We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Beach & Racquet Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Schooner Beach & Racquet Club to your Saves list
Schooner Beach & Racquet Club
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   7050 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Schooner in Mid October. I must mention Beth at the front desk who made very sure that I got the condo that I wanted. She was helpful, patient and friendly. I gave the hotel 3 stars because it is very outdated. It needs renovation badly. However, the views from the 7th floor condo in which we stayed were wonderful. Watching the sunrise and sunset was amazing over the ocean. The condo was clean. I knew that housekeeping did not clean the rooms daily, but they called most mornings to determine if we needed anything. That was fine with me. The location is also very good. It is near restaurants, shopping areas, and entertainment. As retirees, we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. We did not use the pool, but walks on the beach were nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will begin renovating some rooms in March. We hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The place is in need of an update really bad. The bathrooms have this disgusting jetted tub with a low dollar insert. The grout and tile on the bathroom floor is really worn. The pool is really small, uninviting grounds and the exterior view of the place next door makes it look even worse. When the Hilton goes up next door they are going to have to step up their game.

Awesome staff our unit was very clean but if you're looking for a place to stay that's updated and has a nice pool and lounge area this isn't it. On the plus side it's right on the beach and everything is close.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

There was nothing remarkable or awful about Schooner. This was the most average Myrtle Beach hotel I have seen. The 1-bedroom unit with an extra set of bunks in basically a large closet was nice for extra beds. The outdoor lawn area was a nice spot to relax. They could use an extra elevator but that won't happen. Not bad. Not great. Just a place to stay...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We will begin renovations on some rooms in March, hopefully making our resort a little better than average.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was so dirty that when my 10 month old crawled on the floor her feet and knees turned black!!! The furniture was stained and filthy. I felt very uncomfortable with the cleanliness of the room and hotel as a whole. We did laundry in the laundry room and lost money in 2 of the dryers because they did not work. I didn't mind the hotel and room being outdated but it should have at least been clean. Also, nobody tells you when you book the room that it is black bike week and let me say I would never vacation in myrtle beach again during that time, fortunately we were there at the end and only had to put up with it for one day. The staff all seemed very nice and the outdoor chairs and tables were very nice. Great view of the beach. In closing I will never stay there again because of how filthy the room was

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Your comments are very helpful to us to ensure that these issues do not occur again. We are very sorry that you experienced these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed this past weekend at the hotel and I must say that it was very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly which I loved. The room actually looked like the pictures on the site which was exellent! The only thing I didn't like was that if you are bringing your kids you may want to reconsider because there is not a lot for them to do (one sliding board outside) other than swim in the pool unless you want to drive to a different destination. However the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff was amazing. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a beautiful oceanfront room.

Room Tip: Very quiet and enjoyable!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review about our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I do not have one bad thing to say of this place, people were nice, room was nice, the view from the bed at the beach was so nice and relaxing. A+ in my book, the outside of the building at night is really cool, your on the strip but away from the crowd on the grand, we got to stay top floor with an ocean view for a good price as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review. We really appreciate your kind words about our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schooner Beach & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Beach & Racquet Club

Address: 7050 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Beach & Racquet Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Schooner Beach & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Beach And Racquet Club
Schooner Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.