We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caravelle Resort

Save Saved
You added Caravelle Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caravelle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
August Savings!
Ranked #47 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Westerville, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not So Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed at the Caravelle Resort March 23 - 27, 2013 and they had the game room, gift shop and walking areas all closed off for construction. They never told us ahead of time that they would have anything closed because of the construction . They told me at check-in that the indoor pool was closed. There was no trash can in the room , I called the front desk who gave us a wrong number to call maintenance. We asked the housekeeper about getting one and she gave us a trash bag, said she would bring one later, never did. There was a stove but no skillet to cook. The housekeeping will show up to clean rooms very later in the afternoon. The front desk did not even ask how are stay was when we left. I will not be back to this hotel as the service was terrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    412
    171
    142
    117
See reviews for
613
347
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

As a traveling professional I stayed at the Caravelle Resort with my family for spring break. The resort was comfortable and convenient. Being situated close to all attractions, restaurants and beach made it that more appealing. Our accommodations was clean and comfortable, however the unit could use a little updating. All in all had a pleasant week and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage, tn, us, north america
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family, friends and I have been staying at the Caravelle and the Carolina Dunes for years now, and every since my first stay there we have always returned. I recommend it to all my famiy and friends and they feel the same way. I have so many pictures of the sunrise from the balcony, and we would have what we called dolphin watch, when the dolphins would swim by each day was a thrill for us the frist time that we saw it, and remains a vacation staple..Waking each morning and opening the curtains to see the ocean, was such a stress reliever, the window was like a live picture. The place was spacious, and allowed my family room to relax, and the steam shower was not bad either..

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful month at the Caravelle. We had to change rooms a couple of times, due to our early arriva,l and a repair to the ceiling in the second room. This was a little stressful, but your staff helped make the move fairly easy. The room we ended up with was #1111 and every thing there was very accommodating for our stay. The only thing I would like to suggest, is some new furniture. The easy chairs are not so comfortable anymore, due to longevity of use, and the sofa needs some new padding in the seating cushions! Otherwise every thing was well supplied and the cleaning staff were very obliging. Also, may I commend you for your bar manager at Liquids. Michelle is very friendly and makes the patrons feel very much at home. She is a keeper! Thanks again, and we hope to see you next year---hope the weather is warmer than this year and the renovations are completed by then !!!!!! Marsha and Jim Allen

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny" "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise" B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

It was enjoyable.. We had terrible weather and it was cold. But the Caravelle was nice. The bed was comfortable and the balcony was a nice view. I had the efficiency ocean view room. It was clean and I couldn't hear other people people flush the commode or turn their showers on through the walls like I have in other hotels. The parking garage was kind of tight but convenient to our room. Elevator was slow. Over all, I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The accomodations were great , clean spacious rooms and friendly staff. The restaruant had great food. Just remember to park in the overflow if you are driving an SUV. The sprinkler system in the Main garage makes it have low ceilings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Amazing views from room 1244's oceanfront balcony!! The unit was the perfect size for my husband and me. Some of the furnishings had been updated. The only complaint was that the unit's front door had a huge gap around the facing, and when the night winds blew, cold air rushed into the bedroom. The kitchen was well stocked with necessary items, and the bathroom space was adequate. The Caravelle staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The resort was undergoing exterior updates, so the gift shop and ice cream shop were closed. The pool areas (indoor and out) were incredible. The coin laundry was inexpensive and very clean. There was beach access directly from the resort! I will recommend the Caravelle Resort to others!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the best! Choose a room above the 7th floor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Resort

Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravelle Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravelle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.