We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-2013 vacation Dayton House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #41 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3-2013 vacation Dayton House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we always stay here. they are so friendly and the place is clean and quiet. i had asked them to save me a sunday newspaper (for the coupons) and Tasha was kind enough to go out of her way to do that for me. I was impressed that they did this request for me. they are very family oriented. pools were clean. grassy area was neat and clean. they even mowed while we were there. that is why Dayton House is our "home" when we travel to the beach.
We have stayed at some rather unsavory places in the past. So glad that we discovered the Dayton House. the location was great. we were there the weekend of a classic car show and it was only two blocks walking distance from the hotel. Great fun, can't wait to go back again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    309
    123
    39
    46
See reviews for
459
263
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Park, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in what I believe they called an angled ocean view efficiency. This room reminded me of the type of rooms I would rent back in my college days (the 80s). The room was quite small and the bathroom was claustrophobic. I would find it very trying to spend more than a weekend in the room.

The place was clean except for a bit of mildew around the edges of the tub. The carpet was new. The view was fine. The pool facilites were very nice...a big, warm pool and more. The grassy area was lovely and I spent some time sunning there. The location was good, too.

Room Tip: Our room, #627 in the north tower, had nice sun from early afternoon on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is nice and quiet. It's on the main street, but not in the heart of the craziness. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very well managed and the internet pics are just as they are (little yellow umbrellas, etc). I read the reviews on trip advisor and they were pretty good, so I decided to give it a chance and we really enjoyed our peaceful stay. We stayed on the 16th floor, an awesome view of the ocean. The housekeeping staff were nice and pleasant and willing to accommodate you. The beds were comfortable as well. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They have I believe two or three buildings. We stayed in the Suites building and I didn't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent ten nights here in March after having learned about this place from some friends. We were a little unsure at first as it is an older property in a busy part of the beach and we weren't sure what to expect. But we saw good reviews on Trip Advisor and it looked like very good value so we went for it. This is a very well managed resort. What impressed us most was that despite it being an older property, the housekeeping and maintenance staff are doing a great job keeping everything clean and pleasant. Plus there have been recent upgrades such as granite countertops and updated furniture. Although we didn't use the pools much, partly because of cool weather, we found the pools to be very nice and in excellent shape, with lots of places to sit both beside the pool and out on the spacious lawn, which is a special feature of this place and unusual along the beach. As it turned out, we really liked the location. We enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants (Sea Captain's House, Dirty Don's, Starbucks, etc.) and of course along the beach. There is plenty of parking. Attractions are very close by. This place isn't fancy, but it has a lot of nice features and we had a very enjoyable stay. We were a couple, but we think this would be a great spot for families, and we did see lots of kids around. I want to repeat that the staff, especially the housekeeping and maintenance staff, are doing a great job.

Room Tip: There are five buildings in this complex, so you have various options regarding rooms. Take the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

my sons high school came to myrtle beach for a baseball tournament .we chose not to stay in the same hotel and for the 2nd year chose the dayton house ...this year we had other parents stay at this hotel and they were so happy ...very clean and well maintained and away from the goings on south of us ....we love it here and will be back ...very relaxing with families with children not teenagers running around....love your place keep up the good work

Room Tip: try to get an upper floor to see the beach ..we were in a side ocean view and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent one evening in Myrtle Beach while on a road trip and stayed at this location. The hotel has several buildings and we ended up inn one not on the beach - which was fine as we were arriving late and leaving early. The room was large and included a kitchenette. I found that the bathroom was awkwardly small considering the size of the rest of the room.

We experienced some trouble with our room key, which was frustrating as we had to take the elevator down, cross the street and up a block to get to reception, but it wasn't that big of a deal. Wifi at the hotel was free and great.

I think this would be a great spot for longer stays in the area as well, with the kitchenette being a great feature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed in South Building of Dayton House...It was awesome. We usually stay at Seacrest Hotel, which is further up but this was surprisingly much more nicer. I only paid 218 for three nights! The amenities are awesome, the grounds are clean. The pools are clean...as well as the jacuzzi. The staff are polite, prompt, professional...I could go on. The yellow umbrellas next to the ocean are cute and perfect....Oh, and the snack bar, that serves adult beverages was a plus! Bottom line, what is advertised is an understatement.. This is a nice hotel for the price..they could easily charge more if they wanted to! DAYTON HOUSE..YOU ROCK!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.