We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Loved it!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravelle Resort

Save Saved
You added Caravelle Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caravelle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
August Savings!
Ranked #50 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
“Absolutely Loved it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent place with great service. However I would suggest staying in the actual resort side (not the St. John's side it doesn't even look or feel like part of the actual Caravelle.) But overall, a great stay. Johnna @ the front desk was very helpful in resolving our issues. She was courteous and very prefessional...Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    420
    177
    145
    123
See reviews for
632
348
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The property needs to be updated.It doesn't seem like money is put into fixing things.I wondered if they had maintanence on the property because there was too many broken things and rusted and stained places.The unit I stayed in was old fashioned,it had broken and stained things.If things are not working in a unit people need to report or housekeeping needs to be checking to make sure everything is in working order for the Guest.The household appliances and cookware should be updated and working properly.Didn't feel safe using the bathroom in the indoor pool area door wouldn't lock since the lock is broken,no towels in the pool areas.Just an ok place to visit very nice area being close to the beach

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the week of September 15th. We had an oceanview efficiency double. Even though we got a great deal through Groupon, I most likely would not return to this hotel. First the good: internet included, breakfast buffet was also included (in our deal) and had decent food. Easy and included parking. View from the oceanview is pretty good. You could see a large portion of the ocean. Wouldn't see the point in paying extra for ocean front. Having full fridge, coffee maker, microwave etc. is nice. The bad: rooms are dated and old. Housekeeping really left something to be desired. They skipped us all together one of the days and the other days they just made the bed and changed out our towels. I know they didn't vaccum since there was some sand on the carpet and it was there untouched all week. I never heard a vaccum the entire time they were on our floor so I am sure they didn't vaccum any of the rooms.The shower was terrible. It didn't drain and you had an inch or so of water in the bottom the whole time you were in there. Internet was spotty the whole week. Ironing board but no iron in the room. Also, it may be the age of the hotel but there was only 2 available outlet spots in the entire room. This is tough for those that have cell phones, laptops, ipads etc. The pool area was not that great. They have a large pool, a kids pool, a lazy river and a kids lazy river. There were a lot of children here even though school is back in. The pool was freezing and is not heated. They also do not have staff walking the pool area enough in my opinion as kids were putting the lazy river rafts in the pool and no one said a word. I was disappointed that even with the volumn of people that still go in September that their beach bar was only open on Saturday and Sunday.

This was a great deal, but I would stay somewhere else next time that has a little more attention to detail. It just seemed dirty overall. Tiles in bathroom were not clean and it just gives the impression of an old tired hotel.

If you have a family and are looking for a cheap no-thrills place, this is your spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had 7 guest. 2 adults and five teenagers. We all had a great time. Our rooms were clean and we did not experience any problems that some of these other guest say they experienced.
For the money thsi was a really great deal.

Room Tip: If you do not like to walk to the beach make sure you stay on the ocean side. We stayed one block o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna,WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Caravelle, and we love it there. The rooms are spacious and clean, and close right on the beach so we didn't have to walk far. We asked about moving our room to a suite and they tried to be accommodating, but we would have to move the 2nd day because they were all booked for the first night. We decided to stay where we were, and ended up being just happy there. We would have loved to be on ocean side (we were last row next to the road, but still oceanview), but for our budget it was great! We had friends staying at a different hotel on the South end, and after seeing theirs, we were really happy because theirs was a lot smaller and compact! We really love staying at the Caravelle!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Caravelle Resort for the week of September 16th and were very impressed by Johnna at the front desk. She was very professional, courteous and very efficient in taking care of our needs. The room was lovey, the view was breathtaking and oh! the breakfast buffet with omelets were the best way to start every morning before walking on the beach. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and also very accommodating. We enjoyed the pool and hot tubs and will definitely visit this hotel again and also recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got a deal on the rate but was supposed to get ocean view we got pool view, palm tree view on the 2nd floor. Complained to front desk they were not trying to help us at all. Went back a 2nd time had a nicer lady named Heather help us. But then the manager tried to tell her she couldnt move us at all b/c they were sold out. After back and forth confrontation of about 20 mins...we Eventually got moved to the 6th floor.Much better view and much quieter. Hotel is old but has been updated to look better..but could use a good cleaning for sure. Amenities were average...kids loved the pool area but too small for the amount of people there not enough seating for everyone. Middle elevators didnt work half the time wouldnt go up and down right ..sometimes didnt move at all. Waited almost 15 to 20 mins one time for the elevator....A/C unit in room is loud...scared me and the kids a few times....If your not asking for much and need a place that is oceanfront and average this is the place. I probably would stay again sometime..but not my first choice at all. It is in a convienent location to all things in MB.

Room Tip: THe higher floor you go the better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Resort

Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravelle Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravelle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.