We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Resort

Save Saved
You added Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bluewater Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel room #1009 (March 15-17) with a discounted rate. The views were awesome (ocean/street view) from both the living room and bedroom areas. Adequate cookware, dinnerware, etc. and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom needed updating and both TVs had one remote. The staff were very helpful and while still under removations had elevators that were fast and prompt. The pools and jazzuci were functioning. The restaurant was closed for the season however, there are many other restaurants in other hotels and in the immediate area where you could get buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Please note that this room is accessible from an exterior corridor so if you book in the winter will be extremely cold.

Room Tip: Only worth it if you get a good rate. Would not pay anything over $69.00 for room #1009.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    33
    31
    67
See reviews for
108
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm sorry but this hotel is not one I would recommend. The service was terrible. We had a few scratches in our wall that we claimed beforehand, yet they still charged our room with $200 in damages. When we tried to get our money back, the staff began insulting our group with personal insults that had nothing to do with the situation. Along with that, one of the pools was shut down, the hottub wasn't clean, the staff didn't provide us with clean towels, and all in all it was a terrible experience. If you want to have fun on vacation in myrtle beach for a good price, this is the wrong choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful,kind staff! Very clean and kept secure for guests only. Stayed in 1004 and it is big and beautiful! Love the big balcony! 2 nce bedrooms and 2 bathrooms,full kitchen,dishwasher,food disposal,nice appliances.washer and dryer.TV's in all rooms.

Room Tip: Room 1004 is the only one I have stayed in, I hope the number is right.. get off the 10th floor elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Fontanagirl1,

Thank you for recommending Bluewater Resort to the Trip Advisor community. I love hearing that you felt both welcomed and secure throughout your stay. One of our favorite features of our 2 bedroom suites is the oversized balcony you mentioned....perfect for watching sunrises over the Atlantic Ocean! We sincerely appreciate your time and patronage and hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy Travels,
Christa Phibbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this for labor day weekend 2012, the rates were very good. They have wonderful ammenities with a nice restaurant, gift shop, indoor, outdoor pools and jacuzzies. During the summer evenings they offer poolside karaoke which won't want to miss and a wonderful cabana with the best bartenders. The only down fall to this hotel is the parking, they definately need some work in that area. Everything else was wonderful. We would definately go back.

Room Tip: Our room had all an all tile floor which condensated pretty bad from the lower unit AC making the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear OceanEER22,

Thank you for taking the time to let your fellow Trip Advisors know about your recent stay. I'm delighted to hear that your experience at Bluewater Resort was an enjoyable one. Great recommendation on our popular poolside karoke and our awesome bartenders blending up some cool and refreshing concoctions.

I wanted to let you know that we are actively working on improving our gated parking garage with new exterior paint and additional security cameras.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to see all our new enhancements...until then, happy travels!

Christa Phibbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carthage, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Blue Water Rsort and was very pleased. Everyone was pleasant and polite. Going through a divorce, and getting married on New Year's Eve, was a little much for me.This year I did something different. I bought the New Year in at the beach. Everything I needed was there at the hotel. The resturant was closed, but King's highway, a block over, had almost any resturant you wanted to eat at. The staff was great. Love you guys. I will be back soon. Shirleen

Room Tip: I looked at 3 rooms. All were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Shirleen,

We are so glad that you decided to spend your New Year's here at Bluewater. I always find the beach to both calming and restorative and I'm happy you did too. Thank you for your positive comments on the staff...Lemetrius says she enjoyed talking with you.

We wish you a 2013 filled with happy memories and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you for your time,
Christa Phibbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed at room 1406 at Bluewater Resort. It was an excellent time ! The room was beautiful, very clean and tastefully decorated. It was very nice and cozy. The floor was very nice. I would definately go back to Bluewater again and stay in this room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Nathan,

Thanks so much for letting the TA community know how much you enjoyed your recent stay! We love 1406 for all the reasons you described, not to mention the fireplace and excellent views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Happy Travels,

Christa Phibbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Bluewater Resort and, Wow what a great place and great value. I took a weekend get away trip to MB area to get away and relax. I took a chance by driving down without a reservation hoping to find a good rate and a room that was clean. I drove to several resorts such as a very large we'll known resort two doors down from Bluewater. I went and viewed the room and was not impressed for the price they were charging. After driving around for almost two hours trying to find a good rate, I took a chance and stopped at Bluewater resort. Per tripadvisor there were some bad reviews about this place so I was pretty skeptical about checking this resort out to begin with. Boy, am I glad I did. Don't judge a book by its cover. I'm pretty picky when it comes to a clean room but it doesn't have to be fancy. I walked up to the front desk where one of the receptionist, Alesia I believe was her name and I was greeted with a smile and friendliness. I explained what I was looking for and she quoted me a price. I asked if I could view the room first before decideing. She said, sure no problem. I went and looked at the first room and noticed that on the way up, they were doing some renovating such as painting, etc. everything was fresh and clean. The first room I looked at was nice, clean however I was not impressed by the small 19" regular tv. I went back down and asked if there was a room at same price that may have larger tv such as flat screen. She gave me new room to view. And wow, I was taken away by the room and how clean, updated it was. Freshly painted, modern room that was very nicely decorated. The ocean view was awesome. I booked this room. Everything was great with my stay. All the staff was very friendly, nice including the security guards. I found nothing wrong with this resort. The outdoor pool out front was very nice and was heated. One of the security guards said it was 91 degrees walking by and felt great at an air temp of 60 degrees. At night it felt great also. Like bath water. Pool area was very clean and very nice. Hot tub was great however the indoor hot tub was out of order for repairs. I had a great time here and it was very relaxing. The only thing I have a concern about is the parking garage across the street. Needs updating and I would have to say that I felt a little uneasy over there at night. However they do have security cameras all over the entire resort and security officers would go over and check parking garage pretty often. I will definitely be back and I am so glad I stayed here. I found a new place to stay in MB. Thanks Bluewater staff for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterResort1, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review and letting the TA community know how much you enjoyed your recent stay. Your comments reinforce the work we have been doing in all areas of the hotel to bring a more consistent Bluewater Resort to our valued guests. I am sorry you were unable to enjoy the indoor hot tub during your stay due to it's repair. I'm happy to report it is now up and running and ready to welcome you back on your next stay. Likewise, I have noted your comments on the parking garage and TV size and will work on that going forward.

Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Christa Phibbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Resort

Also Known As:
Bluewater Hotel
Bluewater Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bluewater Myrtle Beach
Blue Water Resort Myrtle Beach
Address: 2001 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#159 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluewater Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluewater Resort is located in the heart of the South Strand section of Myrtle Beach. Our property is comprised of 3 buildings; our main oceanfront building with 15 floors, and two buildings (referred to as villas) directly across the street with 4 floors each. Guests have full access to amenitites in either building, including 4 outdoor pools, 1 indoor/outdoor pool and 5 jacuzzis. All rooms at the Bluewater Resort feature kitchens and private balconies. Choose from studios, 1 or 2 bedroom condos, and enjoy our full service restaurant, and popular beach bar in season. Don't forget to try one of our famous "Bluewater Bruisers", our refreshing signature cocktail! In close proximity to the airport, fine dining, shopping, and movies at Market Commons, the family friendly Bluewater Resort will quickly become your preferred home-away-from-home for years to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.