We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2007 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%!
Ranked #56 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staff was very nice and helpful. Had 2 bedroom 2 bath condo on 19th floor. Clean and nice. Great views. Pools were clean. Grandkids loved heated lazy river. Very nice overall. Would go back again
no problems sleeping. Couldn't hear neighbors or people getting off the elevator

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    102
    34
    25
    21
See reviews for
219
49
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay. The 1 bdrm condo oceanview was wonderful. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfy and it was quiet as you don't hear your neighbors. The pools were good and access to beach was easy. We would recommend this resort to anyone. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My family and I have stayed at over 12 resorts in the MB area. This one is my new 2nd favorite. We had a 2 bedroom condo on the 17th floor. Overall we really enjoyed everything and we will stay here again.

Here are the positives (as compared to other 2 br suites) I noticed:

~ bathrooms are connected to the bedrooms
~ hallway/2nd bedroom bath was large
~ linen are good quality
~ kitchen is huge
~ double oceanfront balconies were great
~ elevators were fast
~ corridors are glasses in so not noisy
~ sofa & side chairs were nice quality

Here are the not as positive things I noticed:

~ dining table only seated 4 (not big enough for this size unit)
~ recliner was very "worn out"
~ no alarm clock in 2nd bedroom
~ no DVD player in master bedroom
~ no hair dryer in 2nd bathroom
~ no ice bucket in kitchen
~ carpet was pretty worn around the doorways
~ dryer didn't function correctly (took 90 minutes to dry a few items)
~ mattress in 2nd bedroom were VERY firm
~ if you need extra linens, plan ahead because I had to wait 2 hours for towels

These are all specific the this particular unit and will not keep us from staying here again. The one big negative was the very tight parking deck which I was aware of before our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here through VRBO, private 3 bedroom room. It has 3 bdrms and 3 bathrooms. A full kitchen and laundry, a huge balcony too. The property has a lazy (semi-indoors) river with a pool, a baby pool and 1 hot-tub. Then out in the sun it has a large (cold) pool with a baby pool area. I think if I was here in a busier time they would need more hot-tubs. Everything seems clean enough, and close to lots of entertainment and stores and restaurants. Gym is adequate ans seems better than most at these type of places. There is a games room, and snack/feed shop and gift shop on premises.

Room Tip: rooms up to 6th floor can park on same level avoiding the need to use elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accident, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in a 4 bedroom condo on the 9th floor from August 12 - 17, with 14 to 16 of us throught the week. The view was great, the location is in the southern end of Myrtle Beach, very close to the airport--which was convenient as we had to pick up different family members who flew in 3 straight days. The condo was clean. The front desk was very helpful. They let my sister in early when the smaller room was clean. My boxspring was broken, and they had maintenance there quickly.We did have trouble with our keys not working after a couple of days, and had to have maintenance check it out. Somehow they were being keyed wrong, he told us as he said nothing wrong with the lock but the keys they gave us did not work, and back down to the front desk we went. If you have a problem with one you have to have all rekeyed. It was hard to track down 5 keys when one stopped working. And there is a different key to the lockout room, so that caused confusion as well. The condo had not been updated as others have mentioned, no flat screen tvs, carpet a little worn. But we were very happy with it--did not need fancy, just comfortable. If going again, I would request a few floors higher as our side view was blocked by the building next door. Also, the parking garage while convenient was tight, and my brother in law sideswiped his van on the wall trying to make a tight turn when a large suv did not back up to give him room. The beach was convenient, and the pools were nice as well. I was so glad we found this hotel. We booked through their website, but the front desk answered my questions when I called to follow-up.

Room Tip: Above 11th floor if you are on the left side facing the ocean, to have an unblocked view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had previously visited Myrtle Beach in June 2012 for our god daughter high school graduation. We liked the Myrtle Beach area and checked out a few of the hotels along the beach. The Grand Atlantic was one of the hotels that stood out. They were very nice about giving us information on the property and letting us check out one of the rooms. My husband and I decided that we would come back to the area to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We visited September 14th through the 18th. The room was very clean and we had a beautiful view of the ocean. The resort had a family feel. It was very relaxing. Only problem we had was that the bed was kind of hard. All in all a wonderful stay. We plan on going back next year and staying at the Grand Atlantic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

In September of 2012 my wife and I wanted to get away for a long weekend with our new baby and her two grandmothers. We had been to Myrtle beach a few weeks before and had not been happy with our last hotel. We looked around the web and found the Grand Atlantic. Worried that there might be a bait and switch like the last place we booked my wife called after I had booked a two room condo, to ask if the rooms were really as nice as offered on the website. The desk person was helpful with a promise that the rooms were really nicer than the website showed. When we arrived I prayed that the rooms were nice and I would be able to look look my mother and mother-in-law in eye. When we arrived, and checked in, we were blown away! Not only were the rooms amazing, there were three of them, and three baths! Someone had blessed us with an upgrade! That little kindness assured we had a wonderful weekend, and the Grand Atlantic has new customers for life! We're already planning our next trip down! It's so nice to not have to play hotel roulette, we have a winner and so could you!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Address: 2007 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grand Atlantic Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.