We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Golf and basketball weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caravelle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caravelle Resort to your Saves list
Caravelle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Up To 30% Off!
Ranked #54 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Golf and basketball weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The resort was very nice the room was very clean and worked out well for us.The hot tub and indoor pool was very convenient to our location. waking up every morning and seeing the sun come up made for a start to 4 great days

Room Tip: the views where great and the condo was very well stocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    473
    196
    160
    134
See reviews for
690
408
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first time visiting Myrtle Beach South Carolina.First I would like to address recent reviews of parking issues and Drunk young people. I suppose some of them have never been to resort during an event such as a car show as well as additional events going on at same time. This area was extremely calm with plenty of parking compared to other places we have been during this type of event. I have had the Caravelle resort on my list for years. I did my research prior to staying via tripadvisor. We chose the St. Clements (also will review on that page). Requested room 305 based on reviews back in August and did get that room. The room was as I expected to be a bit dated but fairly clean. Amazing view of the Ocean and the lowest floor I would choose to stay on if the view is what you want. The kitchen is awesome in this room and the heart of the room. The queen bed is located in the living room and it is a Murphy bed which is needing improvement but we slept just fine on it. The one bedroom is located as soon as you enter the room. It has a double bed and it is a small space but perfect if you bring kids. The parking lot for the St. Clements is quite hard to navigate if you have a large or precious vehicle I recommend parking in the overflow lot just across the street. Although some budget updating would be enough for a 5 star rating Housekeeping should also give a little more attention to some areas of the room. For the most part it was clean just some small details I noticed. With all that said the room and resort met my expectations at the price we paid for an oceanfront room at well under 100 a night. The buffet style breakfast with omelette to order and waffle station is well worth the price. Service at the front Desk is superior and the wait that was complained about was also to be expected with a large event and then some going on. I expect that staying south of this resort was far more crowded, loud and crazy. We had a great time and will return and likely stay at this resort again! Thank you Kelli fellow native New Yorker, for your grand service with great Southern Hospitality. All the employees were very welcoming across the board. Wanted to add pictures but Tripadvisor giving me a hard time. Hope I can add photos later.

Room Tip: Great Views, Quieter section of the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Picked this resort on line as it looked like a good place at a good price for adults with young children. On check in I asked specifically if the pools were heated and accessible this time of year and was assured they all were. Not so. First thing the next morning, we went down for a swim and were told that all of the outdoor water facilities at the main resort (where we were staying were closed due to construction work overhead. Told they would not be open until after our 7 night stay (maybe) still not open when we left. That meant the large main pool, kids play area, lazy river and large outdoor hot tub were unavailable, There are 9 buildings in this complex and most have pools. Was told we could use any of them but found out only 1 outdoor pool was heated all others were not. There was a heated indoor pool on the 7th floor but chlorine was so bad that 10 min was about all your eyes could handle. No real apology made and no offer to compensate that we were not told the truth. Resort has potential and would have been a better stay if pools were open as promised.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools offer a decent side view of the ocean and a great view of the pool area and a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Normal ads asking you to reuse towels etc. otherwise nothing else noticed.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here several times. This is the first time we stayed n the Towers. The room shows a little "wear and tear" but overall it is good. The housekeeping staff did a good job. We purchased the breakfast package, which is a great deal and very convenient. Parking at the Towers was good on site. The front desk staff was very helpful. Already booked our next weekend getaway!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing accommodations at Caravelle Tower and letting us know about your recent stay. We appreciate your recommendation to other travelers, and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful vacation experience. We are look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1st time visiting this hotel. Registration is directly across the street, NOT at the St. John's Inn place as we were told. What a fiasco that was.
Parking was ok, and they have an overflow parking lot across the main hotel.
There are 3 hotels. The main, and two on each side that look very old and not updated. When making reservations make sure you specify where you want to be.
Staff was very accommodating for us. We were down at Myrtle beach for the huge car show and told the person on the phone during registration, that we had a car trailer and if they would be able to accommodate it. I was told, "yes".
When we arrived, that wasn't the case, and had to park next to the registration bldg, and the manager told us that they do not allow trailers, but allow us to do so this time.
So again, ask and make sure you confirm.
Now the rooms.
We were put on the 5th floor because it was recommended to us and we were told that it had a huge balcony. Ok, so we took that not thinking anything of it.
Opened the door, and we couldn't believe how tiny the room was, and how everything was so cramped in the room.
The balcony was very large, but absolutely no privacy from the sides and above you.
WARNING on the bathtub..........EXTREMELY slippery! Nothing on the tub to prevent you from slipping! I almost fell twice in there.
The room was clean, beds were eh (VERY small, not double), air conditioning system seemed to be updated but stunk of mildew when you ran it, glass sliding door did not open or close freely, breakfast staff was very pleasant and food was average.
Game room was ok.
Gift shop was expensive! $3.00 for a chocolate milk.

All pools outside were not open, but you could see that they were heated.

Would we go back? Maybe, but definitely not on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
While we never like receiving comments such as yours from a guest, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered, and your feedback will be shared with our team so we can address these issues right away. Having been in business for more than 50 years, we understand that guest service is a priority, and I wish we would have done a better job of managing your concerns while you were visiting us. We hope you will reconsider a future stay with us, as we are confident you will find our level of service to be back to the excellent accommodations we are known for in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start with the service was excellent. The first room we had was horrible. The whole room felt dirty. The refrigerator was dented, stained, and the walls were dirty. When I called the front desk. The staff was very accommodating. We went down the next day and changed rooms. The next room felt cleaner. It was dated but acceptable. The breakfast buffet was great. The made fresh omelet and waffles were really the highlight. The ocean front view was great.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing accommodations with The Caravelle Resort and for letting us know about your recent stay. We greatly apologize for the unpleasant issues you experienced. While we know the accommodations were not what you were expecting, we are so glad you were able to enjoy the delicious made-to-order waffle and omelet station, as well as the on-site breakfast buffet. Please know, we will work hard to remedy the issues you encountered. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an enjoyable vacation experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we just arrived home from our stay at caravelle. We had 4 nice days of sunshine however the resort CLOSED the outside pool, the lazy river, the entire MARCH break week.
We arrived on the weekend and were told it was closed until Monday then on Monday we found it that was untrue. We chose this resort based on these amenities. Had we known there are hundreds of other resorts to chose from. Very disappointed and so was my two kids. We were told to use the indoor pool up on the seventh floor. We did not want to be indoor, Myrtle beach had some real hot days and we wanted to spend it outdoors. We were told to use the outdoor pool next door which is an in and out pool the size of a bathtub (the outdoor portion of it) Could not even do laps.
As a courtesy if a Resort has schedule work to be done on their premises please advise your guests and least the decision will be ours to chose to book it or not

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, Manager at Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We sincerely apologize for issues that you encountered during your recent stay at The Caravelle. We greatly appreciate your comments, as the feedback you have given will be very beneficial in the future when planning to do work on property. Please know your thoughts will be shared with our staff as we strive to improve communication and the overall service we provide. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an enjoyable, fun-filled vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Resort

Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravelle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravelle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.