We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we fellt like we were at hone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Creek Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Creek Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Creek Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10600 North Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Up To 40% Off!
Ranked #70 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“we fellt like we were at hone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

we were given a trip to the resort as a gift from my husband's boss we upgraded to a two bedroom lodge villa and we loved it it was not crowded in september and the people at the front allowed us to check in early and we went straight to the beach. we enjoyed the walk to the beach and the inlet with the tide coming in and out ,what a view. we were only one mile from anything we wanted to do. A walmart was one mile away and any restaurant that you coud think of was there. My teenage daughters loved the outlet mall right across the street from the walmart. It was bike week and they really enjoyed that too. We fished off the pier at cherry grove and the people there laughed at me for using a bobber to fish, until i caught my big blue fish. we had a beautiful villa with clean everything and the maid service was awsome. The kitchen was imaculate and so was everything. We are going to go back next year. thanks Ocean Creek

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    218
    110
    70
    55
See reviews for
401
154
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cary nc
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2005

We just returned from a week at Ocean Creek in Myrtle Beach. We have our family reunion every year at Ocean Creek and this was the best. Our condo unit (JJ-3) at the Tower South was like a model unit. It was furnished beautifully and the colors were great. We rented directly from the owner through the vacations rentals by owner website. All of the bedding was new, the carpet had just been replaced and the the entire condo had just been repainted. We were suprised to find a new washer and dryer too. I cannot say enough good things about this condo. I have read some of the other reviews about the elevators but they too have been replaced w/ new elevators. There are 3 elevators in the building. The view from the condo was awesome! We were ocean front - not ocean view. We overlooked the large pool and the ocean. The deck furniture was also new. The owner has a list of all of their improvements posted on a small picture frame. They also added a nice touch of listing their favorite restaurants, golf courses and favorite pastimes. There were over a dozen games in the entertainment cabinet.

I guess it is just hit our miss on the actual condo that you rent. This condo was the best one that we have ever rented. The place had 4 tv's and (some flat screens) and 2 DVD players, 1 VCR.

The ower seems to take a lot of pride in their beach home. They have family pictures around in some of the rooms which made it feel more like someone's home instead of a hotel room. The location is great too. There are outlets nearby, golf courses and great restaurants. We loved Ocean Creek, especially this unit. Oh yeah, the pictures in the place were great too. The were all very "beachy". There is a guest book in the condo that has comments from all of the past guests. All of the comments were great except someone writing something about a running toilet. This must have been fixed because we did not have a problem w/ this.

It rained a few days but we used the large indoor pool. This was great. It also has a Jacuzzi. The pool at Tower South has an indoor and outdoor pool combination. They can close off the outside part when the weather gets cold. There is also a Jacuzzi. Our family traveled w/ 4 cars and there was plenty of parking. Some of the resorts have very limited parking and this would have been a problem. The grounds look excellent. I could tell that they have lost a few trees from a few storms but there was a lot of newly planted palm trees. I can't wait to go back.

We are planning to go back to Ocean Creek again this spring and we will definitely be requesting the same condo again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2005

We stayed one week, it was lovely. Had a great time. The grounds are well kept and beautiful, the ocean within walking distance of our accommodations. The location is great, accessible to restaurants and shopping. We stayed in the the Lodge II. The decor was okay, but a bit dated. The unit was clean with new appliances. We'll return every year!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2005

My family and I have stayed at Ocean Creek for over 15 years. We dont rent from Ocean Creek, we use The Towers at Ocean Creek which is a wonderful place to rent from. After going to Myrtle Beach and staying at Ocean Creek for so long we all agreed to try something new for Easter instead of the usually Myrtle Beach Trip, we went to Dominican Republic. It was a fun trip, but we missed Myrtle!!!
When we go to Myrtle we always go at Easter and spend the full 2 week break there. My family and I have never had any problems. We have stayed in every part of the resort. I enjoy the garden homes which you must rent using Ocean Creek and the South Tower (where we usually stay, using The Towers at Ocean Creek).
Over the years, hear our somethings we have learned. 1, try to stay in the Towers or the garden homes. The towers are great if you have kids or don't want to walk far to get to the beach. The garden homes are great, because you are in a house and they also have a back patio, also a great place to stay if you have kids because they can run around in the back, because it is a fenced in patio. Also, if you stay at the South Tower you get a key to the indoor pool which is only for people who stay in the South Tower...major PLUS!!! 2, we dont get maid service. We have learned that over the years its easier to wash your towels ect. instead of using the maid service. Thats another great reason to stay in the Towers or garden homes. They have your own washer and dryer in the room, rather then one for the whole floor. 3, shop at Super Wal-Mart. The food stores are very over priced!! 4, if you have kids get them involved in the Beach Club, kids club. More so if you go at Easter, they do a lot of things around that time of the year for the kids. 5, if you plan on staying more then a week go buy food!! We usually stay for 2 weeks and its much easier to stock up on food at Super Wal-mart then eat out everynight. We usally eat out half the time and make our own foor the other half. 6, do things you dont normally do! Myrtle has a lot to offer on and off the Resort. Last, have fun. If you stay at Ocean Creek your going to have a wonderful time!! Its a wonderful place and its a great place to relax!

If you have any questions send me an E-mail, subject Myrtle Beach and I'll get back to you!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2005

We rented a unit through its owner and saw pictures via the internet before finalizing plans. It was very easy; no surprises. Our only surprise was discovering a sign after a day of frollicking in the creek with our young children. The sign explained that the water had been tested and the results indicated a high level of contamination. Evidentally, after heavy rain (it rained two days before our arrival, sprinkled one night and we saw the signs posted at least 3 days of our 5 day vacation) the sewer and creek water can become mixed. Gross. The grounds were perfect for young families, but I can't proclaim the glories of the creek after discovering this.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

Fantastic place to stay. Very flexible types of places to stay, very customer friendly. Awesome location, close to everything, but far enough back off of the main drag for quiet, secure privacy. Liked it alot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

After viewing the website and beautiful brochure, I thought this would be a very nice place to stay. We reserved a three bedroom oceanfront condo at over $300.00 per night. Upon checking in, I was disgusted by the filth and unkempt appearance of the elevators. But, oh it gets worse. When we finally found our condo (JJ5 in South tower), it was horrible. The front door was totally rusted and molded. When we go inside, the carpet is filthy, spots everywhere. The sliding glass doors were smeared with handprints and who know what else. The washer and dryer were rusted. Everything about the place reeked of out of date and run down condition. I called the desk and expressed my unhappiness. I was told there was nothing else available. I asked for a refund and was given the entire refund, deposit included. This may have been a nice place years ago, but it certainly has not been kept up. I wouldn't have stayed in this place for free.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Creek Resort

Address: 10600 North Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Ocean Creek Resort are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Creek Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.