We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Colony Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Colony Resort to your Saves list
Beach Colony Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   5308 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Up To 30% Off!
Ranked #62 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We expected more from a RESORT. The outdoor pools were a joke, very small, they'd better built a big one instead of 2 small pools. So many people and just 1 hot tub. The indoor pool/hot tub was locked.
The breakfasr buffet at the cafe was horrible, no food choices, not even a fruit, but 2 big tables full of empty plates.
Our toilet was clogged , called the front desk but no one came to fix it.
No wireless internet...couldn't connect at all, first they said we don't need a network password, then they gave us a password that didn't work.
The beach was nice and the hotel surroundings were clean. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Lastun,

Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay with us had gone, I am very disappointed to see that you didn't have the excellent stay that you or I expected. In regards to the issues with maintenance and the Ocean Front Cafe, I do apologize that you were unable to experience our normal standard of service. If you had a moment I would love to speak with you at your earliest convenience regarding your experience so that I can do my best to rectify the issues. I look forward to speaking with you and wish you and your family a safe and happy end to the year.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
843.449.4010 ext 7106
nhadad@beachcolony.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    301
    115
    68
    81
See reviews for
501
200
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Family or couples can enjoy this resort. Highly recommend it.it is just close enough to everything, yet far enough for relaxation and family fun the pools are nice and the area around the pools are very family friendly. We recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear mollyKy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on you recent stay with us. We rely very heavily on guest feedback and certainly appreciate the kind words. I am happy to see that Beach Colony Resort was able to meet and exceed your expectations. I hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future for your next trip to Myrtle Beach.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice place to stay; we've stayed here several times and some rooms are better than others which is to be expected since they are all privately owned. It is an exceptional vaule when compared to other hotels/resorts and is in a very convenient location on 52nd avenue North. The property is kept extremely clean and the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Wendy M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit to Beach Colony Resort. I want to start off by thanking you for choosing us for your lodging needs in the Myrtle Beach area. We appreciate the kind words and continued support and patronage. I hope that you continue to stay with us whenever you are in the area and look forward to seeing you again shortly and wish you and your family a safe and healthy end to the year.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Township, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and had a great time. The location is great. It is about 10 minutes from Broadway at the Beach and about 25 minutes from Barefoot Landing. The beach is not crowded because it is just far enough away from the regular hotel area. They had 2 outdoor pools, a kiddie pool, a lazy river and an indoor pool. We stayed in a 2 bedroom. it was great because there was 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, a living room area, and a washer and dryer. Highly recommend for family's who want more room and some privacy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Cancunbabe709,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort and location as much as we do, we appreciate you taking the time to share this review with us. It's great to hear that our spacious rooms and multiple amenities allowed your family to have a fun and relaxing stay. We hope that you have a great end to the year and we look forward to having you all stay with us again soon.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. I just wish the food was better so that I didn't have to go somewhere else to eat each day. The food was so terrible that I didn't go back to see if it got better. The front desk (morning, noon, and night) and housekeeping staff were great. They all were very helpful and friendly. We had a problem with the first room that they gave us leaking from the ceiling but was given another and it was better. The sofa need replacing in the second room but overall the room was nice just a little outdated. The pools and lazy river were very clean. I would stay there again on the 16th floor but I would NOT eat there. it was very quiet. The parking deck was a little scary at first because there is only one way up and one way down and If another car is coming you either have to back up or squeeze by but I finally got over my scare after being there three days.

Room Tip: Ocean view was very nice. The 16th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Lolabrit,

Thank you so much for writing a review on your recent stay with us, and letting us know how we can improve in the future. I am sorry to hear that you found your experience at the Ocean Front Lounge disappointing, I can assure you that we will look into the service and food. We look forward to having you with us again soon and having the opportunity to show you how great a stay at Beach Colony can be.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Other than internet slow speed, everything else is good. Recommended to stay again. Room service maintenance, front desk staff, location, environment all are good. Perfect place for the family as it includes TV each room and hall, Kitchen, easy access to all amenities and chekout and check in process.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Rajan D,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we are simply thrilled to hear that you really enjoyed your vacation here with us. We know there are many choices out there so we appreciate your kind words, and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALKERSVILLE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean. The pools and the grounds are kept very clean and nice. Plenty of shady areas if you just want to lounge out of the sun. The pools were ALL amazingly warm, which was fantastic. Nice boardwalk to the beach with very few steps to navigate ( a welcome thing for someone with a bum knee). There is a poolside bar and lounge, as well as an ice cream parlor. They give free ice cream cones on Thursdays. On the down side...we had requested a room next to or at least on the same floor as my parents and as high up as possible. Well my parents got as high up as possible on the 22nd floor. We, however, were placed on the 8th floor. No where near my parents and you had to switch elevators to go to their floor from ours. After expressing our distress, we were offered a higher floor if we wanted to move the next day. But with no offer to compensate us for the inconvenience we decided it was too much of a hastle and stayed in our 8th floor room. The parking deck is VERY tight. We drive an SUV, but were allowed to park in front where the loading area is so it worked out. The rooms are nice and clean, but in need of updating. And there is very little storage areas if you dont want to live out of your suitcases all week. Minor pet peeves were that there was no coffee available in the lobby. I have never stayed at a hotel of any price that didnt offer fresh coffee in the lobby. You could make coffee in your room but you had to request the packets at the front desk, as the housekeeping staff did not have them. Also, you had to request pool towels at the front desk. I find it more convenient if they simply supply them out in the pool area. Another downside was that the breakfast buffet was only served until 10am. I dont know about the general public but our clan does not want to get up and rush to breakfast early while on vacation. And if you missed the buffet, there were no other breakfast options. It was a pleasant week and the hotel is fine. However, with so many others to choose from I believe we will move on to another resort next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear seashellmom,

Let me first start by saying a big thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent stay, and that we do apologize for any inconvenience regarding your floor request. We make an honest effort to make sure that we meet all requests to the best of our ability but in the summer unfortunately it may not be a possibility. Our housekeepers should have coffee readily available and restocked in your room, it does concern me that this did not happen for you because I can assure you that is not our normal level of service provided. I hope that you reconsider staying with us again next year so that we can give you the best experience possible. We wish you and yours a fantastic end to the year and hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort

Address: 5308 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#55 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Colony Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Hotel In Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.