We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View on the Boardwalk

Save Saved
You added Bay View on the Boardwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bay View on the Boardwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% OFF SUMMER
Ranked #34 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Bennettsville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at this "new" property was definitely not what we expected. First hour, roaches in the kitchen cabinet. Each and every day (for six days in a row) we spotted more roaches and this was even after the kitchen was sprayed for bugs. (Did not understand why the entire room was not sprayed instead). Second day.....safe locked up and needed to call in someone to fix it. Toilet ran constantly (unfortunately, this was not repaired). Therefore, we just took the top off of the tank and made sure that the rubber stopper was completely plugged after each flush.

Parking garage was secure and clean. Although, during the short walk there and back, several beggars took full advantage of the patrons. Staff was always friendly and quick to respond to our needs.

Pool area was nice, but would have been much more convenient to have had more than one Jacuzzi with the number of guests at this time of the year. (January 13-19, 2013).

Is right on the Boardwalk so was a very pleasant stroll to and from the shops, arcade, beach front, and restaurants and bars.

Overall, on a scale from 1-10, I give it a 4.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Linda D.
Thank you for staying with and us for your review of our hotel. I do apologize about the issues that you encountered during your stay and assure you we take them very seriously. We have a contract with our pest control to treat each room quarterly. We did go ahead and contact our pest control company to treat your room the next day. I assure you this is not a good representation of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool area and our location on the boardwalk. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will consider us for your next vacation to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    249
    108
    67
    80
See reviews for
506
256
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
laurel hill nc
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Once again i have had an excellent stay at bay view resort. We stay there at least twice a year. The rooms and staff are the best at the beach! Started to the beach on the 6th had car trouble half way there had to go back home. Called the hotel and the rebooked my room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMgr, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear wterryt,
Once again, thank you for staying and for your review. We are very happy that you have chosen us as your destination in Myrtle Beach. Sorry to hear you had car trouble, but quite pleased that our reservationists were able to accomodate your unfortunate change in plans. We hope to have you back as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A beautiful and very clean hotel.A great location beside all the activity.Has a gated and locked parking garage one street behind the hotel so your car is safe.All doors to the outside are locked and key activated.The whole hotel is very clean and new.The staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMgr, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear nbb 123,
Thank you for choosing Bay View and for the wonderful review. We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be clean, safe, and in a great location. We especially like to hear that you found our staff to be friendly. Thanks again, we hope to host your next trip to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Love everything about this hotel. The few times we have gone somewhere else, we regretted our decision. Great layouts with plenty of space. We had 6 adults in our group and had lots of room to spread out. Fantastic view from our ocean front balcony! Was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Would love to come back during the summer some time.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the north side give you a great view of the sky wheel which is lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMgr, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sue S,
Thanks for staying and your subsequent review of Bay View. Great to hear that your party had plenty of room to spread out, and you found the accomodations quiet, clean, and comfortable. We would also love for you to come back during the summer! Again thanks for staying, and for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I love this hotel. The check in was super fast and very friendly. Hotel was very clean and staff was awesome. This was our second time here. They even put us in the room we stayed in for our anniversary and I didnt even have to ask. So sweet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMgr, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear beachgirl87,
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you found the hotel and staff accommodating. I am pleased to hear that the room we placed you in bore such significance to you. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be your destination whenever your travels bring you back to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just back from a week at Bay View between Christmas and NewYear. Wonderful time and a great value. Right on the Boardwalk and Ocean, the best of both worlds. And with the indoor pool, lazy river and jaccuzzi ..... what is their not to like? We had a large, well kept two bedroom condo on the second floor. Great location, you can walk down one flight to Starbucks and then work it off in the gym just steps away from our room. Location, Location, Location.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor, you use the front balcony that wraps around the workout facilities and jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMgr, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Tom M.,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the indoor pool, lazy river and jacuzzi. I am also glad to hear that our spacious two bedroom condo was a perfect fit for you and you were able to enjoy all of the amenities and the location that Bay View has to offer. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting your vacation on your next trip to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed this past weekend at the Bay View. Got a great price but................ Our check in went fine . Got to our room. Was very nice, 1 bedroom, full kitchen, living room/dining room combo. Noticed the carpet was dirty, like someone does not know how to vacuum. There were crumbs by the sink, no coffee, dish detergent or kitchen towels. My husband went to main desk and they were able to get us some of those items. Again on Saturday, the carpet did not looked vacuumed, but everything else was fine. Bay view is in a terrible location, nothing good around the area, but mom & pop small motels. No restaurants, just a terrible view. The pool/hot tub was very nice, very clean, so there something good about the place. This was our second stay there and won't be returning anytime soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMgr, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear DonnaSandford_NC,
Thank you for staying with us, and for your review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced as our guest. I have taken the liberty of discussing your concerns with our Director of Housekeeping. We do not leave coffee in the rooms because we have the Starbucks in the front of our building, but we do have coffee available upon request at the front desk. I can assure you that Bay View is in a safe location despite to appearance of the surrounding area and we have 24-hour security. I am glad to hear that you found our pool and hot tub to be very nice and clean. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to host your next stay in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Resort Myrtle Beach
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View on the Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.