We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Resort Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Save Saved
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #21 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Grover, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Last Resort Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for a bachelorette weekend. We had to cancel a room last minute. There was a 90 dollar cancellation fee which was fine we still paid less than we would have keeping a room we didn't need. We came to check in and the front desk asked the ages of all the party. The youngest girl was 23, she lives on her own and has graduated college, the rest of us were well over 25. They told us upon check in that we couldn't stay there because she was not 25 and was not accompanied by a parent! We were astonished at this seeing that we were not made aware of this before hand. When we questioned the issue the front desk shows a paper that you can not "check in" under 25. Clearly there is a difference between checking in and staying at a hotel. They wound up letting us stay but because the staff wad so rude, I would have gladly paid another cancellation fee not to stay. Then they told us that there was a no refund policy? We stayed despite our issues with their actions and attitude towards us. The rooms were accomodating and clean. They were outdated, but for what we paid sufficient. I will not use this facility again. I was very dissapointed at the level of customer service. I have never been treated so rudely. When we checked out, upon walking away from the front desk, one of the CSR's was heard saying something derogatory towards us. I have stayed at many places, being that my husband and I love to travel, and I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED THIS WAY! I don't know why they had such an issue but with that being said there are much nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    243
    98
    28
    30
See reviews for
373
205
21
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Graniteville SC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After reading reviews I decide to stay here on weekend of 9/20/2013. Hotel is old but clean. Bathroom is super small. Pools are nice beach area is clean. Went to uncle Johns for breakfast it's ok. Not a place I would go back to. It's a 20 min walk to ferris wheel. Starbucks is about 5 min walk. If you are looking for a clean but old small hotel this is a good pick. But if you are wanting a resort feel this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Currently still here for our first stay at Dayton House. What a pleasure it has been to be here at this lovely resort. Rooms and grounds are very clean and well kept. Staff is super helpful & friendly. Location is great, walking distance to a lot of restaurants & gift shops, Starbucks is about 3 blocks away. Will definitely book our next trip in July here, can't wait to return! Thank You Dayton House for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Dayton House with a lovely balcony with ocean view,pools were plentiful and fun,walk right out to the beach and umbrella chairs with tables were useful and welcome.We went the week of Labor day weekend and were thrilled to have the beach not too crowded there.Pools had variety and can use all five.My only complaint was the very Hot tub,we encountered an eleven year old boy walked into the hot tub without a parent.I never heard of children being allowed into the Hot tubs anywhere before and had a very nasty mother who called the pool attendent. I recommend adding this rule for 18 and older as this can be a health risk.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best and view of ocean from my bed,we always enjoy queen beds,used an effiecen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked a beachfront "suite" on the spur of the moment. Got a great price, and read the good reviews. Our experience mirrors most written. The staff, from the front desk, to housekeeping ladies, to the bar tenders were all very friendly and helpful. Front desk was very responsive - our sliding door to the balcony was a little hard to open and close; one call, and a maintenance man was there within 10 minutes with a can of spray lubricant to fix the door.
The "suite" is more of an efficiency setup. You enter into the bedroom which contained 2 full-sized beds, a dresser with flat screen TV on it, chair and large closet - we would have preferred a single king or queen-sized bed, but we booked on Friday to arrive on Monday, so couldn't be picky. The bathroom is roomy, nicely appointed and CLEAN; solid tub and wall enclosure with good water pressure. the kitchen area is a galley-style, along the hallway between the bedroom and the living room, which is at the rear with full floor to ceiling windows and sliding glass door to the balcony which overlooks the lazy river pool, lawn with many tables and chairs and lounges and the beach. The kitchen is adequately equipped; full sized refrigerator and electric stove, deep stainless double sink, microwave, and a few cabinets - enough to get by if light cooking were your thing. The living room had a small dining table with four chairs, a love seat and a chair, along with a coffee table and another chest of drawers with a flat screen TV on it. The living room was a bit disappointing. the seating was not terribly comfortable and looked old. Carpeting was vacuumed but had some slight staining, apparently from wet swimwear.
Parking included 3 floors in the suites building, however the ground floor is limited to a few spots, and the upper 2 floors are severely height limited, great if you drive a car, not so much for anything else. Other wise plenty of parking in lots across the street, which is typical in this stretch of Myrtle Beach.
The complex has three swimming pools; an indoor one in the suites building (clean but a little cold), and indoor/outdoor at the far north building, and a zero-entry salt water pool in between. It appears to be new, it is the most popular, and it is very nice. Next to it is the Yella Umbrella bar and grill; drinks are decent (not watered down at all), but not cheap.There are also 3 or 4 hot tubs, and a heated lazy river. The indoor pool and lazy river could use to have their their floors cleaned, but otherwise were nice. The best part is that between the pools and the beach itself, the resort has large lawn areas with wooden tables with large yellow umbrellas and numerous chairs and chaise lounges. Be aware that these are in great demand; they are 1st come, 1st served, and people get up early to claim a table and chairs. Very nice, since they are free and are on a beautiful green lawn. Beats paying for the rental chairs and umbrellas on the beach.
The Dayton House resort is in a great location. It is just a bit north of the carnival-like downtown area, and is a much nicer area. There plenty of restaurants and bars nearby (my wife and I really liked "Dirty Don's Oyster Bar"), both accessible by foot or a short drive away.
Suggested improvements: I'd like the living room furniture to be updated and upgraded to look better and for comfort; Wi-fi is spotty - good in the bedroom, poor in the living room, while the cell signal is the opposite. The older pools could use to have their floors repaired or replaced and cleaned more often.
Over all, we were very pleased with out stay. Pleasantly surprised with how clean the rooms were, how great the outdoor areas were, and the great value overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront, the higher the floor, the better the view. If you have an SUV, there are four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST CHESTER
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We selected Dayton House based largely on TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. I rented a one-bedroom ocean-front suite for my wife (who likes to go to bed early and sleep late) and myself for four nights, and we enjoyed the ocean view from our balcony. The suite layout was great. We could sit in the living room and watch TV and the ocean or even sit on the balcony and watch the ocean and TV (not that we watched much TV). Entering from the hallway, there is first the bedroom, then a hallway with stove/sink/refrigerator/microwave on one side and bathroom on the other, then the living room that has a sofa (hide-a-bed I assume) and a Murphy bed, so I guess it could sleep eight, although eight would be crowded. We didn't spend that much time in the room, though. We spent a lot of time under the yellow umbrellas. One of the hotel's best features is the sizable lawn with umbrella tables between the hotel and the beach. The umbrella tables are "first come first serve" (somebody's grammar is weak), and people were putting out towels to reserve spaces at 7:30. However, in mid-September there were always some empty tables available.

The suite building (one of four) has parking on the first three floors, so it was very convenient to take the elevator right to our car. The parking lot has low ceilings; no vans or SUVs. There is also a bump at the top of the entry ramp that struck the bottom frame of our rental car twice before I learned to cross that bump at an angle. Parking for other buildings, and overflow parking, is in a lot across the street.

We weren't sure at first where to check in. There is no lobby as such, but the "office" is in the second building from the north.Hotel personnel were all friendly and eager to help with any problems.

The room decor is a bit dated and worn, but it is kept up. Common areas are somewhat industrial, not high-ambience. But quite functional. The kitchenette has dishes and flatware but no pots and pans, although there is a full range.

Be careful if smoke is a problem. Although it is supposedly a non-smoking property, people are permitted to smoke on their balconies and on the lawn. At one point smoke from a balcony was drifting through an open window into the hallway outside our room, and I thought the air conditioner would suck the smoke into our room. A hotel representative shut the window to the hallway, which seemed to fix that problem. We also smelled tobacco once or twice while seated on our balcony, and our yellow umbrella table one day was downwind from a chain smoker.

The northern end of the boardwalk is a 20-minute walk down the beach or down the street. Not next door, but also not too far to walk. There are a number of restaurants down on the boardwalk and others more close by.

If you're visiting Myrtle Beach, don't overlook "Broadway on the Beach," a huge entertainment center with many attractions, restaurants, and interesting gift stores. It's only a mile or two away.

The hotel was quiet, unlike some neighboring properties that had a noisy bar. Most guests i mid-September were older couples or families with youngsters. The kids in particular enjoyed the several pools.

Room Tip: Our 5th floor suite in the center of the building was fine, probably similar to other ocean-front su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed here many times through the years, and always enjoy our visit. There are a very large number of tables with yellow umbrellas on the lawn overlooking the ocean. You can move your chairs or lounges around your table to be in the sun or shade. The staff is always extremely helpful and courteous. The rooms are efficiencies, with facilities to cook if you choose.The Dayton House is well located, at 24th street and Ocean Boulevard. It is in easy walking distance of a River City Cafe (great hamburgers), Dirty Don's Oyster Bar, a couple other restaurants, and ice cream parlors. The walk-in pool is really nice, as are the hot tubs, lazy river, and the other pool. There are 4 buildings on the ocean side, one of which is a suites building. Another building is across the street. We highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are either ocean front or ocean views. We've never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.