We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 2 below are crazy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riptide Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riptide Beach Club
Save Saved
You added Riptide Beach Club to your Saves list
2804 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The 2 below are crazy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed for a week at this property. I admit by first glance...and by the reviews below that i was a bit nervous about staying here. i booked m trip before Joann..see below...and then saw her review so yes, I was not excited about staying here. I will comment on her description though. 1) who cares if someone feeds a stray cat...i saw the cat. Looks healthy. Thank you for caring for a helpless animal! Oh, don't bring your dog to a place that doesn't allow pets. What do you think will happen? They will refuse to allow the dog on the property and expect you to kennel it, like you should have done in the first place. The couch - mine was clean and the mattress looked brand new. You are in a hotel, bring Lysol. I have stayed in plenty of condos being an RCI member and I can tell you, they don't all do towel service DAILY or sheet service weekly. In most condos, you are responsible for your sheets and towels for the week. Not here! They come by daily and replace towels without request, and bedding if you request. 2) stealing-if someone is stealing your things here, then they are stealing your things from any beach resort. If this place has a problem with the homeless stealing then so do every other beach resort down the main strip. If you leave your things unattended then what do you expect? After staying here I am not really sure where you would "leave" your things and have them stolen. If you are out on the beach and leave your things on your towel then that's the chance you take, its not the resort you are staying at because you walked a mile away from your things and they got stolen. I had a wonderful room just above the non-heated pool. I had a one bedroom, just fyi. EVERYTHING was clean, and I am a bit crazy about cleanness. I did bring Lysol and sprayed everything from the doorknob to the remotes. I also re-washed everything in the dishwasher that I planned on using for the week. No stains on either mattress and the room was CLEAN! The staff was wonderful and the beach towels were provided for you. One pool was heated and the other was not. You are less than 5 mins away from broadway at the beach. And another FYI....if you pick a room with "beach view" then expect a "beach view". No matter where you stay if you pay for a beach view then you might get 1 inch of beach view before the next hotel is in your way. If you want a "beach view" the spend the extra money and get "beach front". So if you get beach front you will see the beach straight on. Beautiful view. Oh, and although just an assumption from working in a place of business...if there is something that is against fire code....the laundry room per the review below...then the place would be shut down. Oh, and the fitness center I cannot comment on. With miles of beach in front of you, I don't know why you would work out in a fitness center anyway....and besides, you don't stay at a hotel based on the fitness center. At least I don't. So, save some money and stay here. It was clean and the location was great. I will be staying here again. Oh, lastly who expects a blender in their condo? Once again, RCI offers tons of condos and I have never had a blender. At least you can ask for one here!

Room Tip: Ask for a good room! Duh! Just above the non-heated pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
24
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we are here now in room d-35, its old and run down , couches very soiled, not very good view of ocean , maybe was good in early 70's , not a condo just a nasty efficiency , no one could sleep on sofa bed , reg bed very small, would i stay here again , not in this life time. told desk clerk she just grinned like not 1st time i heard this.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terra alta, wv
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

i traveled with family and was embarrassed that I made the reservation. My families room B9 had a mattress on the pull out sofa with a blood stain. It took several requests to get the mattress changed (they removed one from adjoining room). The maintenance wanted to "wipe off the blood" and return it to the pull out sofa. The following night at 3 am my brother had to call maintenance because he woke to water dripping on sofa. Water began running from the ceiling, he had to put a cooler under the leak. At 4:30 AM the maintenance man showed up and wanted to know where the leak was, when my brother explained that water was running from the ceiling the Riptide employee decided to go to the unit abovee and find the problem. At 5:00 AM the riptide employee returned to let my brother know that they could not wake the upper level travelers and would attempt to arouse them after 8AM all the while water was rrunning from the ceiling. Hours later the riptide employee roused the upstairs tennant and then needed to "run for parts" the ceiling leaked all that day into the next. I took photos of the leaking ceiling and it appears as though this is a repeat problem. The insulation in the celing was saturated and a large stain (possibly mold) is appearing. The closet in room B9 smells as though something died.
My unit D27 was not much better. There is blood on the sofa cushions, the ceiling tile blows out each time the door is opened, the laundry room is deplorable. Riptide is venting a dryer into a kitty litter container!! The lint behind the dryer has built up and is a fire hazard. The fire extinguishers have not been inspected since 2010! These are required monthly, annually, every six years and every 12 years but apparantly Riptide is above those inspections. The extinguishers are not clearly marked and some are missing the piece to break the glass. There are electrical panels not labeled and if you opened them you have access to 220 volts, they are not locked. The exercize room is 2 tread mills and a stepper-PATHETIC!! No blenders in the rooms, they must be checked out, the game room is promptly locked at 8PM, no laundry in the units, no change machines for quarters to do your laundry, lighting is horrible, light bulbs need changed. They have a no pets policy and yet the font desk tells me that Riptide owns the stray cat and then she changes her story and says that it is a stray, REALLY!! A fellow travelers beach bag was stolen, we had to very nice body boards taken and Michelle tells me that they have problems with the homeless steeling - WTF!!

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying at riptide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Someone else said, "old school" which is a pretty accurate description. Nothing fancy at all. No maid service except they come to take the trash out. You have to request new towells and you have to sign out "beach towells". But the view and the proximity to the beach are excellent. I took my three children (13, 10, 9) and didn't have to worry about them wrecking anything. We stayed in C-23. Single bedroom (my daughter and I slept in one bed), living room with very uncomfortable pullout couch (but my sons didn't mind), small kitchenette, small bathroom. I could sit on my 2nd floor balcony and watch the kids run to the beach. It's a great location. Five minutes from Broadway at the Beach. Close to the boardwalk. Lots of mini golf and restaurants right around the corner. If you're looking for top notch ammenities or a romantic getaway...this is not the place for you. If you are looking to chill out for a couple of days with the kids....this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room!!! Otherwise, you are facing the road or another building. Don't stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed in the Riptide II building, which by my view seemed to be a bit newer. The amenities were great........separate living room, whirlpool tub, flat screen tv's, full kitchen with dishwasher, and balcony.

RIGHT on the beach, with excellent views. Walking distance to stores, bars, and dining. Would absolutely return to this property. By the way, no one gave us any high pressure timeshare sales pitch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

It was a very nice stay in Myrtle Beach. Sits on beachfront property. Parking is the only problem. Good restaurants nearby. Staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

this is a quaint 5 level beach condo it was very clean, the pools are great with a beach view, it is close to many attractions, dining, and watering holes, many destinations were within walking distance or a short drive had a blast. Spent endless hours at the pool, very relaxing. It isn't fancy but a nice beach retreat - go with some friends and create the best vacation ever, we did!

Room Tip: corner rooms are a bit larger if you have 4 people in a room it is comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riptide Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Beach Club

Address: 2804 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Riptide Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Riptide Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riptide Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.