelocity and then they contracted through another management company (Palmetto). So, any request for help took hours and the Palmetto people were rude. Like the toilet. Had a spill and it took 2 hours to get someone to fix it. - The management company charged us $120 over and above what we payed Travelocity. Lastly, the wifi did not work for days on end.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are so sorry you had a bad experience. The best way is to book directly through Sands, we are limited as to what we can do when rooms are booked through Travelocity. We did not have any other complaints about the wifi not working, to our knowledge it was running fine. Nonetheless, we are very sorry you did not have a good experience. You might want to try our Sand Dunes location next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I just recently stayed in this resort & it was awful. The reviews we reviewed online were false as well as the information we received before booking. We couldn't even fit our SUV in the parking deck because the ceilings were too low & the turns were to narrow. The room was decorated from the 1980 era, nothing like the pictures @ all. The beds & pillows were stained. The mattress on the sofa bed was fit for a toddler to sleep in because the mattress was so thin. We eventually had to purchase linen, pillows & a mattress cover for the bed. We asked to move & we were told there were no rooms available even though the outside said vacancy. The staff was very rude when we complained about the room. We should have stayed @ the Hampton inn, if we would have known this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Can you inbox us your last name and the dates that you stayed?! We would like to pass this information on to management. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. You might like our Sand Dunes property better next time it has newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are looking for a really great place to stay, look no further. I stay at this hotel several times a year, most recently, June 16 through June 20th, 2013. The hotel staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are clean, freshly painted, and very well equipped. The hotel is very quiet at night. It is in a really nice residential section of the Myrtle Beach area -- a perfect place to stay. The maid service is very efficient, leaving plenty of towels and other necessities on a daily basis. The view of the ocean is spectacular from any of their ocean front rooms. I am extremely peculiar about cleanliness. This is simply the very best place to stay at Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are awesome! I've never heard any noise from any room that I've staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Becky,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thank you for your repeat business and your kind words! We really appreciate you taking time to leave us a good review. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Forest Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Plaza

Address: 5523 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Specialty lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Forest Plaza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Ocean Forest Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Forest Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.