We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I needed to be dipped in sanitizer upon leaving” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View on the Boardwalk

Save Saved
You added Bay View on the Boardwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay View on the Boardwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off + Free Starbucks
Ranked #30 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Vass, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Felt like I needed to be dipped in sanitizer upon leaving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I know you can't expect too much of the high rises on the beach. They shuffle people in and out like cattle but this hotel was horrible. From the arrival where there was no room to pull in and load bags (had to schelp them a long way), no one to help get in the door, check in girl being inept and the 20 to 25 minute wait for the elevator EVERY TIME we wanted to go up or down, this was a nightmare. The lazy river was too small for a mouse, the pool water was always a nasty color and had things floating in it, everything smelled of old smoke or some other smell we couldn't identify, and upon check in and turning down my bed, there was a long, black hair on my pillow. All in all this was definitely one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in and I certainly won't do it again. ICK!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVMGR, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologize for your poor experience. As you can see from the other reviews listed, this is not typical of our resort. We are currently hiring additional staff to assist with the flow of traffic in our loading zone, as well as shuttling guests to and from our parking garage. Also, we have a project scheduled for the middle of September to add an additional elevator to our building.

I hope that you would consider giving Bay View on the Boardwalk another chance, especially after the completion of our upcoming renovations. If I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    331
    130
    72
    85
See reviews for
593
289
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Was very impressed!! This was my first time staying here and it was wonderful! Only complaint is that i wasn't informed of the security deposit before my arrival!!! Otherwise my stay was GREAT!!!! Loved it

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

It's rewarding to know that you found your first visit to Bay View to be so impressive. We work tirelessly to guarantee our guests' satisfaction. I apologize for the lack of communication regarding our security deposit. If paying with cash at check-in, we do require a $100.00 security deposit for incidentals, which can be returned to you upon check-out.

I'm happy this did not ruin your overall experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had a great first trip to myrtle beach, the view from our balcony was awesome. The room and cleaning staff were great. The area is close to the boardwalk sky wheel and stores. Could use a snack shop or grill onsite besides the Starbucks. Thankful you need key card for garage because area is not to welcoming after dark. Overall great time.

Room Tip: Ocean view balcony the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We are pleased to know that we were able to make your first trip to Myrtle Beach such a great experience! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I spent some time with friends in Myrtle Beach at the end of March. We wanted to be somewhere close to the boardwalk without being too close to the boardwalk. Bay View was an okay choice. The room was nice, clean and had everything we needed. The price was excellent for the time of year - we priced several hotels and this one was the best value for the amenities offered.
The indoor pool area had a very over chlorinated smell, but all of the doors and windows were shut so there was no real ventilation. We didn't swim, just walked through on our way to outside.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for Bay View on the Boardwalk!

Unfortunately, like most resorts with indoor water features, there is a delicate balance between maintaining warmth in the winter months while still sufficiently venting the odor associated with the chlorinated pools. I'm happy that this did not ruin your overall experience.

We look forward to serving you during your next visit!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend, booked a suite which was in the top floor. Great morning view of the beach and sunrise from our balcony. Rooms were fairly spacious. Beds were a little on the hard side. Walls between rooms are very thin, could hear knocking and noise from the families on either side at all times of day and night. Elevators were pretty scary, and VERY slow. During peak season it must be horrible. There are only 3 elevators for 20 floors. Everyone gets tired of waiting for them and pushes the buttons for each elevator in hopes to shorten the wait, but they are all separately programmed, so you end up stopping at every floor with no one waiting any longer. Very annoying and time consuming. Elevators seemed very old and noisy.

Lazy river is very small & usually overrun with children, not a place to go to relax. Plenty of lounge chairs with and space outside to relax.

Place has definitely seen better days, it's old and rickety, but they do offer a great view right on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Top floor suites on beach side offer great view, but you'll end up waiting longer for the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We apologize that the resort did not meet your expectations. We are fully aware of the issue associated with the elevators. We have already received approval to build a fourth elevator and construction will begin in September of this year! While the entire resort was just constructed in 2007, it is our goal to keep the resort competitive and up-to-date by upgrading or replacing the furnishings and amenities as needed.

I hope that you consider giving Bay View on the Boardwalk another opportunity to be your beach holiday destination, especially following the completion of our renovations! If I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was very impressed that the hotel offered a free admission to Medieval Times as well as free admission to 2 other amusements. Housekeeping was great and respected the do not disturb. Any request made was promptly seen too. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again for vacation. I enjoyed its location and was able to take a walk and enjoy the sites. The little grocery stores in the immediate area where helpful with having 6 on a vacation. I just loved it.

Room Tip: I choose a one room suite with oceanview-it was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

In addition to unlimited free DVD movie rentals, our DVD Now promotion also grants one free admission to various local attractions. The types of attractions differ based on when you are visiting.

Again, thank you for the review and referral. We look forward to serving you during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I loved this place cant wait to return beautiful place very clean staff was excellent and despite having a nearly full capacity hotel the staff was always availible and very timley in response to any needs i had I would recommend this hotel to the president.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for Bay View on the Boardwalk!

We sincerely appreciate the referral, and we hope the President will accept your recommendation. We look forward to serving either of you during your next stay!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View on the Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.