We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great Beach Front Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravelle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Caravelle Resort to your Saves list
Caravelle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Up To 30% Off!
Ranked #59 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wooster, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Beach Front Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Nice resort that let us check in early and pick up our discounted tickets to Ripley's Aquarium. Very nice double bed room with an ocean view on the second floor(view would have been better higher up-palm trees were blocking it). It was equipped with a stove, sink, refrigerator, safe, and hair dryer. Beautiful beachfront to stroll along and pick up shells(though you need to be out really early to get best ones). It has an outdoor heated lap pool, a regular pool, kiddie pool, hot tub and kid's play area. There is also an indoor pool and jacuzzi on the 7th floor. There is a guest laundry and a gift shop too. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    480
    198
    161
    139
See reviews for
702
415
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conover, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I must say first off this was my mistake! I read the bad reviews, and decided to stay anyway. It was a tragedy of a stay for a rather nice hotel, with great housekeeping staff, great food onsite, and great regular employees other than management. The first day was great; check in even late went very smooth. The room was nice, not as nice as the pictures by a landslide, but it was clean and roomy. I reserved the Deluxe Oceanfront Suite, so the kids had room. We got up early first full day, and no issues. By the 2nd day, I realized where the complaints about the elevators being slow came from. Then to my horror 2 out of 4 went down. I called management at 11 pm and was assured they would be fixed by morning. I stayed confident, by Friday still 2 elevators down, and now amazingly a 3rd one down. Now you have 1 elevator, for a lot of people and of course we were on the 9th floor with a 2 year old. Still I was positive called management again, and got assured they would be fixed. Saturday still nothing, walked down 9 flights to go to breakfast, then back up, back down to go to the beach..Wow the 2 year old did a nasty & the pool bathroom was disgusting. Back up with a screaming toddler, to call the manager. Oh sorry miss they won't be fixed till Monday, that's when my attitude changed. Oh they gave me $100 back, off of an $1000 bill, where my kids vacation was ruined because the fact that management didn't want to pay the extra fee to have the elevator repair place come out on the weekend. Which is what I was told at checkout, by another help desk employee. I'm sure they had hefty fines and possibly a lawsuit, because not even the paramedics could get to a stroke victim on the 4th floor on Friday night. I will not make this mistake again I will listen to trip advisor reviews.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I have been coming to the Caravelle for almost 30 years with a group of friends and family to play golf. The value simply cannot be beat. From the comfortable, clean rooms to the excellent breakfasts and the friendly helpful staff, this place is first class all the way but at a very affordable price. This is also one of the very few hotels that offers the Dunes Golf Course as an option. Our group has brought friends from all over the USA to experience the fun here and many have returned with their families for a summer vacation. I give this place two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room if you enjoy watching the sun rise over the Atlantic in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at Caravelle on Veteran's Day weekend. Since it's the off season, we got an excellent rate for the room. Arrived in town at lunchtime and they were able to check us right in. All of the staff that we interacted with were friendly and pleasant. We loved our King Efficiency room because we got the 5th floor (Rm 520) and that floor has the largest balcony that the property offers. It was roomy enough to gather with our friends for a drink in the evening. Wonderful oceanfront view from the wall of windows, where we could watch the sunrise from our bed. The room had great draperies that blocked all outside light at night. On the advice of other TA reviewers we opted to stay in the main building since it was renovated in the last 12 - 18 months, and we were very pleased with the decor of the room and bathroom, both of which were very clean. We didn't use the indoor pool or jacuzzi because it was just too chilly that weekend and I didn't have a robe to wear back to the room and traverse the open air hallways, but we did go take a look at them. Our friends stayed ont the 7th floor and were right across from them. They had a double suite ( 2 beds in a seperate bedroom from the living area) which was just as nice as our room, but had a smaller balcony - a cozy size for 2. The 6 story parking garage was very convenient and since we were on the 5th floor we didn't have to use the elevators much. We got the breakfast package and were quite pleased with the volume of food on the buffet. The guy at the omelets & waffles station made fantastic omelets.
We found the location to be an easy drive to the things we wanted to see and do - only a few minutes down to the Skywheel, Broadway at the Beach and the Convention Center where we attended the Dickens Christmas Show which was also great. I can easily see making this an annual event and staying at Caravelle each time!

Room Tip: Fifth floor ocean front rooms have balconies large enough to lay out on and get full sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Collins, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

the staff was amazing the facilities very clean ! have stayed here twice...once with family and once with friends. i will definately go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daltonman24
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The Caravelle was great. Facilities were clean and the staff was great! Would definitely stay there again!!! Thanks Kenny & Sheila, you both were fantastic

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

An absolutely great deal for the $.. Huge jacuzzi.. Great for our walks on the beach.. 4th time there... It's become our hideaway..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Resort

Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravelle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravelle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.