We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've seen worse...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beachwalk Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachwalk Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1701 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I've seen worse...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The State Park was full so we rode around Ocean Hwy, looking for a cheap place to stay. Saw the sign at Beachwalk- $39 oceanfront and $29 SV. As we turned in, we looked at each other and said "what do you think?" The doors to the rooms were all battered and even at 2 pm, it was dark in the parking lot! But we went in anyway and talked to the clerk. She was very nice and polite, told us there is a $10 deposit in addition to the room charge but it would be refunded when we checked out. There was a notice on the counter that toilet paper is $1 a roll, but she explained that there are a lot of people living there and the fee is for them, to encourage them to buy their own paper products. So we paid and as we were heading to our oceanfront room, I told my friend we were staying at the Bates Motel. We were on the 2nd floor and it looked like an army had attacked the door, but it was solid and once we got in, we saw there were 3 locks on the door! And there were marks on the door like someone had used a screwdriver trying to open the door. That threw me- if they were on the outside of the door I could understand it- someone was trying to break in! But on the inside of the door??? Anyway, the room was extremely run down. I think the carpet was put down in the early 50's, but surprise- it was clean! At least after I had walked on it with white socks on, the socks were still clean. We pulled the covers off the beds, checking for signs of bugs- and we found nothing but clean sheets- nice sheets too! The bedspreads were worn but the sheets were clean. The pillows were fluffy too and held their own during the night! The bathroom was clean although there were no drain covers in the sink or bathtub. The towels were clean and soft and white. There were no pots or pans for the kitchen so it was a waste but the refrigerator worked great and kept our drinks cold anyway. However there was only one light- in the kitchen- so at night we had to use our flashlights to change the TV channels. Remotes were available in the office for an additional $5 deposit but they didn't have one that would work the TV in our room. No big deal- we were at the beach and didn't really need TV anyway! The pool did look bad but there was another "pool" a few yards away- the Atlantic Ocean- so we weren't too concerned about that. The door to the balcony opened fine but when you shut it- it sounded like a prop in a haunted house! There was no phone but who uses landline phones anymore anyway? Cell phone reception was good here but they have no wireless internet access. Like I said before- who cares? We were at the beach! Night came and we kept flashlights handy, looking for bugs. Never saw one- not one bug on the walls, the floors, or in the bathroom! And I checked several times during the night too! The mattress was good, although the one on the other bed sloped off to the right. It was bigger than the box spring and that may have been the problem. The AC/heat unit was new and worked fine. The curtains were clean but worn out. Still, looking out during the night to see the moon shining on the ocean made everything worth while. This is not a new building. It is old and worn out but when we were there anyway, it was clean and bug free. The people I encountered in the office were nice and friendly. Bottom line is that there are newer, more modern places to stay. They are also a lot more expensive! You get what you pay for, and we were pleased with our stay. Would we go back?? Next time the State Park is full and we can't get in-- YES! We will check Beachwalk out and hope the rates and the rooms are the same as they were this trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a TV with a remote if you plan to watch a lot of TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    1
    12
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late to myrtle beach and had not made a reservation anywhere. Considering it was February, we thought we could easily get a room last minute. There were no vacancies at all the descent places. We figured since it was just one night and we were desperate for sleep this place would be at least sufficient! Gross, old dirty, reaked of cigarette smoke. The bathroom towels were dingy gray in color and I would not even think of using the shower! I didn't let my bare feet touch the nasty floor. We were glad we didn't bring our luggage into that room or we would have surely brought bugs home with us! The door to the patio was so warped that it wouldnt close! Nasty nasty nasty! The Heath department needs to shut this place down!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Stayed next to the hotel @ the Hampton inn. Our room had a view of the pool @ the Beachwalk. 1st day the pool was slightly green & became grass green w/I a few days. People still swam it it when it was green. After 4 days, someone finally threw some chlorine in it to shock it, but it was still gross. The hotel next to it looked like a dive too, nut at least they had a clean pool to swim in...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Biggest waste of money biggest mistake!!!!NO REFUNDS !!! Only good thing was Oceanfront!! -The room was disgusting nasty ,slept ontop of covers with our own sheets .mattress stuffing falling out on bottom of box springs ,nasty old stove .....dresser drawers tore up ,terrible nasty carpet ...no barefeeet at all on floor -- got into room and no phone no phone book ,only 3 towels 2 washcloths no maid service .. but a older lady did walk in on us on sunday and said she thought room was empty ,she had a key!!! i was shocked and thought where are our fresh towels and she wasnt even the maid !! curtains ripped a/c broken ,pool was green and not working ..we only stayed there to sleep but it was so bad i was too uncomfortable to sleep .. it should be a health inspection on this motel and they need to condemn it . when we left to go out we did not leave any personal items inside we put in our car , was too scared to leave anything ,,oh yes key entry and no chain lock ,very uncomfortable ..Bad Nasty TEAR IT DOWN!!!STAY AWAY REPORT TO HEALTH INSPECTER!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We didnt stay her but we did stop to look...opened the door and the smell would knock you down then flipped on the light and roaches was everywhere...we didnt even get in the door..NASTY....I took the key back and told the guy and he acted like he didnt know...he only said well " I guess i wont be renting that room" yuck!!!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumter
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed at this hotel Saturday July 17,2010. The room was smelly upon entering. We had to go out and buy room freshners and lysol to disinfect the room. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling and the carpet was nasty. The stove and refrigerator were old and dirty. I have never in my life seen a motel like this. I was up most of the night and by 6:00 am the next morning, we were out of there. DHEC needs to be contacted to shut this place down. Wish I had taken pictures.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville nc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed at this dump last year and ive seen dumpsters cleaner.We went with our small child and when we cked in we went to the room and someone that thrown up all over the bathroom floor and we went back down stairs and they acted like we had done it I refused to stay in that room. My child was not allowed to touch the floor the entire stay and we cked out early and left to come home very rude people...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachwalk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachwalk Motel

Also Known As:
Beachwalk Hotel
Beachwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Address: 1701 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#189 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachwalk Motel 3*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachwalk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beachwalk Motel to your Saves list