We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been going for years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% OFF Family FUN!
Ranked #37 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East hanover
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Been going for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed in suites couches and rugs could be updated. Bed was very comfortable. Staff is great and really wants to help out. Been staying in this building since it was built about 12 years. Bathrooms are just ok. Could use washer dryer and dishwasher in rooms. Pools are very clean and grounds are well kept. Parking could be dicey not enough spots when hotels are full. Price is fair. Views are excellent.

Room Tip: End unit with king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    328
    130
    43
    47
See reviews for
482
287
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Family run hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Great location, particularly liked the plentiful sunbeds and umbrellas on the grass between the pool and the beach. Room was fine with all the facilities you would expect including a room safe. We were in the annex over the street, but apart from missing a sea view the room was quiet and perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Dayton house is an old hotel format. We stayed in the suites for an offseason event in the area. The price was right and it was convenient. The view was excellent and no doubt that's what you pay for during the high season. It was clean but tight quarters and fortunately parking. All we did was spend two nights there, literally, so I can't really comment on overall service or conditions of the grounds. In my opinion it's below the quality of a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express. But it would be fine for a family or those on a budget.

Honestly, I don't get Myrtle Beach. Sure I've been here for spring break as a student, but it's like I've out grown it. I liken the main drag of myrtle beach old school hotels to Fremont Street in Las Vegas....

If you're able to pay high season rates and want to be in myrtle beach, this place is just ok. Admittedly, I typically stay at higher end places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Dayton House as part of a package to see some Christmas shows at Myrtle Beach. We thought we got a great value. The hotel was clean and the view of the ocean was great. The walk in heated pool was just what we wanted. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a side view room and it was very quiet and we saw the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed at DH for a show at the MB convention center in November. Off season so I got a great rate on Priceline but was a little leary after reading reviews. The DH was closer than I thought to the convention center at a 5 min. drive and 20 min walk (through parking lots it is a straight shot). Check in was a breeze and Andy was very friendly. My room on the top floor of the North Tower was roomy and clean w/ 2 double beds. Flat screen and good space in bathroom. Kitchenette that I didn't use. Appliances and furniture was dated but it was all in good condition and there were a lot of outlets around the room. Walked the property for a few min and it seemed very clean. Only downside was I think they painted something in my room on morning and the smell was pretty strong for the rest of the day and evening.

I wasn't expecting much based on the price and it being non-brand property but was very pleasently surprised and would go back again. It was a great off-season value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronda, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband,mother n law and I stayed at the Dayton House 09/17-09/20 2013 -We saw the show at the Carolina Opry and bought the package that included our room. I knew nothing about the Dayton House and since this was my mother n law's first time to Myrtle Beach-I wanted the trip to be special. Upon arriving at the Dayton House, I was greeted by a wonderful staff that advised me our room had been upgraded to a suite. My worries ended!-

The ocean front suite was cleaned, comfortable and quite.It, also, was close to the elevator---the view on the 15th floor was wonderful---a beautiful sunset and sunrise was seen by us--we enjoyed the hot tub -(My mother n law enjoyed the hot tub (another first)., the lazy river (she tried this as well-another first for her) and I enjoyed the heated pools- We also enjoyed sitting and relaxing on the balcony. The beach chairs were wonderful, we like the idea that this area is grassy. We did not try their restaurant (located within walking distance) this time, however we are planning a return trip and are looking forward to a second stay at the Dayton House. We have and will continue to talk about our wonderful stay at the Dayton House-how nice the staff and maid service is.Yes,we recommend the Dayton House to others. Bonnie and Robert B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Hall, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at the Dayton House Resort Nov 3-7 2013,I had arranged the trip with the carolina opry for a 3 night stay 2 shows and 1 dinner for a excellant price.Check in was quick the room was ocean front middle building 3rd floor,had a kitchen area twin beds sitting area also,was clean and I was treated like family.Location was great close to everything you needed to get to the room was clean maid came in everyday.Uncle Johns acroos the street had good breakfest and lunch great people over there also.And decided to add 1 extra night to package no problem with doing that the weather was cool then warm and sunny,pool and hot tubes were great and kept clean all the time i was there.Everyone was the Best and took care of anything you may need,I plan to go back next year in the spring and fall thanks to everybody there I was very satisfied with my trip,take care till I see you again thanks so much,Brian Williams.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front rooms they also have side view . Middle Building was quiet and best view of pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.