We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About Par for the Course on Buffet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hook's Calabash Seafood

Hook's Calabash Seafood
1902 North Kings Hwy., Myrtle Beach, SC
843-626-6889
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 700 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“About Par for the Course on Buffet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Start with the positive..... service was good+, salad bar was good+. Now the rest of the story. Buffet food was cold, broiled food was kind of strange tasting, wasn't cheap ($20+)...... Won't go back. Enough said.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    55
    24
    15
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, but typical of eat all you want places.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The food was average, with a buffet that was a little over-priced in our opinion. The atmosphere was just so-so. I would not go back; it is too much like all the others. Nothing special.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go if you love crab leggs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I had a coupon for this restaurant in the Monster coupon book. After reading the reviews and hearing about the price of $26 per person we decided to combine lunch and dinner to take advantage of the $6 off and go between 3 and 4pm. We got there a few minus before to see a sign that said they were closed and opened at 4pm. The door was open and the waitress said they just changed their hours and are accepting the $6 off coupon at that time. The waitress was so friendly. She said they were not officially open yet but she would still seat us. We had to wait a bit for everything to be brought out to the bar but we knew it was fresh. All of the seafood I had was excellent. Including the calamari and fried grouper. I know that it says steak on the sign out front but don't bother. Even the dessert was really good. They had a peanut butter pie that so light and fluffy and delish. It was great for $20 per person.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Me and my partner ate at this restaurant on September 21 2013. It started out well until i made a salad and found a long black hair in my food, not to mention they ran out of crab legs and the ones we did get were cold! Dont waste your time or money on this place you will be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A seafood buffet that's worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Through the years, we've eaten at the large, more popular seafood buffets in the area and always find some things we like and some we don't. At Hook's, we really liked many of the items and found very few we didn't. The peel and eat shrimp was very fresh and very good, and they had fried calmari that was tender. Scallops, mussels, flounder, shrimp--all excellent, and the vegetables decent. They also offer BBQ pork and ribs, chicken dishes, pasta and even pizza. Some of the desserts were very good and some so-so. Our server, Jose, was a stand out--we never had to ask for anything and he was a gentleman in every way. If you're considering a seafood buffet in MB, give Hook's a try. Not a 200 item line, but one that emphasizes quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hook's Calabash Seafood also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hook's Calabash Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hook's Calabash Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.