We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allergy Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
740 Coastal Grand Circle, In Restaurant District of Coastal Grand Mall, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
+1 843-448-5533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 761 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls. Whatever the occasion, we'll stop at nothing to make your time at Abuelo's a memorable dining experience.
Raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Allergy Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is an excellent place to eat if you suffer from food allergies. Chris Howard and his Staff did a great job taking care of our daughter and her numerous allergies. The food was extremely tasty and atmosphere was very laid-back. I wish there was an Abuelo's in Raleigh, NC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    139
    42
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I ate at the bar and didn't even order an alcoholic beverage, but received good service from the staff overall and not necessarily just the person who took my order. The food was pretty good although I am not a Mexican food expert. I do eat Mexican a lot though, so I have that experience. It was not too spicy if that's an issue for you. The location is not exciting being in a mall parking lot but the inside atmosphere is vibrant and busy. If you are craving Mexican, this might be the best one in MB.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, Atmosphere and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food was amazing and enjoyed by my husband down to my one year old. We loved having the three types of salsas (our favorite was the pineapple tomatillo). Service was excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

While this chain packs them in, our experience this year was average at best. Our server was just not in sync. We got there for our reservation and were seated immediately. The server was initially attentive but slipped as the meal went on. We ordered queso dips as an apetizer but we were out of chips when they arrived at the table. By the time he brought more the dips were cold and had to be reheated. Our drinks were regularly empty and we had to ask for refills which is a tell-tale sign your server is clueless. Our orders arrived and both my wife's and daughters were wrong. By this time we were just too numb to send them back. Overall it wasn't horrible, just not very good. For a table of 8 it was $150 with tip. I'd suggest trying a local Mexican restaurant instead. We will next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“good place and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

good food and service. Good place for family and friends. True Mexican American place. The atmosphere is nice, and the service is pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.