We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most honest review of Bayview....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View on the Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bay View on the Boardwalk to your Saves list
Bay View on the Boardwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Off Summer
Ranked #34 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
HILLSBOROUGH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most honest review of Bayview....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My family and I went back to Myrtle Beach after a couple years hiatus. Last time we were here we stayed at the Dunes village resort (also a wonderful place) but this time we were late in trying to book a room and all the available rooms were booked for the week that we wanted. After doing a lot of research I found that BayView had the accomidations and needs we wanted and looked for. We Stayed the week ofAugust 18TH to the 25TH
.........Now on to the review........

THE PROS..... Very friendly staff, They were very accomidating, since we didn't arrive til almost 11PM. Even though people complain about the elevators, I never found the wait to be so unbearable that It was considered an inconvienience. ( BTW we stayed on the TOP FLOOR! )
Maria, Our housekeeper for the week, always came at the same time and was always as nice as could be.
The small 1 FT deep pool is ok, and the 3-4 FT Pool is nice for a relaxing short swim. The lazy river is also nice, just wish it was a little bigger. Free movie rentals (one @ a time) was also very nice. only once when I first arrived did i have a need to ask the front desk for more pillows, after that there was never any issues. We booked a 2BR 2 BA condo. The Weds night 2nd peir fireworks were very easily seen from the oceanview side of the hotel.

THE CONS......Parking across the street isn't really that bad since it is secure. Most of the hotels in the area have off site parking anyway.
Check IN/OUT time can be a little hectic with the elevators, but like I said after a day or so, you know When/Why you might need to wait just a little. No restraunt on site, But it's not like there's not 500 restraunts well within driving distance ( may I suggest thorny's)
If you plan on eating in Be prepared to bring a cookie sheet, if you wanna bake something (like fries) and a small bottle of dishsoap, they do provide dishwasher soap, but personally I prefer to handwash my dishes. Other than that, I just wish they had a deep outdoor pool for the adults.

Would I and My family stay here again?.....ABSOLUTELY.
Would I reccomend it to Friends and others?......ABSOLUTELY
Would I say, That NOT everyone Who goes There has as great a time as I did?.... Probably, but remember People are only human............... sometimes management may have their hands very full that day, housekeeping may be Very far behind, People may be checking IN/OUT and you may have to wait a min longer for an elevator. Other than that, I had a wonderful time at the Bay View Resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayViewMOD, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear metal153,
Thank you for staying at Bay View and leaving a great review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the two bedroom condo. It is also very pleasing to hear that you encountered a friendly and helpful staff. We are always working hard to ensure all guests receive a quality standard of service and are able to simply enjoy themselves while staying at Bay View. Thank you again for the review and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    430
    163
    91
    92
See reviews for
693
387
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My family and I stayed here along with another couple in a different suite. After reading the reviews we anticipated challenges with the elevator. The rooms were great, nice appointed. The issue started with our bathroom toilet stopping up. It occurred right before we went out for the day. We called down to the front desk and advised of the situation. When we returned after being out for 7 hours, the toilet had never been plunged. When we called the Front Desk they were apologetic and sent the Security guard who said we need to handle it as it was not his job. What a great impression on our second night. On the third and fourth days the cleaning crew never came to our rooms. When we called the Front desk they apologized each time and we had to deal with a 'half cleaning by the evening cleaning crew. Based on all the money we spent we were not happy by the series of challenges we continued to endure. Did I mention our friends who stayed in a separate condo also had challenges with getting daily cleanings??! So the straw that broke the camels back was on Day 5 the hot water stopped working and the pipes rattled for deal life. Again inconvenienced we had to wait for the buildings engineers to come. They came and replaced the shower head (who knew that could be the culprit) - the hot water was back! However, only for a few hours as it went out again and we had to have the engineer come back and work on the unit for another few hours. Total time spent waiting and complaining really dampened what should have been a great fourth of July week. For the inconvenience, Steve the manager agreed to refund us for one night and give a free complimentary return stay. I received the credit; however, I have been unable to get the credit in writing or a return phone call for 4 months. Really disappointed by false promises to get you out of the lobby so that others would not hear your complaints. Would not recommend staying here if you are looking for a hotel with integrity and free of issues. Take our issues and couple it with the slow and hot elevators equals up to three days of loss time on this vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayViewMOD, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear ATLTravel2013,
Thank you for choosing Bay View. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had experienced during your stay in July. Although it sounds like we attempted to make this right, I understand you did not receive your gift certificate in the mail. We keep sound records so please contact us so we can correct this for you. I am unable to do so without your personal information. Feel free to contact myself (Aaron) at 843-626-0000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We took advantage of Bay View's Winter Special for Veterans' Day Weekend. Our last stay was not that great during Spring Break, but the deal was good so we decided to give them another chance. So glad that we did! We had a one bedroom condo on the 10th floor. Our daughter really loved the pools, especially the hot tub. Everything went very smoothly. DVD rentals were a nice plus as well as the coupons to area attractions. We took advantage of the SkyWheel and the mini golf pass. I loved that Starbucks could charge orders to the room. Good to know for future visits. My only comment was that the pool area could be a little better monitored by staff. It got quite unruly during one afternoon but it was short lived. Also, I did not see everyone with armbands in the pool area. But overall it was a great stay and our daughter really loved the pools. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayViewMOD, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear merangel99,
Thank you for choosing Bay View. We are glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed our indoor pool facilities and that you took adantage of our DVD Now rental program as well as the free passes associated with it. We are pleased you chose to return to Bay View and look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here from Nov 9 to Nov 11 (2013) with my wife and daughter (3 and half); it was awesome. Rooms, oceanfront view, kitchen, hotel staff - everything was just perfect. My room was 'Oceanfront condo'.

BTW - Weather was more than warm in the late morning and noon.

Room Tip: If you are habitual of staying barefoot in your house; you perhaps can't do that here; floors we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayViewMOD, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear ShrihariKulkarni,
Thank you for choosing Bay View and leaving us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be "perfect" from the room to our staff. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a oceanfront room with king bed. The view was nice and close to all the attractions on the boardwalk. Rooms were a little old but overall clean quiet and comfortable. Easy walk to several restaurant's and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayViewMOD, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear nacardavid,
Thank you for choosing Bay View. We are pleased to hear that you found our accommodations to be clean, quiet and comfortable. We hope to have you back next time you are in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We returned to the Bay View early November and, once again, had a wonderful stay. We noticed that upgrades had been done with new bedspreads and new chairs in the living room of our 2 bedroom oceanfront condo. The condo was clean, had flat screen TVs and the beds were very comfortable with thick, fluffy pillows. The addition of free DVD rentals was a definite plus. The management and staff do a wonderful job.
Having read some of the other reviews, it's important to remember that these condos are individually owned and some owners update their condos while others choose not to do so. ASK when you make your reservation or at check-in.
Yes, the elevators are a bit slow - not so much a problem in the off-season. We like to stay on the 7th/8th floors because we have a great view, but are still low enough to take the stairs if we want. The property is right on the Boardwalk and the views are spectacular - the SkyWheel to the north and the 2nd Ave. Pier to the south. The condos are spacious and have washer/dryers and dishwashers in them as well as a fully equipped kitchen. If you prefer a room rather than a condo, the rooms are smaller but still have a coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator. You still get a fantastic view!! With regard to the Parking Deck and the condition of the area buildings, I have been visiting Myrtle Beach for 50 years and love it for what it is!! It should not be a negative for the Bay View that some of the older buildings still exist in the downtown area. The Parking Deck is a one block walk away - it is secure and clean. Granted, it is a nuisance when the "Key Card" does not work - hopefully, that does not happen a lot (we have never had it happen to us). We love the Bay View and look forward to returning there.

Room Tip: Oceanfront so you can take advantage of the views of the ocean/Boardwalk - when you make your reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayViewMOD, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear luvNorthMyrtleBeach,
Thank you for choosing Bay View and leaving a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your condo as well as the oceanfront view. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had never been to the beach in fall, so I was looking forward to going for my birthday. This was our first time to the resort and the reviews were over all good. We loved it! We had a 2 bdrm oceanfront condo and it was amazing! We were in room 1106. The balcony view was wonderful. The kitchen had everything we needed. The bathrooms were huge. The whole room went above and beyond. My family really enjoyed the pools and outside water play for kids. Everyone we meet on the staff was great and so helpful. We will be returning to this resort again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayViewMOD, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear staryful7,
Thank you for choosing Bay View. We are glad to hear that you had a great time during your fall visit. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your condo and that you encountered a friendly and helpful staff. We look forward to having you back the next time you venture to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View on the Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.