We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Save Saved
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #32 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Glenville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After spending six weeks at the Dayton House in the fall, we returned for another six weeks between January and February. Even though the weather was cooler than the year before, we certainly enjoyed spending time walking on the beach and taking advantage of all the amenities offered by the Dayton House for their "snow bird" visitors. As always, we had a wonderful time renewing friendships with other hotel visitors. The outstanding staff of the Dayton House makes us feel ike we are truly welcome in our home away from home. We love the Dayton House!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    289
    112
    34
    43
See reviews for
442
235
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a great family resort. It is close to the beach. It has a nice kitchenette so u can cook or go out. It's nice to have the option. It is in walking distance to many shops and places to eat. There is a nice indoor and outdoor pool. A great jacuzzi. There are three buildings one right on the beach but all the rooms at least a side view of the ocean. The staff was very accomendating to my desire for a room on a higher floor with the best view. I traveled alone and I still enjoyed the stay. My room for the price could have acommendated at least 4 people. I would come here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Only good things to say about our one night stay at the Dayton House. Got a great price on Priceline. Arrived two hours before our check-in time and still able to check in early. The check-in process was very efficient and fast! Luggage carts are available and parking was right outside. We had an 8th floor room with an ocean view. The large room was decorated nicely, it was very fresh, clean and updated. A pleasure to walk into. There was a small kitchen area. Bathrooms were nice, really good towels too. There was a table and 4 chairs if you wanted to dine in your room. The room had a nice sized flat screen. Internet was great. We didn't use the pool, but were very impressed with it's style. (Not sure how much I 'd like it with little kids, seems to be an infinity type of style) but for me, I'd love to sit by it. The interior hot tub was being re-grouted, but the outdoor hot tub was running and looked nice. Temp. was good. The beach area looked nice, but since it was cold and we were also working, we didn't get a chance to enjoy it. Check out was equally efficient!
We would return there in a heartbeat. This is one very well-run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The Dayton house was a great place to stay in myrtle beach, we enjoyed it a lot, stayed two nights. March weather was kind of cold, but we saw two shows, Carolina Opra and pirates voyage. They were both good i shows. Hope to stay at Dayton house sometime soon .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Dayton House is a family owned business and not just a cookie cutter resort. I stayed in a suite with a large bedroom, living room, kitchen, and nice balcony overlooking the ocean. The room was clean and the housekeepers were very friendly. The front desk staff was fast, efficient and courteous. I was in town on business and found the room gave me plenty of space to work and relax. I would recommend this resort for both families and solo travelers as it is also walking distance to dining and attractions. I will be back soon!
P.S. Breakfast at Uncle John's Restaurant (the property's restaurant) was tasty, fast, fresh, and VERY reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The Ocean View Suites have their own tower, indoor pool, and sauna. They are the largest rooms but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

our heater was not working and a very pleasant maintenance man replaced it immediately. It was comfortable and clean with functional appliances. we would definitely return. The beach and pool were lovely

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have always spent February (and our anniversary) at the Dayton House since our retirement, and have always been given the most friendly service anyone can ask for anywhere. The facilities are perfect for long or short stays, but you can't beat the beachfront suites anywhere on the Grand Strand. The entire staff treat everyone like royalty. The housekeepers are the best anywhere. Thank you, Carla! Management plans the most fun activities for their "snowbunnies", we all keep coming back. My husband and I visit several times a year, when the four walls start cosing in. We recommend the Dayton House to everyone--Families, students, golfers or travelers.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.