We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Save Saved
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #27 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

They have a large pool that you can walk in gradually, large hot tub, sauna, lazy river, bar area, and an indoor pool. Swings for adults and kids to swing in. The lawn area has table and chairs with umbrellas and buckets for your trash. They own 5 buildings ocean front and they are family owned and very well taken care if. And also located in a good area to get to places to eat. Wonderful trip !!

Room Tip: We just like the main building (the one the office is in because we like the features we enjoy are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    496
    270
    105
    30
    37
See reviews for
412
225
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This facility is located on a nice wide section of Myrtle beach, a little removed from the redneck mobs on south Myrtle. Our suite was roomy with a great view. The front desk was courteous and responsive. The facility and furnishings are dated, but that is typical of hotels in this area and was reflected in the price. Just make sure you don't get stuck in the building across the street from the beach.

The internet wifi service is spotty. My wife and I could only use our Ipads close to the door to the hallway. The technology to correct this is so cheap now that it makes no sense and makes the facility seem even more dated than it is.

Both hot tubs looked too cruddy to get into.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The dayton House is a very nice hotel in the middle of Myrtle Beach. The yellow umbrellas are a great place to enjoy the beach without the sand. The room had been remodeled and was in very good condition. Thisnwasmmy 4 stay here and I will be back next year.

Room Tip: Angle view king has a view of the beach and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Based on stellar reviews and great rates, my friends and I booked 4 days at Dayton House in mid April 2013. We were not disappointed. Requested accomodations of ocean view, double queen with kitchenette were provided. The room was very clean, if a bit outdated, but housekeeping left fresh towels and made the beds each day, while attemping to make sense of the clutter that 4 girls bring.

Multiple pools and hot tubs, plenty of chairs and lounges, along with pool side drink and snack bar. The beach is very clean and since the hotel is towards the end of the action, failry quiet. It did get very busy on Friday evening and Satuarday, but we left mid day and it wasn't an issue.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We will definetly be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view in an End building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for our anniversary. We checked in and were suprised to be upgraded to the suites building. It was very nice. There was plenty of space and the room was clean. The pools were nice but make sure you don't forget to wear your band because they check constantly. The beach area was nice. Would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been staying at the Dayton House since I was a teenager and continue to go back, as so many do. So many people you talk to when you are there have been staying there for years and years! It it totally family friendly. It's clean and the staff is great, the beach area is great, the pools are great, the Yella Umbrella snack shop is great!

Room Tip: I always stay in an oceanfront room and I personally prefer the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Dayton House since 2008 and every year it gets better. We really enjoyed our stay during the Labor Day weekend (August 30- September 2). I really enjoyed the new Yella Umbrella poolside bar, which was not there the first couple of times we stayed. The drinks were wonderful. I was able to spend more time in the various pools and on the lawn under the yellow umbrellas. We always stay in the south building in an angled oceanview efficiency because we get a view of the beach and the street. The prices at the resort are cheap compared to the amenities that are available (lazy river, indoor pool, zero entry outdoor pool, indoor/outdoor pool, several hot tubs, huge lawn with chairs, tables, and umbrellas for eating, game room, gym, and swings). The rooms come with a full size refrigerator, stove, utensils, pots, microwave, and dish clothes The grounds are well kept, with easy access to the beach. I love the Dayton House and would definitely recommend staying at the resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, MyrtleBeachHotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.