We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton to your Saves list
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Beach Club Drive, Tower 2, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $79
Ranked #33 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Nothing but good to say about Royal Palms. We were three families staying for 10 days or so. I am just going to ramble:

The condo's are privately owned and some are managed by Hilton and others are not. THis may account for the discrepancy in the units' qualities mentioned by other guests. We went thru Hilton website and got the two units. Both were very large oceanfront 2 bedroom condos. Full kitchens which is a must on long stays with children. Inside-condo laundry too. Oceanfront is just that. Oceanview means you have to go out to the balcony and lean over or sit at an angle. Unless you are on the higher 6 floors, your view is mainly the Hilton to the north and another condo tower to the south. Attached to the 2bedroom condos was a single guestroom with no kitchen etc. They have interconnecting doors. SO 2-3 friendly families can share very very easily and cut the costs big time.
Condos' quality was excellent. Clean and well kept. Flat screen TV in main room. Regular TVs in the bedrooms. with cable of course. Internet is extra and very slow in spite of claims to being highspeed but I did not take a laptop and could not care less. There is a free business center with computer and printer in the Hilton.
Kitchens were fully stocked.
The restaurant is in the HIlton. Never used it. MiniStarbucks at the Hilton too.
Royale has a wavy shaped pool and a smaller sandbottom pool for kids and a jacuzzi. Hilton has a pool too. We used both places.
We were visiting right after season so it was not crowded at the pools or beaches. Also, if you rent thru Hilton, you will have access to a great small waterpark and lazy river for kids. Since it was not crowded, nobody checked on eligibility and anybody could use it.

The beach is fantastic both the sand and the ocean. Renting chairs and umbrella from the city will cost you 30 bucks. You can buy the whole set from nearby Walmart for the same price. We are from LA area and the beach and water back in Myrtle Beach are much much better.

I really cannot think of a downside of staying at Royale Palms especially those with kids of any age.

Additional tips:
Myrtle beach seems to be shopping center after strip malls etc along the two main roads there. Hwy 17 and 17-Business. So dont expect a cute downtown type place

Alligator farm is a must go with or without kids.

Broadway at Beach is a major 'happening place' at night. Very big and will take almost half a day if not more to go all around it. Key West Grill has a nice patio and good food. Recommend for night dining. BUnch of clubs for the youngish crowd at night. Other restaurants too.

Market Common: very nice and civilized place to go and eat and walk around and browse stores. Travianos italian place was excellent.

Rioz steakhouse is a must. half the price of LA brazilian steakhouses. Staff took our kids to tour the kitchen.

Not into country music so did not do any of the vegas style country music shows.

Children's museum was surprisingly good. Science oriented. Lots of fun even for us adults.. Only thing to do on a rainy day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    120
    58
    24
    9
See reviews for
209
173
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winston-salem nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend getaway at Myrtle Beach and have nothing but good things to say about the Royale Palms.

Arrived around 3:30 on Friday afternoon and check-in was relatively quick (less than 10 minutes). Our room was ready and perfectly clean with enough room for 2 (stayed in the oceanview guestroom). The oceanview was better than expected from our balcony on the 6th floor. The bedding and linens were high quality and very comfortable. We also enjoyed the pool facilities, very clean and the DJ in the afternoon was a nice touch.

A couple of neutral/negative points:
Housekeeping: They probably won't clean your room until late in the afternoon and it's just a quick run-through to replace towels and make the bed. Also, my bf did complain that there were no in-room movie options and the AC unit was very loud. But these minor things did not affect our overall satisfaction.

If you have been disappointed with the cleanliness and the overall atmosphere at other MB properties, I would encourage you to check out the Royale Palms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly,VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just got back from Myrtle Beach......stayed in a 2-bedroom oceanfront the first week of August. We were extremely pleased with our accommodations.......the condo was tastefully decorated, quality furniture (Thomasville, Kincaid) -- granite in the kitchen and bathrooms. We had an awesome view......the condo had plenty of natural light......it was nicely maintained....and, it was clean.

Within earlier posts I had seen complaints about rooms not getting cleaned or parking issues. We had no problems with getting maid service on a daily basis.....plenty of towels....and, no problems with parking. We opted to self-park our vehicle for $7 per day.

I felt that it was bonus to be attached to the Hilton Hotel....we got to leverage their pool and beach bar......and, by booking directly with the Hilton.....we also had access to Kingston Plantation (along with the Water Park).

This is an awesome property....looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We were at the Hilton Kingston Plantation Resort for a wedding and stayed in the Royale Palms condominiums. While the room was very spacious...the balcony was just so so and the view was pretty bad. There were 3 hangers in the 2-bedroom condo with 5 closets. Upon arriving, 2 out of 3 of the 2nd bedroom's light bulbs were out. Fresh towels were not provided every day...actually just twice during the stay despite putting out the "Freshen Please" sign on the door. Key cards were extremely sensitive. No salt or pepper in the shakers provided and no paper towels left for use. These are usually items that condos will include.

Did we have a good time? Absolutely. But those little items do tend to grate on your nerves. The condo was decorated in a very hotel room manor with uncomfortable furniture. Wish it would have been just a little more homey.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but the food at the wedding was very good. My husband cannot eat gluten and they provided him with a steak (albeit slightly overdone), a baked potato and veggies. We were just happy to get him fed. :)

We got to the beach a couple of times and it's crowded like you would expect in a resort area. The beach is very nice though with lifeguards on duty.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My husband & I stayed at the Royale Palms from July 11-16, 2009. Overall we had a very nice vacation and would return to Myrtle Beach. We were in the Royale Palms but not in a condo...we booked a standard room which is basically a hotel room on the Royal Palms side. Driving from PA, we arrived at approximately 4 pm, which is the hotel check in time. We were told that our room wasn't ready and to return in approx 15-20 minutes. We decided to explore the hotel, have a drink at the pool bar and waited a full hour to return to the front desk. Told again that the room wasn't ready and they could not tell me when it would be ready. I am a Diamond member and asked if they had anything else we could have and was told no. The front desk clerk told me she would take half off of the first night stay and $20 off for each additional night. I said fine and we went to dinner. Returned at 7 pm, room was ready. When I double checked the rate the front desk supervisor told me that clerk checking me in was not authorized to make a rate change, at which time I had to argue to get the discount previously mentioned. She finally gave it to us. So, our stay got off to a rocky start. However, the hotel is lovely and has several restaurants, including an outside pool bar that sits overlooking the beach. We loved this but drinks here are pricey. $4 for domestic drafts and almost $10 for mixed drinks. Pools were nice and clean but crowded. We do not have children but there were alot of families staying here. Hilton staff also had activities for the children at the pool. We had a few lunches at the pool bar but ate all other meals elsewhere. Pool bar menu is small but the food is decent. The room had a king bed, mini-fridge, large bathroom and bacolny with ocean view with a table and chairs. It was nice to sit on the balcony at the end of the day relaxing with a cocktail. Besides check-in, the other issue we had was with housekeeping. We would be gone all day, come back to the room to shower and it still would not be cleaned. Then, housekeeping would show up to clean at 4 pm or 5 pm while we were trying to get ready to go out for the evening. We had to call several times to get the room serviced and honestly, it looked like all that was done was changed the sheets and towels and maybe vacuuming. I would recommend it for the value ($160/night before our discount) and location right on the beach, with a warning to everyone that service is hit-or-miss. Also, arriving on a Saturday is a nightmare - it was packed with people trying to check in. Ocean Annie's beach bar is walkable - about 1 mile away on the beach. Cheap drinks and live music there. Flip Flops bar is also across the street from Ocean Annies. They had a James Taylor/Jimmy Buffet-esque singer there one night who was pretty good. Went to Broadway at the Beach two nights. Cab from the Hilton is $50 round trip so if you are not drinking it is definitely better to drive. Also would recommend a place called the Sea Captain's House for dinner. Good seafood, nice atomosphere and overlooks the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury,nc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I went to the beach with my fiance' and we enjoyed ourselves at the Royal Palms. My experience was a good one, it felt like I was home away from home. I did not want to leave, the bed was soo comfortable. I think I enjoyed the room, more than the beach. The hotel staff was nice and helpful, the breakfast was good, also it was peacful throughout my whole stay. I must say that the stay was alittle costy for most of the part . Like parking is $7.00 per day, and they charge you for local as well long distance. I can understand the long distance charge, but local. That is just retarded to me. That was the only downfall about the hotel was their incedental charges, which is a $30 deposit when you arrive at the hotel. Other than than that, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royale Palms in Kingston Plantation. Our unit (2002) was a 3 BR 3 BA, it was nicely appointed and very, very spacious. Our 10 yr. old enjoyed his own room and our 18 yr. old daughter stayed in the "studio" portion of the condo. The master bedroom was enormous. The oceanfront view was incredible. The Royale Palms is connected to the Hilton and the staff was extremely helpful. They recommended a great local seafood restaurant and even printed out coupons for us. The pool area is one of the nicest in the area. Plenty of lounge chairs, the water was clean, and its only a few step away from the beach. This is one of our favorite resorts and we plan to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton

Address: 10000 Beach Club Drive, Tower 2, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton have a great north Myrtle Beach oceanfront location. The stylish Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, condos are located within Kingston Resorts, and are near many of South Carolina’s major attractions such as Broadway at the Beach, Myrtle Beach House of Blues, and Tanger Outlet Mall. Allow our Hilton staff to assist you with tee times at any of the 100-plus Myrtle Beach golf courses outside the gates of our Myrtle Beach resort. Relax at one of our nine resort pools, or choose to work out in our Sport and Health Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Palms Condominiums By Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hilton Myrtle Beach
Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.