We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with tempered expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% OFF Family FUN!
Ranked #34 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value with tempered expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here this past week staying with my wife, child, and inlaws. Booked this via Priceline on their express deals (went in blind) for $92/night 4 days out, so not bad at all. A friend of mine tried booking something 2 days out, but prices had doubled. It pays to find that balance between booking early (if it is indeed a busy time of year at a popular destination) vs. last minute in hopes of finding a fill-up-to-capacity deal.

The property is dated, but the staff (check-in, pool, area, etc.) was friendly and active. One deduction is that the cleaning staff did not clean our room the last two nights and didn't drop anything off either. Ran out of toilet paper and towels and had to request some. That said, the room and the resort itself were clean.

Parking "is what it is" in the sense that there's very few (5 or 6) spaces directly at the building (we stayed in the North building), with all other parking either across the street in an open lot or even further away in their parking garage. However, this is standard among the oceanfront properties where space is at a premium.

Pools were nice and it's right by the beach as well. Our balcony had an "angled view", but again for the money it was to be expected.

A/C unit was strange in that you had to set it to 65 in order to get the room comfortable. It worked though. Beds were reasonably comfortable and not stiff. Plenty of pillows too.

Our room had a small kitchenette with a stove/oven, sink, and a fridge. This was a nice perk to have for the price range.

All in all, not a bad stay. I've stayed at better and have stayed at worse. If I could rate it 3.5 stars, I would, but I'll round up to 4 stars. Again, just have to understand what you're getting. Not a bad place at all if on a budget and want to have oceanfront resort accommodations.

Room Tip: Very few "ocean front rooms" due to the design of the buildings. Most will have "angl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    386
    146
    51
    57
See reviews for
574
316
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at Dayton House Resort. Very convenient access to the beach, multiple pools and spas, and the umbrella tables lining the beach were a big plus. There was plenty of seating around the pools and in the grass area. Our daughter was stung by a jelly fish and The Yella Umbrella staff we very helpful and gave us malt vinegar packets and napkins to make vinegar compresses for her when we asked. We stayed in the South Building on the 7th floor and had a very nice view. The furnishings are a bit dated but the room was clean. Our only complaint was the condition of the mattresses. They were both very soft and broken down so we did not sleep very comfortably. Other than that, we would return for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a quick one night stay at Dayton House, but it was great! Check in was smooth sailing with Tasha, who was very friendly & helpful. We were supposed to be in their property across from the beach, but much to our surprise, we received a free upgrade & ended up in a two bedroom suite with an ocean view. We checked in early so while we waited for our room to be ready, we played in the pool & on the beach. Dayton House has several pools to play in & has really nice walkways to the beach. While not a 5 star resort, our room was very spacious, clean & comfortable. Dayton House is within walking distance to several restaurants & shopping. They also have a good size reserved parking lot & a parking garage for guests. We would love to stay here again on our next beach trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

we were on a budget this year so we decided to stay at Dayton House west. the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was fast and again staff was friendly and helpful. I had read other reviews on here that the rooms were outdated. I would say maybe a little but the room was very clean with no problems and the housekeeping staff always did a good job. we were in room 611 and actually had a side angle view of the beach from the balcony we were even able to see the fireworks put off by Broadway at the Beach. Never had a problem finding a place to park. The only thing that was a little tricky was that you had to cross one street to get to the beach but no big deal if you were careful. Clean lifeguarded beaches and access to pools and a lazy river. I would definitely stay here again . Thumbs up to the Dayton House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very nice, lots of pools. Very pleased with our room. We stayed in the west building and was pleased with it. The view from our balcony was great we had an angle view efficiency room. I would recommend this to anyone. I was worried before we got there if the rooms would be clean. There was no reason to have been worried. The room was clean, the bed sheets were very clean and they looked new! Kitchen area was well stocked with all we needed to cook in our room. We sat on the balcony at night and enjoyed the view of the ocean. Would recommend Dayton House to anyone! We had our 13 year old with us. He enjoyed the many pool choices, as well as the beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Dayton House and loved every minute of it! The sheets were very clean! House keeping did a wonderful job at keeping the room clean. the staff was very friendly. We stayed in the North building and had a angle view room, it was perfect. not a lot of noise to be heard from the pool area or anywhere else. we had a great view from our balcony. would recommend anyone to give Dayton house a try. We will go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This resort was very nice, with several pools and easy beach access. We could always find a chair, and a lifeguard was positioned on the beach at either end of the resort. The Yella Umbrella pool side bar/cafe had really good frozen drinks, and they were affordable. Parking was great, and even if you have to park across the street near the West Building, it is only a block walk. Check in was a breeze and my elderly mother did not walk well, so they put us near an elevator, but we still had a lovely ocean view and very little noise at night. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating, but upon arrival, there was a lot of hair all over the shower/tub, there were stains of something nasty on the wall (that could have been wiped off), and the television had been sprayed with what looked like an exploding soda. I realize that cleaning the room mostly entitles clean sheets and towels, but seeing nasty stuff like that really turned me off to the cleanliness of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#22 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#46 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakers Resort North Tower
Breakers Resort North Tower
#35 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.