We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“We will never return to Myrtle Beach” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Colony Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Colony Resort to your Saves list
Beach Colony Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   5308 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Up To 30% Off!
Ranked #67 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Myrtle Beach
1 review
“We will never return to Myrtle Beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I should have posted this comment months ago. I did file a complaint with the local Better Business Bureau and talked to the hotel's manager, but the case was closed without a satisfactory settlement. This experience left such a bitter taste in our mouths that we will not return to Myrtle Beach ever.
We stayed at the Beach Colony Resort in Myrtle beach from August 5 to August 11, 2008. On August 20, 2008 we received a letter from the hotel notifying us that upon inspecting our unit after we left they found a large burn in the carpet and therefore charged our credit card $800.00 to cover the damage. Enclosed was also a photo of the burn. This was a surprise to us as that "burn" mark was not there before or during our stay. We left the room at 10:30 am and the enclosed inspection form states that the inspection was done at 11:00 am at which time the houskeeper noticed the burn. On August 21 I called the General Manager, Lisa A. Babiak. Since the alleged burn on the photo looked more like a wet spot on the carpet, I could not figure out what could have caused it. I was told that someone has put a hot pot on the carpet which melted the fibres. The pot that was allegedly used was also missing. Something is wrong here.
The room itself was outdated. The bathroom was also in a poor shape, the bathtub was so disgusting that my son refused to take a shower in it.
The only reason we ended up staying was the fact that the view and the beach were outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    313
    122
    72
    86
See reviews for
521
212
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

I have been coming to Myrtle Beach my whole life. This was my first time at Beach Colony and I have to say it was wonderful. Our room (606) was terrific. The full oceanview was breathtaking. We loved the balcony as well as the kitchen which appeared to be new. It offered our family a chance to eat in after a busy day at the resort and watch one of the complimentary DVD's available at the front desk. Clean, affordable and comfortable. What else could you ask for?!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

My family of 5 spent a great spring vacation at Beach Colony resort. The service was excellent and the kids loved the indoor and outdoor pools and jacuzzi's. It's right on the beach. We saved money because they have great rates and the room we had was a two bedroom with a full kitchen. Definitely a great family resort.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

After searching dozens of places to stay in Myrtle Beach for a relaxing vacation, my wife and I decided on Beach Colony Resort, and were really glad we did. The room (really a small apartment) for the price is a terrific value. It was clean and well serviced with a balcony facing a great stretch of clean beach. It is very convenient to get to Broadway on the Beach to the South, and barefoot Landing to the North (both very short drives), as well as all the other entertainment areas and restaurants. At least based on our experience, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring House, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

My family and I stayed the week before Easter 2009. There were 7 of us. We had an Oceanfront 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo. We had more than enough room. The view of the ocean was spectacular. There were numerous pools. The kids loved the lazy river. Everything was great from the time we checked in until the time we left. Housekeeping was amazing, they were always there before 10:00 AM. I've stayed there before and decided to take my family this time. I will make it an annual vacation with or without my family. It is away from the center of the Grand Strand so it was real quite but still close enough to everything. A few minutes by car.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Not so impressed with this place at all.. Myrtle beach has alot to offer, but beach colony rooms really need to be updated!.. We found a tin in our room full of marijuana, we turned it into the manager.. He didn't do anything with it, (probably smoked it!).. our room was "broken into" also had weird calls. Saying wake up calls... I assume they were looking for a code word for the marijuana delivery. I have bug bites all over me, it was just unclean , maybe it was just my room. I am not impressed. I'm from SC and have stayed all over the strip and this is one place I would NEVER stay again.. go to the holiday inn pavilion!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlovermb, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
We do apologize for the problems you experienced while at the Beach Colony Resort. We are following up with our supervisory staff and taking corrective action concerning the unit you stayed in. As to the marijuana, the local authorities were contacted to property dispose of the drugs. We do appreciate you comments which allow us to correct the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We were going to Myrtle Beach for a huge cheerleading competition and chose Beach Colony Resort because several of our friends suggested staying there. The price was great, the privately owned condo clean and comfortable, the pools excellent and the views unbelievable. The beach in this area is pretty quiet and we really enjoyed sharing the shoreline with only a few other visitors. The weather could've been better but I guess I can't fault the resort for that!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort

Address: 5308 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Colony Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Hotel In Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.