We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF
Ranked #41 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dayton House Resort on Fri February 15-17. It was a great experience the suite was spotless the the service was excellent we will definately stay there again! We were on the 16th floor which made it even better! The view was awesome!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    308
    123
    39
    46
See reviews for
459
262
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and extra helpful, and room was excellent. Bathroom was kind of small but well maintained and clean. The view from the balcony was great. Recommend to everyone and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is definately on the older side. Being the end of January, it was almost completely vacant. Be aware that an oceanview room is not a straight-on view of the ocean. It is a side view room where you can see more hotels than beach. However, I wouldn't say their description is inaccurate, just maybe a tad misleading. The hotel staff were friendly, but we never saw anyone on the property other than the front desk personnel. There were heated pools, but they were definately too cold for my likings. Everything looked a little run down, and even if the pools were hot enough, I probably wouldn't have used them. All in all, not a bad place at all. The location is awesome. The rooms are okay, and the property is fair.
One word of caution about noise: even though the hotel was almost empty, I was awakened several times a night with what I figured out was the neighbors downstairs opening and closing their balcony sliding doors. The soundproofing needs work, but if you aren't there to relax (which many families aren't), it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravian Falls, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Dayton House for several years now. It is the only place we stay when visiting Myrtle Beach. We love all the amenities, the location, the family atmosphere. A very relaxing and wonderful place to stay during your Myrtle Beach vacation!

Room Tip: We love the angleview effeciency rooms in the South Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are loyal dayton house visitors and decided to spend the holidays at the beach. We took extended family with us, and the kids , ages 11 , 12 and 13 had never seen the beach. They were blown away by the hotel amenities and the ocean. They generally had the run of the place, as it was the holidays and typically not a beach trip time of year. They kept telling us this was the best Christmas of their lives, and were already planning a summer trip before we even left to return home. Never ever had a bad experience at the dayton house. The rooms were updated with a flat top cook range and as usual, the bathroom was clean and the beds and pillows were super comfy.The oceanfront room view and balconies are outstanding.

Room Tip: The yella umbrella was being renovated for a bigger space in spring 2013 and we are loooking forward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My mom, sister and I decided to take my 3 year old nephew to the beach for the first time, just for the weekend. I had just stayed at Dayton House about 4 weeks before this trip and loved it! We asked for the same room I had before and got our request with no problems. The front desk staff is always helpful and friendly, as well as, the rest of the resort staff. The rooms are clean and the kitchenette is wonderful. The hotel grounds are kept up extremely well and are very clean. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Dayton House the weekend of Jan 18 to the 19. The rooms, hallway and outside was very clean and nice. We picked this resort for the reviews and price. It was right on the beach. We had a side room, which was nice, we got to see beach and the strip. A nice place across the rd to eat and get a discount if you stay at the Dayton House. The boardwalk wasnt far and alot of fun stuff for all ages. We will be back this summer for sure :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dayton House Resort, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, we strive to provide our guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. We have over an acre of oceanfront lawn filled with yellow umbrella covered personal picnic tables. Each table has four chairs and two lounges, creating a wonderful beach front setting for our couples and families. Add to this another acre of oceanfront pools and decks, including Myrtle Beach's first walk-in, overflow swimming pool, an indoor pool, an indoor-outdoor pool, three indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a kiddie pool and a lazy river, and you will understand why guest have been returning to the Dayton House for over forty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.