We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #40 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great value, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here recently as a family of four and were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations. The resort is in a great location - right on the beach in a not too busy area that is close to the new boardwalk, SkyWheel and Broadway at the Beach. The room was spacious enough for us, with a little table for eating meals and lounge chair next to a little end table where you could read or watch TV. There was also a nice balcony with 4 chairs and a nice view of the ocean/beach. My 9-year-olds had a lot of fun at the saltwater pool - which didn't irritate their eyes so much as chemically treated ones - and appreciated the relatively shallow water. We also tried out the lazy river, which was nice. My only complaint was that there weren't many items to cook/bake in - just a couple of large saucepans, and that's it. But we still managed to eat breakfast in the room every day and lunch another day because of the microwave and full-size refrigerator. We got an excellent rate on Priceline, and would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    308
    123
    39
    46
See reviews for
459
262
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent 7 nights in an OceanFront Suite which slept 6 comfortably. The amenities were excellent. The location was perfecrt. I enjoyed being close enough to the Boardwalk and Broadway on the Beach to expereince them but far away from it to be able to enjoy the quiet. There is limited parking in the suites building but we had no problem with getting a space every day. I visit MB every year and will be making Dayton House my new place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a great resort but beware you may be across from the beach and not on it. Web listing do not state that the West building is across the street. Web stated that we had an ocean view room. The only way we could see the ocean was by going to the very end of the balcony or leaning over it. For this reason I did not give a 5 star review. Had an efficiency in the west building, very clean. Staff was very friendly and available. Had a problem with the refrigerator and they promptly replaced it. Plenty of pools with yellow umbrellas. Easy access to the beach. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayville, new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Dayton House was on the ocean, had read previous reviews before booking. We choose the ocean front room for 5 days. This was a great choice, we had a private bedroom with 2 queen beds, and a pull-out in the other room for our grand-daughter. The kitchen was set up well, and towels provided each day without any problems. There is a diner across the street and a discount was provided if you stayed at the Dayton. We flew in to Myrtle Beach, and of course cannot bring chairs and umbrellas, but there were plenty of "Yellow" umbrellas and tables on the property for everyone. The had 4 pools, hot tubs, and a tiki bar. We were very impressed with the hotel staff, very friendly and received good advice in January to change our room to the ocean front area. Beautiful view and the sounds of the ocean was great to just enjoy each day of our visit. We will return next year!

Room Tip: .ocean front room suite side, larger room, and a wee bit quieter at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First and foremost you can get an excellent rate on priceline, much cheaper than the rack rates. Front desk staff was awesome, very friendly and helpful, if i could remember the ladies name that checked us in i would put it on here, but my memory is slipping me...

We got a west side efficiency, although it is across the street the room was very spacious, and if you look out the side of your balcony you can see the ocean, so save some $$$ and check out these rooms. Beds were probably the softest we've slept in, kitchenette had everything you needed. Loved it had an actual kitchen table, not a small desk, etc, so cooking in the room is an affordable option.

This resort has awesome amenities, Lazy river, indoor/outdoor pools and several spas -- plenty for everyone to enjoy. Definitely will recommend, and definitely will return... Kudos all around!

Room Tip: Save some $$$ look into the west side efficiencies! Across the street with a side view! ALSO check p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel was on oceanfront, had a full kitchen and friendly available staff. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy. We could walk to the boardwalk and we were located across from a very affordable diner which served excellent breakfast. The hotel has plenty of tables with yellow umbrellas at the beach for their guests to enjoy along with pools for when the ocean gets too rough..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were quite large with a small, dated, but adequate kitchen. The place is older, but I think most are on the beach. Having carpet in the room is a little gross IMO, especially with all the sand likely to be brought in. Great value, pools were nice & clean.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.