We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Beach & Racquet Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Schooner Beach & Racquet Club to your Saves list
Schooner Beach & Racquet Club
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   7050 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Prince George, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After having a bad experience with another hotel I can say that I really did enjoy my stay in this room. I had debated whether or not I was going to drive back home and called after 7 pm and was able to find a room there cheaper than what I had paid at the hotel the night before. The view of the beach was great. I had my own little haven away from my kids. The only bad things I have to say about the place is Please place a notice on the front door that if a guest returns to the hotel after 11 to use the side doors. Trying to lug around tired kids that time of night was a drag. Also room 305 please check the twin beds. the board on the top bunk needs to be screwed tighter or taken off. Other than that my stay was great. Friendly and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review. We have taken care of the bunkroom issue. We hope that you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay - loved our view, room & staff. Everyone was very helpful and attentive to our needs. We really loved our balcony overlooking the beautiful beach!! Thank you for a great stay and we would definitely come back to this establishment. Also, a big thanks to Deb - her willingness to accommodate our crazy trip down and always with a smile!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We love reading that your family had such a wonderful vacation with us. We hope that you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a small and older resort. Nice place to stay and good management. Some rooms have Jaccusi tubs. All have kitchens and the resort has grills. Nice small pool and hot tub. The best thing about a small resort like this is after a few days everyone gets to know everyone and become one big family. Good beach front location and good for kids. Nice place

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We really appreciate you kind words about our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not the top of the line resort, but friendly , quiet, good location, comfortable. If you want to enjoy the ocean view, nicely priced, and don't need picture perfect ammenities. This is a nice place to stay, The staffs friendliness makes up for the age of the unit.

Room Tip: Up grade your room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are beginning a renovation in March and hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent the last week in September at Schooner Bay. The location (northern end of Myrtle Beach) was ideal with direct beach access. our 2 bedroom unit's 4th floor balcony overlooked the ocean, and the grounds were well-maintained. We were a bit off-season, so the resort was not crowded. The pool and hot tub are small, and may be inadequate for the busier summer season. The exterior is in the process of being painted, so the building has a fresh, clean appearance. The interior of our unit had been recently painted, and it was very clean. The beds were comfortable, although the pillows were VERY old, flat and badly in need of replacement. Old, stained pillows covered with zip-on pillow covers...ugh. There were plenty of towels, including 4 towels for the beach or pool, and towels could be exchanged whenever you wanted fresh ones. Plenty of hot water in the shower. The building is concrete and steel, so the rooms were very quiet, no noise from the other tenants. BUT...the interior furnishings and appliances were old, dated and faded... very unappealing. I read a few reviews where the kitchens had been updated this year in some units, so maybe they are doing a few at a time, but our kitchen was small, appliances old. The couch was old and sagging (cannot imagine sleeping on it), the chair in the master bedroom had a huge stain on it. There were 2 flat-screen TV's in the unit, but everything else was O-L-D. The floor plan was awkward, with the master bedroom's only window opening to the HALL! Since we had to keep that drape closed all week the room had a cave-like feeling with no natural light. The second bathroom opened onto the kitchen, and the kitchen was very narrow.
On the plus side, the staff get an A+ for friendliness, helpfulness, courtesy and accomodation. The helpfulness of the staff, the overall cleanliness of the unit and the resort, plus the wonderful beachfront location made our week a good one, but this timeshare resort needs to get busy and spend some of those maintenance fees on updating the interior of the units. Today's vacationing families are looking for a little more in accomodations than this resort is providing.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We are beginning a renovation of several rooms in March. We hope that you can visit our resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 with our two kids (5, 7). The place looks nice from the outside but inside it is very average - really dated. That said, it is right on the beach with a pool and hot tub, and in a good location for exploring the area (although a little north of many attractions).

Check-in (and check-out) were a breeze. The front desk staff was always helpful and friendly. Luggage carts are available. We got a beach-facing 1 bedroom on the 3rd floor right in front of the elevator and stairs. The room is quite odd in that the master bedroom has a window facing the HALLWAY. I mean, wtf? Who wants a window into the hallway? The drapes in that window were kept shut at all times. The stairs are steel and made a loud noise when stepped (or jumped) on by pounding feet. Luckily the hotel was very quiet by bedtime.

Unknown to us, the one bedroom suite comes with a small (large closet-sized) bunk-bed room. This was a huge bonus as the kids got to share the bunk beds instead of us having to open and close the pull-out sofa every day. That said, the bunk bed is ancient and squeaked horribly with any type of body movement (particularly on the top bunk).

The room is quite dated but is clean and relatively comfortable. There are ample pillows and blankets for everyone. We did get 4 "pool" towels for our stay. But we were told not to use them on the beach (so we bought cheapo towels that we left behind). Also, there was once-a-week "tidy-up" service. And bath towels could be replaced a couple of times a week.

The appliances were small (expected in a small kitchenette) but all worked properly. Our room didn't come with enough bowls however for all of us, though. Weird.

There were optional activities to sign up for during the week (e.g., water aerobics, sand art, BBQ, etc.). The sand art and BBQ cost a few dollars.

The Schooner is a "voluntary no-smoking" establishment. So you can guess how well that is followed. Unfortunately, our neighbors always seemed to be smoking on their balcony which made it impossible for us to enjoy ours.

The pool was small but clean. The hot tub was nice (but a little too hot). It was closed one day for maintenance. Also, there is a sign that kids under 14 are NOT allowed in the hot tub (regardless of parental supervision). I thought that was a little unfair as my kids like the hot tub as much as we do.

Beware that the early-morning lounger "reservations" were going on here. I'd see loungers untouched for hours except for the towel placed on it earlier. I really despise this practice.

The "gym" is mostly a joke - an elliptical and treadmill and an all-in-one exercise machine. The laundry has 3 washers and 6 dryers. A wash cost $1.50 (30 minutes) and the dryer $1.00 (40 minutes for a regular load). The front desk sells detergent (at $1 per) and fabric softener if needed.

Loungers and umbrellas are available for rent on the beach from the lifeguards. A half day is $15 or $20. I never got them for a full day. believe a weekly rental is also possible.

Starbucks is a couple blocks north as is the terrific River City Cafe (great onion rings and burgers). A Food Lion is a few minutes drive for groceries and there are too many beach stores on N. Kings Highway to name just one.

All-in-all it was an average (2.5 or 3 star) "resort". Rooms really need to be updated. They did have flat-screen TVs though (Dynex brand!). :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Total disappointment! The trip was for my son who had just undergone three eye surgeries. Imagine my horror having to clean the place after we arrived. The silverware was filthy. The Beds bits us, the air conditioner leaked soaking the carpet and we had to open the room door just to access the vegetable and fruit bin in the refrigerator. The apartment contained too much furniture as we had to put the coffee table on the patio for the duration of our stay just so we would not trip over it using the rest room at night. The pool was full of bugs and the hot tub desperately needed cleaning. Okay it has a great beach access and the outdoor patio chairs and tables were lovely. The people were very nice and the location was great, but the place was the pits. This place was definitely not a 3.5 star try a 1.5.star. Management should consider closing it and renovating the units to be more family friendly as one bath room really stinks for a family of four and it stinks even more when it is located off of the kitchen!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPMResorts, Public Relations Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Shawn,
We apologize for the problems you experienced on your recent visit. We strive to ensure each and every guest has a positive experience. We have looked into this unit, as well as some of the issues you mentioned in your review. We routinely have the property inspected for bed bugs and pests, and this unit was inspected and approved shortly before your visit. Additionally, our maintenance staff continually cleans the pool to remove any debris or insects, so we apologize you experienced a problem in that area. We work hard to ensure each guest is greeted with a smile, and are glad you had a positive experience with our staff. Thank you for your review, and we hope your son is recovering nicely from his eye surgeries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schooner Beach & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Beach & Racquet Club

Address: 7050 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Beach & Racquet Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Schooner Beach & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Beach And Racquet Club
Schooner Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.