We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice economical beach location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Save Saved
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #27 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice economical beach location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Dayton House is a series of hotels and efficiencies on beach row in Myrtle Beach. The location was perfect for our soccer tryouts for the Myrtle Mutiny Soccer Team. The beach front area with tables, chairs and umbrellas is lovely with wandering pathways between the hotels. The series of pools and jacuzzis are great. The rooms are clean and well maintained, the kitchenette is great for all your snacks and food. They had a coffee maker, toaster, microwave, full size refrigerator, stove with oven, some pots and pans and dishes ( although our room did not have silverware ) The free parking is under the hotel or across the street. I am sure it may get hard to find parking in the summer months. Overall, this resort provided more value for the cost. It is worth paying for the semi ocean view. From your balcony you have a great view of the ocean. For the lower price you could end up across the street. We would definitely use this resort again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    496
    270
    105
    30
    37
See reviews for
412
225
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boisbriand, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

very good place to go with my wife and my 2 children nice staff ,clean room highly recommended they change my room after 3 days for with 1 ocean view nice sea hot water.i will go back to this hotel in summer 2013

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the king oceanview in February and it was very clean and roomy. Very nice ocean view. It snowed on Saturday and it was so pretty. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dayton House Resort on Fri February 15-17. It was a great experience the suite was spotless the the service was excellent we will definately stay there again! We were on the 16th floor which made it even better! The view was awesome!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and extra helpful, and room was excellent. Bathroom was kind of small but well maintained and clean. The view from the balcony was great. Recommend to everyone and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is definately on the older side. Being the end of January, it was almost completely vacant. Be aware that an oceanview room is not a straight-on view of the ocean. It is a side view room where you can see more hotels than beach. However, I wouldn't say their description is inaccurate, just maybe a tad misleading. The hotel staff were friendly, but we never saw anyone on the property other than the front desk personnel. There were heated pools, but they were definately too cold for my likings. Everything looked a little run down, and even if the pools were hot enough, I probably wouldn't have used them. All in all, not a bad place at all. The location is awesome. The rooms are okay, and the property is fair.
One word of caution about noise: even though the hotel was almost empty, I was awakened several times a night with what I figured out was the neighbors downstairs opening and closing their balcony sliding doors. The soundproofing needs work, but if you aren't there to relax (which many families aren't), it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravian Falls, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Dayton House for several years now. It is the only place we stay when visiting Myrtle Beach. We love all the amenities, the location, the family atmosphere. A very relaxing and wonderful place to stay during your Myrtle Beach vacation!

Room Tip: We love the angleview effeciency rooms in the South Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, MyrtleBeachHotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.