We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Save Saved
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #27 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Girls Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The pefect last minute trip. The room was very clean, staff was friendly and away from the craziness of boardwalk. I lovveed the Tiki bar. The only reason I didn't rate a five is because Tiki bar closes at 6 every day. If it closed at 10 at least during peak summer times it would make this place a 5.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    496
    271
    105
    30
    37
See reviews for
412
225
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only booked for two nights, but it was so nice we stayed an extra day. The front desk was friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and well maintained. There was a full fridge and stove in the room which was convenient. The pools, hot tub, sauna and lazy river were awesome and of course the beach and ocean are right there as well. We did not have a full view of the ocean, which was disappointing, but when I looked at our room information again - it did say 'partial view' so it was my bad. This is a wonderful place for a family and we will be back.
Oh, and the bar was very nice too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Girls weekend in June and this place was just right for what we wanted. Plenty of pools, lazy river, tanning lawn and beach! Pools were never crowded. Staff was very nice and helpful. We had a full refrigerator, oven and stove, small sink, utensils and dishes. We had a room with a balcony and could see the ocean but not on the ocean front. It was a quiet room and very comfortable. I plan on going back with grandchildren and we won't have to leave the property!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I got a King Angle Oceanview Efficiency room for our stay from 6/28/14-7/5/14. We were in room 849 in the south building. At first, we thought that we weren't going to have a good view because our room was the furthest from the beachfont, but we still had an awesome view of the ocean plus our room had a bigger balcony that wrapped around to the back of the hotel so that we got a street view of Ocean Blvd as well, which we enjoyed for late night people watching. The area that the hotel is in is just north of the boardwalk area, so there were some nights where traffic was backed up to the hotel, but it didn't really bother us (as long as you travel on Kings Hwy it should be fine). The parking for the hotel was probably one of the only things we didn't really care for. They have a big lot right across Ocean Blvd, a smaller lot near the West building across the street, and a parking garage across the alley across the street. It was annoying to search for a spot closer to the hotel every time we came back & fight other guests for spots. Some people would just stand in spots to try to claim them for other people, and we thought that was completely ridiculous when you tried to pull in a parking spot but couldn't because a person was standing in it (or laying in it, as we saw several nights). That shouldn't be allowed.

Other than parking, our room was decent. Basic hotel room (a little outdated decor, but who cares?). It had an efficiency kitchen-- an older electric stove and microwave, and a small fridge & freezer combo. We didn't try the stove but liked the size of the fridge. There were also utensils, a toaster, coffee pot & a sink. I liked the bathroom--the toilet and tub were in it & the sink/vanity area was out side of it which made getting ready easier. The king bed was big and comfy. The room got very cool with the air conditioner. The room was also very clean--the maids did a great job!

The awesome part about the hotel was the pool area and tables and chairs with the yellow umbrellas. Although the pool was frequently crowded, we spent a lot of time in the bigger pool. It was kept nice and clean and there were plenty of lounge chairs around it. The area with the tables and umbrellas was nice to sit at to view the ocean and relax in the shade. The pool area also has a snack/drink bar called the Yella Umbrella, which we visited frequently. It was reasonably priced and the workers were super friendly. It was nice to not have to leave the hotel to have a few alcoholic drinks & sit by the pool. They made some great frozen mixed drinks. However, the hours were 10-5 for the snack/drink bar, which we would have liked them to be open later, since the pool area was open till 10:30pm. The pool area also had jacuzzi tubs which were always crowded so we didn't get to enjoy those.

This hotel also had awesome customer service. The battery operated lock for our hotel door died on our last night, and the hotel workers were very prompt in coming to fix the problem and replace it. For our inconvenience, they gave us free breakfast passes for the Uncle John's diner across the street, which is the restaurant the hotel partners with. We wished we would have tried it earlier in our stay because the food was decent.

Overall, everything was great! We will definitely be coming back to stay at Dayton House again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed in the West building. Comfortable rooms, good parking, a few minutes walk to the beach and/or resort pools .Uncle John's Restaurant (highly recommended) just across the road.The ocean was warm, the beaches clean and even the tourists were catching fish. Finally the rates were very reasonable . A great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the North Building for 6 nights. From check in to check out everyone was very friendly and accommodating. It was a very relaxed friendly atmosphere even with a tropical storm blowing through. The rooms were clean and the property is very well kept. My 15 year old son is already talking about returning next year. Everyone in our family (two adults & two teens) enjoyed their stay. The beach front fireworks were a special treat. I just want to say "Thank you" to everyone who works at the resort for a job well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archdale, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel just doesn't know how to stop improving. We arrived to a super friendly front desk staff whom checked us in lightning fast and had us on our way to our room in no time. The room as always was clean and up to date with all the expensive beach cost cutting amenities like a full oven and stove, microwave, full refrigerator and sink. The room we selected was the 2 room oceanfront suite with comfy clean beds and an amazing balcony view. The pools, hot tubs and areas around were clean and clutter free. The snack bar had yummy food and refreshing drinks even though the kids smoothies were a little on the high side we all enjoyed. The new water features on the lazy river were fun the first lap we made but after that water dumping on us just wasn't relaxing or fun. All in all it was a great trip amd would recommend anyone to stay there after all its our 7th year staying there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, MyrtleBeachHotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.