We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vancouver Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vancouver Motel to your Saves list
Vancouver Motel
2601 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
central Ohio
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My daughter I spent two nights here and it was great. It's amazing that you can still get a beachfront room with a private balcony and kitchenette for $65 a night. The motel is old but charming. The clerk (possibly Mark?) greeted us enthusiastically when we arrived and made sure we would enjoy our stay. Almost everything in the room (314) worked well and we slept comfortably.

It's a pet friendly motel but we didn't notice any unruly animals or any pet odors in the room. The oceanfront rooms are absolutely worth the $15/night premium. The windows don't open, so since we were on the third floor we left the door to the balcony open and fell asleep to the sounds of the waves on the beach. Someone set off fireworks for about 10 minutes one evening but that was the only other noise we heard. The beach was safe (regular patrols after sunset) and uncrowded.

The only minor problems we experienced were with the shower, which leaked onto the floor even with the curtain pulled inside the tub. Also, the shower head is old and needs cleaned since deposits make the water spray out (or not) unpredictably. And beware that the water temperature changes quickly without warning.

Here's why it was much better than I expected. While planning our trip we noticed some reviews here or elsewhere that mentioned problems coming from the property next door. I checked Google Streetview and saw what looked like a dumpy rent-by-the-hour no-tell motel just south of the Vancouver. When I made the reservation I expressed concern, and Mark told me that the dodgy motel had recently been torn down, and that the only trouble we might get from that property would be possibly hearing some equipment hauling debris away. When we got there we were relieved to see that he was correct, and the building was no more. Actually all three former motels just to the south were in various states of demolition, and whoever had been frequenting them had disappeared. We never heard any noise, but admittedly were not at the motel during the day.

We're still amazed that we could have such a great stay in Myrtle Beach for less than half what the other hotels were charging. Everything we wanted to do was a short drive away, and since we didn't take the trip just to sit in a motel all day, we were very satisfied. Looking forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: 3rd or 2nd floor oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
34
31
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this motel. It was super clean although it is dated,. If you are looking for a lot of amenities or a high end hotel, this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for a budget friendly and quiet motel a few steps from the beach you should consider this motel. The staff is friendly as well.I rented a room with a kitchenette and it had a full size refrigerator, a stove and a sink. There were pots and pans, plates and cutlery for us to use. The room was bigger than I expected. It was in a nice location. It was a short drive to the main boardwalk and amusement park. All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Oceanfront balcony room with all the comforts of home ! Close to everything and the friendliest staff I've ever encountered. We will definitely return. If you re looking for a clean room without all the bells & whistles ( gym, hot tub, etc) this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

First let's start with the pros- Mark the owner is really great and super nice. The rooms were clean. The view from the third floor was great. Here are the cons: the beds are so so- the phone did not work in our room nor did several power outlets which wasn't great. If you want an ocean front room here's a tip- third floor is the way to go. A first floor room will see nothing but an ugly sand dune which blocks the ocean view completely.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn W, Manager at Vancouver Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We strive to make every guest's stay an enjoyable one and we are very sorry that you had some issues with the room during your stay.

As for the outlets and the phone not working, there are usually a couple of easy fixes for these. Once we are made aware of an issue, we try and mend it right away.

In the rooms, the wall switch must be in the 'on' position for the tv and lights to work as well as any other appliances which may be plugged in. The housekeeping staff cleans behind the beds where the phone jack is located. It may have been accidentally dislodged as this happens occasionally.

We hope this doesn't discourage you from staying again in the future.

Thank you very much,

The Vancouver Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Motel had immediate beach access. It was clean and inexpensive. Parking lot is right outside of the rooms. The bed had a top sheet but no blanket. I don't like using the bedspread as a blanket. Boardwalk is a short drive down the road.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the office are closer to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a good time the first week of April. The hotel has been there for a while but they were constantly working getting ready for "season" while we were there. There was construction going on next door which was a pain but the owner did his best to make us happy. The pool was clean but cold. The rooms have tile floors, which is great at the beach. The toilet in our room reminded me of the toilets at a preschool....had to squat to get on the toilet...I am 6'3" so maybe it was me, lol. The staff was super nice and the housekeeping staff really kept everything clean. My wife noticed they were laundering the bedspreads, something we have never seen before, anywhere, nice. You have to make sure you ask for a kitchen if you want one because the pictures may not match the room you are reserving. There are no elevators but only two floors and only a few true "oceanfront" rooms. All rooms have "outside" entrance doors that face the ocean at an angle, no interior doors. Had to pack stuff around the window to keep the light out at 5am every morning. Not many utensils in the unit we were in, 207. Beds were ok. Conveniently located at the south end of Ocean Blvd. It was nice for our dog because if you go before May 1st you can take you dog out on the beach any time you want for as long as you want, sweet. After May 1st you have to wait until after 5pm to take you dog on the beach. Be careful when you get a "poo bag" out of the container by the dog area, some doofuss kept putting bags with poo in them back in the bag dispenser (an upside down mailbox) Beach was great!

Room Tip: There are only a few true oceanfront rooms, all the others just have a window and door facing the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the Vancouver Motel last week for Spring Break. I was beyond pleased with the value of this motel for the incredible location, the cleanliness of the room, super friendly staff and STEPS from the ocean! I was a little disappointed because we were supposed to have a full kitchen but only had a kitchenette and had even called before hand to verify my reservation and the fact that I had kitchen. We were still able to prepare many of our breakfasts and most lunches in our room. There was a lot of work being done around the motel while we were there; this is a small, ma and pa style motel, no frills (no coffee pot, clock, shampoo, etc.) but for the price, has everything you need so you are not room poor. The rooms, pool area, laundry area, etc, were SPOTLESS and showed pride in ownership. Loved the place, loved our first trip to the area, for SURE going back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vancouver Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Motel

Address: 2601 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the blue Atlantic, the Vancouver is a small pet friendly motel, where you can relax and enjoy the beach in style. We are located minutes away from many area attractions, shopping and dining are also nearby. Our knowledgeable staff will be delighted to help make your Myrtle Beach vacation a great one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Vancouver Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vancouver Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.