We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good family vacation. Very clean and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts to your Saves list
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good family vacation. Very clean and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first trip to myrtle beach and Anderson ocean club. Check in was smooth and Kendrick was very helpful in bringing our bags up to our room. We had a two bedroom and studio with HGVC and were surprised that the studio also had a full kitchen. Both rooms we're oceanview which was fine for us. Coffee on the balcony overlooking the beach was great each morning. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with full laundry facilities and a full kitchen.

The valet staff were exceptional. I know that the valet process has been criticized in other reviews. I found that the valet staff manage and very chaotic environment efficiently and with a smile.

The pool area was one of the only minor downsides to this resort. It is showing it's age with uneven pavers and it is a bit small with astro turf near the lounges. It is in need of a make over but it was fine for us to have a dip after being at the beach all day. No coolers on the pool deck FYI which was also a slight inconvenience.
The other major complaint about this resort is around accessiblility. There are no accessible studio rooms with walk in showers. Really not acceptable in this day and age. Father had to shower upstairs in our room. HGVC could and should do better. Also no accessible way to get on the beach. This was problematic as we were travelling with our 87 year old father who had a really hard time with the stairs. We were able to get a free beach wheelchair from the lifeguard about 4 or 5 chairs down the beach, which allowed him to come and enjoy the beach for the first time in many years, so this was a major plus. You have to check in with the guard every hour to make sure no one else is waiting for the chair.

Back to the beach was great and we spent a lot of our time there. Surf was a bit rough one day so we didn't stay in the water too long. We were whistled out of the water a few times due to sharks but as nervous as it made me it was also kind of exciting.
Remember that you can rent two chairs and an umbrella for 35/day or 175 a week or find the local beach store and buy them. I paid 50 for two chairs and and umbrella at walmart.

Overall, had a great stay at the Anderson Ocean Club and would recommend it for anyone looking for a family friendly beach vacation. Myrtle Beach was great as well
Lots to do.

Note: you also get free mini putt across the street and free entrance to a water park just south of myrtle beach.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    750
    180
    99
    48
See reviews for
1,014
706
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

When going to the beach for vacation, Anderson Ocean Club (HGVC) is the place to stay. Good parking and valet service if you want to pay for it. Direct access to the beach with several pools, a hot tub, and lazy river. We also stay in a three bed room unit that is outfitted with a full kitchen which we enjoy cooking most of our meals in. We go to Murel's inlet to the fish market and bring back the fresh catch of the day for a great evening meal. In the evenings we take a beach walk to the arcade area and enjoy the night life. It is about a 20 minute beach walk to the area. We come back year after year due to the location and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I travel a lot and enjoy using timeshares. The most amazing thing about this one is the beautiful view from the balcony and the beach. Yes, you have to bring your own beach chairs and umbrellas but that is a Myrtle Beach rule not the hotels. That is if you don't want to rent them for $35 a day;) We stayed in an HGVC room and it was fine. If we did have any problems the staff was amazing and there immediately--no waiting. When going to MB in season remember it is crowded with lots of families. The pools were small but they were a nice break from the ocean. My suggestion-- read all the reviews before making your decision.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors with ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I've stayed here a few times via my dad's HGVC membership. It's a nice place. The rooms are very nice and well supplied. I love the balconies. And there are a few places to eat and things to do around the area. The pool can get crowded (true for anywhere), the elevators are ridiculously slow, and I'm not a fan of the crowded and sometimes chaotic check-in and valet process. If you don't valet your car, you can drop off your luggage, but you have to park about a block away in a parking deck 3 or 4 levels up. Oh, and the wi-fi wasn't great either, but it was free! I know that sounds like several bad things, but overall this is still a really nice, comfortable place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very happy to have a Hilton Grand Vacation Club timeshare here! Amazing beach!! Excellent service!! Hotel needs a restaurant by the pool. Overall great stay!! Also great valet service and great housekeeping!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

As soon as we pulled in, from the valet to check in, was smooth. Everyone is very helpful and informative. We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite overlooking the ocean, the view was magnificent. Rooms were very clean and if you needed any toiletries, towels or kitchen supplies refilled they were more than happy to oblige. The beach was beautiful and clean, the water felt like a bathtub and there were a few pools and hot tub. I would not recommend renting chairs and umbrella from them, as it was $35 per day and the chairs looked old and uncomfortable. Just go to the local supermarket or beach stores and buy something for the week. The only draw back was that the coffee shop closed by 9pm every evening. There is no restaurant on premise. But all in all it is a beautiful property and nicest on the strip.

Room Tip: Top floor, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Three nights went by fast in myrtle. I travel to MB frequently and have stayed at a couple resorts. HGVC Myrtle Beach is the best on the sand. I can appreciate this location not having the same amenities because of the view and quality of the rooms. The resort has come a long way since I've bought here. I'm glad progress is still being made and look forward to coming back.

I have read some of the other reviews for the property and can relate and understand their point of view. Their right with a lot of the statements but the location and great service make up for where the property is lacking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts

Address: 2600 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature luxurious-, two- and three bedroom condominiums with room service and other amenities including a day spa with hair and nail salon, flat screen TVs, fitness center, indoor & outdoor pools, lazy river, Jacuzzi, oceanfront bar, wireless internet and valet parking. Our full service spa offers massages, facials, men’s spa services and more. Close to many nationally recognized golf courses, restaurants and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anderson Ocean Club And Spa, Oceana Resorts
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Anderson Ocean Hotel
Anderson Ocean Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.