We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caravelle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caravelle Resort to your Saves list
Caravelle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Beach + Breakfast
Ranked #64 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We rented our unit from an owner in the main caravelle building so I can't give a review of the rooms the resort takes care of. By renting from an owner we knew exactly what we were getting. However we did use the resorts amenities. We were traveling with a 4 year old who absolutely loved the pool area. It kept her busy all day. The bad part is the limited space at the pool area for chairs. If you are someone who likes to have a pool chair do not stay here during the busy season. People were lined up at the pool gates before the pool opened. When they were unlocked, people ran in throwing towels on chairs they were not even going to be using for hours. All the chairs are literally accounted for in seconds. I got down to the pool 10 minutes before the gates opened one morning and was so far back in line that I did not get a chair. It would be nice if this is monitored for people who are ready to use the chairs right away, not to put a towel on it and come back hours later. Also the pools stay very crowded. The pools are not only used by caravelle occupants. People staying in various buildings around the area also have access to the pools. As I read in previous reviews, there is a man monitoring the pool area that can be rude in his delivery when reminding kids of the rules. Fortunately, he never spoke to my children rudely. However, there were times when he was needed because of children whose parents were not controlling their kids. We stayed on the second floor, so we did not have to endure the elevators and never had a problem using the stairs to get to our room quickly. I highly recommend staying on a lower floor. We drive a large SUVs and never had a problem parking in either garage. We usually had to park in the garage across the street but it was a very quick walk to the resort. There is easy access to the beach from both sides of the resort. Overall, we would not stay here again because of the overcrowding of the pool area.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay as we appreciate all customer feedback. We are thrilled to hear your 4 year old had such a good time using our pool facilities. We do apologize for the fact the pools were so crowded and you were finding difficulties finding pool chairs, this is something we are looking into moving forward to allow all guests to enjoy themselves and maximize the experience we provide. We hope you would consider staying with us again, if you have any questions or concerns about future bookings please contact our Guest Services Manager Steve Showers at 843-918-7047. Thank you for choosing Caravelle Resort and we hope to see you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    507
    216
    179
    156
See reviews for
789
429
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Brief but wonderful! This was our first stay with Caravelle. I needed a quick getaway with my family and grandchildren. I went to Booking.com and found this resort with multiple hotels, game room, fitness rooms, restaurants, gift shop, lazy river, kid pools, and on and on. When we arrived at our check-in destination, we waited "forever" because people had issues with their check-in. When it was finally our turn, we had William, who was pleasant, courteous, and we checked in immediately. There were 6 of us in a double queen apartment in the Towers with one bathroom. We found it very tight at nighttime, and one bathroom was a bit tough in the evening getting ready to go out. Caravelle cannot control the weather, but it was superior. We had rain one night and made that a pizza and movie night - in our room. Our room wasn't cleaned while we were there, but we had all the towels, soap, and linens that we requested in short order. The breakfast was amazing, and even though we didn't want to get up, we wouldn't miss The incredible food and all of Stevie's stories as she took care of us. She also took care of the kids in the afternoon at Pirate's cove with ice cream and pizza. We've been going to Myrtle Beach for over 30 years, and actually own a condo at Westwinds (which wasn't available). Our stay at Caravelle was unfortunately a short one, but check out on Saturday was a breeze, and the family is already talking of our return next year. I've read reviews and know you can't please everyone. Please know that we were well pleased and enjoyed our brief 4 days to the max.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing Caravelle Resort for your recent trip to the beach! It is wonderful to hear that you had such a good time while staying with us. We are pleased to hear that William and Stevie took such good care of you, we work hard to provide the highest levels of service possible and will definitely recognize them for the job they did making your stay such a good one! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and are excited to see you again when you come back to Myrtle Beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a great stay! Was kind of worried from other reviews about booking here but I guess its depending on the type of room you get! We had the Oceanfront Efficiency with 2 double beds and the room was just as pictured! Very nice and clean. Children had a great time in pools/lazy rivers, beautiful view to the beach. Only thing I think they should do better with is the parking situation not enough in the main building of the Caravelle and the elevators are very very slow. Other than those two issues we had a great stay and plan on staying again!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a good time on your recent vacation! It is great to hear that you and your children were able to take advantage of and enjoy our many amenities and great views of the Atlantic Ocean!! We appreciate you choosing Caravelle Resort and look forward to many more great stays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sheets and pillow cases badly stained. I have the pics, Was advertised with 2 queen beds & a murphy bed. Ended up with 2 double beds & no murphy bed. No shampoo or conditioner, no dishwasher, chintzy bath towels, no handle on the outside of the deck slider, which was a tug of war to open or close. Table stand lamp next to a love seat with no outlet available. My wife & I have been to many resorts, all inclusives, hotels, etc. and have to say nothing worldwide has been a more miserable experience than the caravelle resort. No caps intentional…not worthy!!

Room Tip: Don't even consider this hotel for your vacation
See more room tips
Green Features: Never noticed, there was nothing that made you feel you were in an environmentally friendly environment. Actually just the opposite. Slippers on at wakeup
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We apologize that your stay with us was less then satisfactory. We strive hard to provide the highest quality of rooms and service possible and are sorry to have missed the mark with you and your family. This is not how we want you to remember your stay with us and if you have any questions regarding this stay or any future ones please contact our Guest Services Manager Steve Showers at 843-918-7047. Thank you for choosing Caravelle Resort and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was clean & comfortable, a little tight & dated but overall not horrible.. Pool was always packed & not very accommodating but for kids was fine. Best experience was the daily breakfast... Ms Judy was wonderful & made the best of anything we asked for. I would go back just for her breakfast alone!!!

Room Tip: Pick oceanfront lower floors preferred!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice much but being nothing was obvious proved the facility was Eco friendly.
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for choosing Caravelle Resort for your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear the service Judy provided at breakfast was so good! Your kind comments will be passed on as we try to recognize outstanding performance for our staff members. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Myrtle Beach area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'll start with the positives.....We stayed in a 3 queen suite which provided fabulous space for my family, with the kitchenette, room for the kids, etc. The location being a few steps from the ocean was wonderful as well. The staff at check in and check out were very friendly as well.
The negatives......The room could of been a lot cleaner - stale coffee left in coffee maker, dirty dishes in the dishwasher, filthy windows. We only received room service on our very last day, so we had a weeks worth of trash build up, no toilet paper provided (we had to go buy our own since we couldn't find any staff), no fresh towels, and being at the beach we ended up with sand in the sheets since the beds were never freshened. Don't get me wrong, we handled it, but it could of been better. Our room phone didn't work, so we could call for rom service, maintenance, etc, and we had young rowdy loud neighbors, so we couldn't call to complain about the loud music blasting at 3am!
Overall, we would stay again, but I'd be certain first that we had a few things done differently.

Room Tip: The ocean view end suites are nice in size, but the exterior patio is extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay as we appreciate all guest feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We are addressing this with the appropriate departments to improve the overall quality level at our resort for you and other future guests! It is great to hear the staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful and your comments will definitely be passed on! If you have any questions or concerns regarding any future stays please contact our Guest Services Manager Steve Showers at 843-918-7047. Thank you for choosing Caravelle Resort and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Don't let the picture on their website fool you.. They do not update or clean as well as in their pictures. My family and I had to move rooms 4 times because they messed up our reservation and put us in disgusting rooms. The beaches are nice and clean but this hotel is no where near clean!

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing Caravelle Resort for your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the experience you were hoping for on this visit. Our staff works hard to provide the best service and cleanest resort possible and we are sorry to have missed the mark with your family as this is not the typical experience we provide for all of our guests. If you have any questions or concerns about this stay or any future stays with us please contact our Guest Services Manager Steve Showers at 843-918-7047. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#11 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,218 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#23 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#16 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,659 reviews
7.1 mi away
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
#30 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Resort

Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravelle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravelle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.