We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time better than the first” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$69 a night breakfast
Ranked #13 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Second time better than the first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I just returned from my trip to Myrtle Beach where I stayed at Paradise Resort. I previously stayed at Paradise Resort in 2011. Below are my observations.

-ROOM----I stayed in Room 905. It was an oceanfront King room. The room had a bedroom area, kitchen area, bathroom, living room, and deck. The room was very clean, spacious, and had an unobstructed view of the ocean.

-BREAKFAST BUFFET----Included in my room price for a small fee. Food was good. Service was outstanding.

-POOL AREA----Very clean and family oriented. The pool area was busy but not overly crowded.

-PARKING---Avoid the parking garage attached to the building. Park across the street in the lot.

-TV/INTERNET/PHONE----This was the only area that was disappointing. The 2 TVs in the room were both tube televisions. I found this to be ridiculous in the year 2013. When the wireless did work...it was VERY slow. My phone only worked in one section of my room.

-AREA OF THE RESORT----Need a car to get everywhere. Somewhat rough area with shady characters across the street, but they didn't seem to bother anyone.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your second stay. We certainly appreciate your comments. The televisions are being phased out and over 3/4 of the building is complete. The wireless system is another item that we are looking into upgrading in 2014. Once again, thank you for choosing Paradise, the staff and management look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    344
    114
    49
    31
See reviews for
567
324
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haw River, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked this place sight unseen. We stayed Friday through Monday and were very happy with our accomodations. Clean, friendly staff and lots to do. Many activities if you have small children. We received breakfast vouchers for two free breakfast buffets for each morning we were there and the food was better than expected. Staff at Sandal's Cafe was always very friendly. Beds were clean but pillows were lumpy, so take your own like I do. Good water pressure in the shower and always had hot water when we needed to shower. Beaches are clean but packed with people. You can rent chairs and umbrellas by the day ($15 I think) and there were life guards on duty. No weird smells throughout the resort just the smell of bacon and eggs cooking in the mornings. Would highly recommend and will stay there again.

Room Tip: We had side view room but next time will book oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and kind comments. We are actually in the process of replacing all of our pillows with a premium more durable and comfortable pillow. Thank you again for staying and recommending Paradise to others. The staff and management look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom, ocean front room. It had a full kitchen and washer/dryer, which was wonderful to dry our wet clothes and towels. We arrived early so we completed all our paperwork, got parking passes and they called us when the room was ready. We could have stayed at the hotel the entire time, there was a lot to do. We have an 8, 16 and 18 year old - and they all had a great time. The breakfast buffet at Sandals restaurant was WONDERFUL - and Saturday night, the hotel grilled steaks and salmon by the pool area. Everything was extremely clean, the grounds were well maintained and food/drinks are reasonably priced. This is definitely a family oriented hotel so if you do not like to be around kids, don't book here. Overall review - very reasonably priced, clean - and ALL the hotel staff is courteous and helpful! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor - less time spent in elevator traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Paradise. We certainly appreciate your business and feedback. Your comments will be passed on to the staff. Once again, thank you for choosing Paradise, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked room cold online. Resort exceeded all expectations. Customer friendly from front-desk to janitorial staff. Constantly cleaning. Restaurant very nice. Rooms very clean with excellent ocean view. Swimming pool and other water rides; DJ spinning dance tunes with lots of takers. Highly recommend this resort!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 3BR condo. Had 2 baths. TVs in every room. Nice balcony. Elevators worked very well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Paradise. We are excited to see that you enjoyed the resort and you will recommend to others. The staff and management look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What cant you say about this resort. From the front desk check-in/out, to the rooms to the pools, to the ocean front balcony, to the clean beach and perfect temp water....Beautiful!!!! The check in was fast and painless, even got a room on the 19th floor to see everything possible as requested. We had a 1 bedroom place with full kitchen, washer and dryer and balcony with a ocean front view. No problems with the room except the queen beds seemed to be a little small and hard for my taste. The pillows were flat an had to put two together to make one regular pillow size. The kitchen was perfect for a nice meal to help save $$. If you are going to cook a big meal bring some cooking dishes. Its equipped with the basic dish and cooking ware. Small dishwasher, will have to wash big stuff by hand or multiple washings. The TV's in the rooms need to be updated to flat screens, but we were not there to watch much TV. The bathroom is spacious and lots of room with a closet in for more clothes space or what ever. The view from the balcony up and down the beach was beautiful. Especially the sunrise. The beach is only a few steps away from the resort deck and pool area. Cant say a bad word about the pools, lazy river or hot tubs. There is a tiki bar located by the pools for food and drinks through out the day and evening. Restaurant's very close by and walking (1 1/2 miles) to the water park and amusement park the sits between north and south Myrtle. Its located in a very quiet and low vehicle travel area that is nice. It has a parking deck attached and a parking lot right across the road. Either is easy to park and get out on the road. I'm glad that we stayed here and will be staying here again. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There are only 4 elevators, could use 1 or 2 more but with patients in the busy morning and afternoon you can get by with little waiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing Paradise. We appreciate your business and feedback. We are in the process of replacing the televisions and have about 90% of the building complete. Once again, thank you for your recent stay and feedback. The staff and management look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I bked this place for 5 days with an ocean view room but there was only a o.v. if you wanted to hang over the balcony.We cked 2 rooms and ocean view was the same.This is more of a kids resort not for couples with no kids, They did refund our money but don't tell someone over the phone that these rooms are o.v. I wanted to see the ocean not the side of another building...

Room Tip: they consider o.v. rooms with a side of a brick wall looking at you.I suggest you get a O.F. room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent reservations. You are correct, there are a few ocean view rooms that make it somewhat difficult to see the ocean. These are just a few of the ocean view rooms, Ocean View rooms have some what of an obstructed view in any resort, Ocean front will give you a full unobstructed view of the ocean. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the view. If you choose to revisit Paradise please reserve and oceanfront room. I am confident that you will be happy with your room and other areas of the resort. Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our reservationist was very helpful with getting us a good price. The location is perfect and the resort is family friendly. The reservationist was friendly, courteous and professional. He made us feel that we were his only customer. The pictures and video on the internet is great. The suites look beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Paradise. We certainly appreciate your business and feedback. The staff and management look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort

Address: 2201 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyrtleBeachHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Myrtle Beach
Paradise Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.