We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vancouver Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vancouver Motel to your Saves list
Vancouver Motel
2601 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here a couple days ago because they were the only hotel we could find that would allow our Boston Terrier without charging the price of another nights stay! We were a little turned away at first with the look of the place because of all the nice places to stay in MB. But we were more than pleased with our stay. Everyone that worked there was super friendly and the rooms were very clean! This is one of the older hotels in MB so the outside could use some updating but the rooms were on par with the chain hotels. Great location and the beach was not over crowded by the hotel as it is closer to the center of town. We met some others staying here that have been coming back for 10 years and have never been disappointed. Also, the owner was working the front desk!! I love to see that sort of dedication to a small business, especially in this economy. Great stay!

Room Tip: Even the pool side rooms have a view of the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
34
31
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Ga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times in previous years because we have pets and prefer mom and pops to elevators and tenth floor rooms. It was one of those places to me, that could have gone either way. I was very impressed however at the management and the over all cleanliness when we spent the night there last Sat. night, July 7, 2012. It has not been updated to a Boutique or anything like that. The entrance door sticks. There is a manual door key. And you can hear people, and sometimes see their shadows outside the bathroom window. Also you have to ask the desk clerk for ice. Kinda funny now. If it ain't for you, it ain't for you. But it was pretty cool to us. Beachfront. Pleasant. Laid back. Quiet end of the beach. EASY beach access. Clean pool too. Now
that's a must.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I love these old beachfront motels. Timepieces from the heyday of the 50s-70s. The problem with a lot of them is they aren't updated. This is one of those places.
A bare bones place. No clock in the room, a small tube-type tv, few outlets, a dingy closet, a "retro" bathroom - to be charitable - and an actual keyed lock with a latch so flimsy you could kick it in with one try.
But it's not all bad. The staff was very nice. The cool tile floors were loved by my dog. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The a/c is killer cold. The mini fridge will keep your beer ice-cold. The shower's water pressure is fantastic. Small but clean pool. And it's right on the beach.
It's a couple miles away from the tourism and noise - both good and bad. Quiet at night. Despite it being almost full with what could only be described as a "redneck reunion," I didn't hear any noise from other rooms. (And the so-called "rednecks" were actually very nice people.)
Would I stay there again? Maybe. I'd make it my "safety" motel. There are about 2,000 hotel rooms in MB, and I'm sure you could find something closer, or nicer, or cheaper, but maybe not all three.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a family-run business. We had very personal attention, which is rare with many large chain hotels. The room was very clean and the entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is right on the beach and very reasonably priced. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The room was clean with just the bare necessities, beds, tv, bathroom. If you are looking for luxury then this isnt the place. The best part is that it is right on the beach which is were you want to spend all your time anyway. Seeing all the dogs was nice, but if you are not a dog lover then you might want to stay elsewhere since there will be many and some of them loud. The walls seemed to be paper thin and we could hear every neighbor's conversation throughout the night and also dogs barking. Luckily we were only in the room to sleep, and that was a little hard to do with these walls. All in all it was worth the money because of its prime location and beach access. It was a short drive to most restaurants and a little walk to a few local convenient stores.

Room Tip: try to get a oceanfront corner room, 2nd floor, so you will only have a neighbor on one side to worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Only stayed one night but very impressed with everything. It was a joy to have our dog with us.Shawn very nice and Mark very friendly on the phone.
Great oceanfront room very clean which made us comfortable. No sign that any dog had been in the room before us.
Will for sure return in the fall for a week.
Thanks for great weekend.
Ann.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at Vancouver. The owner is a great guy who is very accommodating. The tile floors in the room are perfect for pets - cool in the heat, and easy to clean if your dog has an accident! Beds were comfortable - the rooms are older but if you're not looking for the Ritz but just a comfy place right on the beach, this is it. Pool was very clean. Cleaning staff were very pleasant folks. Many people are repeat visitors every year, sometimes for weeks at a time. The rooms were clean but not spotless - but neither is my house. We stayed in an ocean front room on the first floor as our dog is elderly, can't do stairs. You can see the water over the dunes. If you want a better view though stay on the 2nd or 3rd floors. Sunrise was beautiful! Smoking on balconies only. All in all - an excellent buy for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vancouver Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Motel

Address: 2601 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the blue Atlantic, the Vancouver is a small pet friendly motel, where you can relax and enjoy the beach in style. We are located minutes away from many area attractions, shopping and dining are also nearby. Our knowledgeable staff will be delighted to help make your Myrtle Beach vacation a great one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Vancouver Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vancouver Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.