We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dayton House Resort to your Saves list
Dayton House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% OFF Family FUN!
Ranked #37 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have been staying at the Dayton House for at least 15 years. We would stay no where else. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Dayton House is convenient to Coastal Grand Mall, Broadway at the Beach, restaurants, and various other attractions. I love to walk to the Pavalion from the Dayton House and the new boardwalk is just great! For your money, you can find no other accomodating hotel as the Dayton House!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Manager at Dayton House Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive feed. We strive to give our guest a great place to relax and enjoy Myrtle Beach. Thank you again and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    363
    143
    48
    57
See reviews for
547
307
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

For third year stayed at the Dayton House to attend the Bluegrass Festival at the Convention Centre. We have an angleview king efficiency in the South Building on the 7th floor and the view of the surrounding areas is great. We leave our vehicle and walk to the convention centre so parking is not a problem late at night. Everything we need is within walking distance. All staff we had dealings with were friendly and helpful, we would not stay anywhere else, will be back again next November. This hotel offers an excellent package for the bluegrass festival

Room Tip: Have stayed in the same room so cannot comment on the other buildings but I am sure they are all as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
418 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were in Myrtle Beach for a trade fair and stayed at the Dayton House mainly for the location plus the price...the room was great ..good beds, clean room & bathroom..nice kitchenette we didn't use but was nice to have fridge & coffee maker plus enough coffee to make 4 cups a day.
we had a angle view room but could see the beach from the bed and the balcony was great..faced west so got afternoon sun which was great on a 70 degree day..but maybe not in summer!..there was about 6 non handicapped parking spaces under building and more across the street but we always seemed to the the last close one each time we came back.
We had a 9th floor room which let us see the beach over the nextdoor bldg...all of this for $44 a night too.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor in either the North or South tower for best view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Location is perfect for the convention center. They also live up to their "family" message. As i get older my taste for a more "mellow" place to stay has changed (note to under 30 readers i would have avoided this place when i was going through the 70's if you know what i mean) Great little internet room,great staff and clean clean clean everywhere. The back is beautiful with lush plants andoveral just a very nice place to camp out for a few days. The only tiny teeny negative is that with aproximatly 4 or 5 building combining to make up Dayton House- thats a lot of rooms and people and with them they have cars.Parking is everywhere but it does get a little hectic late and you may have to park as far as 2 blocks away.But nothing is always perfect i guess

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had an oceanfront room with 2 queens and kitchenette. The view was beautiful, overlooking the pool area. The office staff was very personable. We have stayed there before a few years ago and would stay there again. It is family oriented, and close to the convention center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had an extremely satisfying stay at the Dayton House Resort. My first recommendation is for people to plan their visits in the off season, because you will enjoy the best parts about an oceanfront hotel with none of the crowds and excessive heat of the summer season. I stayed there with my boyfriend for a wedding and an extended visit in November; there were sunny 65 degree weather days and refreshingly cool evenings.

The hotel room itself had plenty of large windows and balcony doors with views of the ocean. The balcony was a treat for sunrises and listening to the ocean waves at night. The bedroom and living room were furnished with comfortable beds, lots of sitting and table areas and two televisions. Enough closet spaces throughout the entire suite. The bathroom and kitchen might be smaller than you'd expect, but you wouldn't want to spend too much time there anyway, when you can relax on the murphy bed or sit out on the balcony, or lay in the main bedroom and gaze out the window.

I was really impressed by the layout of the hotel rooms, and they maximize their buildings to give every guest as much view of the ocean as possible, and to take advantage of their great oceanfront location. I've read about people complaining of the parking areas, but I'm not sure what people can expect given how crowded the entire oceanfront of Myrtle Beach is, and how the trade off is that you can have a great room with a great view and stroll right onto the beach. Don't be afraid of some exercise and walk one or two short blocks if you must visit your car.

I recommend this hotel, not only for the location and room quality, but also for the very kind and helpful staff and cleaning crew. I never had an issue, and the rooms were maintained on a regular basis. There were great recommendations for where to eat and visit in Myrtle Beach from the staff. A truly great vacation experience indeed. Bonus: fast elevators!

Room Tip: Try to request a corner room in the suites building; you will have a bonus window in your bedroom, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm City, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I decided to go to Myrtle Beach for the Christmas Program at The Carolina Opry. This trip was to celebrate her 65th Birthday. I asked the customer service rep if there were any special offers. She explained that there was a package available through The Dayton House Resorts. We had a favorite hotel where we usually stayed, but decided to try something new. Really glad we did !!! Top notch view from our 6th floor balcony. Room included a kitchenette. Every resort employee we encountered was top grade. Very friendly and offering assistance should we need any. Most comfortable hotel bed I have ever sleep on. Our room was first off the elevator...NO NOISE! I now have a new hotel preference in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Ocean View 6th floor or above. Great view, very litte noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#22 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#46 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,030 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.