We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Most!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #39 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better Than Most!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel looks like a lot of the others - but it is better. Clean, nice pools, friendly workers.... and the kitchenettes are nice to have. Would return if I was ever to come back to Myrtle Beach. I think I've had enough of Myrtle Beach though,.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    305
    122
    38
    45
See reviews for
458
258
26
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had an end unit facing the ocean. Big unit, clean, price was great for the huge room. Full kitchen stocked with dishes, pots and pans, silverware and glass ware. Had a great view of the ocean from the bedroom window. Murphy bed and sofa sleeper in living room area. Big balcony right on the ocean! Staff was great. Would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: End (corner unit) has a bedroom window that you can see the ocean from bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnacle, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My parents had recoomended the Dayton House as a great, yet economical place to stay, and I'm glad they did. We loved the various pools, hot tubs, being right on the ocean, and being able to walk to most everywhere. Having the kitchenete was wonderful, because we saved so much money by not eating out. Also, the front desk staff and housekeeping staff were so very nice to us, and answered all of our (many) questions. We will be staying there next time we go to the beac.

Room Tip: We stayed in the South Building, which put us in the middle of all the pools and hot tubs. But, sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been vacationing at the Dayton House for several years now. In my opinion, it is a great value for the money. Although some of the buildings are a little older, they are very well maintained and given the attention you would expect from a local, family owned resort. Rooms are always clean and the housekeeping staff are very courteous and attentive of the guests needs. The front desk staff are also very professional and concerned about their guests visit. My family doesn't look for another vacation resort. In my opinion we have found the best. I rate them A plus!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front is great, but the angle view rooms are more economical and also offer a pretty good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We last stayed at the Dayton House 40 years ago as young, married parents and returned this year as retirees. We recognized one building from the past but they've added several more. Parking is across the street, but in April traffic was not a problem. We had a one room oceanfront efficiency. The bathroom was tiny (only room for a toilet and tub) and the sink was outside beside the closet. We didn't try to cook in the kitchen but the supplies were adequate for simple breakfasts and lunches. April was cool and I wish there were additional blankets in the room (next year I'll just bring my own). We were above the snack bar and beside the elevator; we were worried about noise but we never heard anything from either. Walking on the beach was wonderful but we really enjoyed sitting on the lawn where there are plenty of chairs, "yella" umbrellas, and tables. It was wonderful not to have to lug chairs to the beach and running back to the room for breaks or snacks a breeze. "Resort" can be misleading if you're expecting spas, golf, etc. but they do have at least two hot tubs, a sauna, an outdoor pool, an indoor pool, and indoor-outdoor pool, and a lazy river. All seemed to be heated. We discovered Harry's just a block away where we went for breakfast a couple of days. (Appears to be where the locals eat). In summary, loved staying at the Dayton House, will definitely return, and will pay extra for the oceanfront room. April at the beach was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here and it won't be our last. The rates in April are really good and weather was very nice most of our week. Oceanfront efficiency was spacious and equipped with a full refrigerator and stove. Only recommendation would be for a screen on balcony door as love the breeze but worry about curious birds! Carpets could use replacing and we were lacking a comforter and a few dishes for some reason but it didn't affect our stay. Walk downstairs ( we were in the South Building) and you can go right out to the outdoor pool, chairs and umbrellas on grassy area (provided by Resort) and then short path to beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have to say I was a little hesitant when I chose this hotel but I am very glad that we stayed at the Dayton House. We had an Oceanfront King Suite which had a nice comfy bed with a view of the ocean, fully equipped kitchen, nice bathroom and a separate dining/living room area with a balcony looking out onto the ocean. There was also an in room safe and two t.v.'s one in the living room area and the other in the bedroom area. The room was large and very clean something we really appreciated. The mattress had a cover something else that we liked. The pools were nice and warm and clean. We really liked the lounge chairs and umbrellas with oceanfront view. There wasn't any problems getting chairs for us. The staff was very professional, accommodating and courteous. They maintained this hotel very well. This is hotel is not new but our room had granite counter tops in the kitchen and in the bathroom and a nice granite top coffee table and the bathroom was very clean and great water pressure. We would definitely go back because we liked the location, walking distance to everything and there is lots of free parking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the Suites Building with an ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.