We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Season Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Resort

Save Saved
You added Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluewater Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Off Season Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 weeks in November at this resort. We rented directly from the owner. This resort is a mixture of privately owned and resort owned condos...and it makes for an ok mix. It is popular with Snowbirds during the off season. The location is its best feature, being right on the beach and in the heart of the South Myrtle Beach area. It is ideally placed with restaurants, shopping, entertainment and golfing within easy reach. We enjoyed several rounds of golf, at reasonable prices, with the Myrtle Beach Golf Passport. (There is no residency requirement for the passport.)This unit, #502, has been redone with updated fixtures and a fireplace, making for cozy evenings in the winter. The resort itself is quiet and very clean. In the winter there is a Snowbirds Association. I highly recommend this resort and this part of Myrtle Beach, the south end, as the density is lower than other areas.

Room Tip: There could be some noise in the frantic summer months if you stay on the lower floors. Try for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    47
    35
    38
    71
See reviews for
118
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

While staying here with my family Oct.12-17 2013 the housekeepers came into our room after we left for dinner and stole my father's important medication. Considering there is no management at the hotel after 5 and no front desk staff after 9 we had to deal with a security guard that really didn't know what to do. We ended up calling the police to get a victims report made. The whole next day of our vacation was spent on the phone with his insurance company (which they cant help with stolen meds), local pharmacies, and his doctors back home in Tennessee just trying to get him enough medication so we could get through the rest of our vacation. Just three days worth of his meds was around 180 dollars and we only thought it was right that the hotel reimburse us for the meds that were stolen and the day we lost. We were informed by a pompous bigwig manager that it was "to bad" they contract the housekeepers out so they are not responsible for them. So in a nutshell they will give anyone a key to your room and when things turn up missing "Oh Well". Also, the floors in the rooms were dirty from the moment we checked in. Our feet were always black. I guess they were to busy looking for pills to mop the floor!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Dir of Operations at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Each unit has an electronic lock which make it very easy to establish entry into the unit. As such, the lock was read and no entries were reported except those by the guests. The report was given to the police who agreed with the findings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed with my family in 1004 The condo was in excellent shape and very nicely decorated! Clean a lot of pools, right on the beach. Excellent facility and I have stayed in quite of few condos over the years.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Road, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Bluewater Resort Aug 15th-18th 2013. I rented a 1 bedroom condo oceanview through Myrtle Beach Rooms for Rent room 1110. You have to check in at the Waverider and no maid service is provided if you rent through them in this hotel which was fine with us being there just 3 days. The price is unbeatable for this time of year. The condo was beautiful, nicely decorated, average galley style kitchen. It was clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. It had a huge balcony with amazing views of the strip and the ocean, but absolutely no privacy at all. The balconies are designed in an odd way and I absolutely hated that. You can see in the pictures you are almost side by side with no wall in between. All the pools are very cold so my husband I did not swim at all which was a disappointment. The indoor jacuzzi was always packed with young children and the outside one was not as hot as it should be. I did not use the lazy river, pools, or jacuzzi across the street at the villas. Parking is across the street. While we were talking in the sitting area across from the arcade one of the biggest roaches I've ever saw fell from a vent in the ceiling. My son then told me he had saw dozens on the rooftop. For the money it can't be beat but for staying there again I definately won't.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room if you want any privacy at all on the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was very clean and the staff was fantastic and friendly. Security was also a plus. I would come back!!! It is also a good location. I love the workout room, the rooftop view and all the pools to be able to swim.

Room Tip: Get the kitchenette in villa number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Blue Water. We rented one of the 1 Bedroom Villa's across the street from a private owner. It slept 6 people. Kitchen was fully stocked with cooking utensils. We had a pool at our Villa's building and it pretty much was all ours. The place was empty since kids went back to school. The pools were ALL chilly. The indoor pool was freezing. I don't understand why they don't heat it. The lazy river across the street was the warmest pool onsite. The beach was beautiful with a lifeguard right there in front. The beach bar had awesome drinks/specials. Overall, the resort was great. I just wish they had washer/dryers in each unit. As another person below stated, the older security guard there was extremely nasty. He definitely needs to either retire or go into a new profession. I just told my daughter to ignore him because he was miserable. I'm not sure why, but the restaurant was closed even though it stated it would be open.

Room Tip: If you don't mind not being on the beach, Room 310A in the Villas is a great room. Has private p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol Heights, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed the room, very spaciuos, and clean. Liked having a kichenette, it made eating down there very easy to deal with regarding the price.. And the view of the ocean every morning was to die for, being able to sit on my balcony early in the morning and get that morning breeze off the ocean, the peaceful calm from the waves, and the sun rise. Would not trade that experience for nothing in the world other than the birth of my children. Heaven!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Resort

Address: 2001 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluewater Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluewater Resort is located in the heart of the South Strand section of Myrtle Beach. Our property is comprised of 3 buildings; our main oceanfront building with 15 floors, and two buildings (referred to as villas) directly across the street with 4 floors each. Guests have full access to amenitites in either building, including 4 outdoor pools, 1 indoor/outdoor pool and 5 jacuzzis. All rooms at the Bluewater Resort feature kitchens and private balconies. Choose from studios, 1 or 2 bedroom condos, and enjoy our full service restaurant, and popular beach bar in season. Don't forget to try one of our famous "Bluewater Bruisers", our refreshing signature cocktail! In close proximity to the airport, fine dining, shopping, and movies at Market Commons, the family friendly Bluewater Resort will quickly become your preferred home-away-from-home for years to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bluewater Myrtle Beach
Blue Water Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.