We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Breeze Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Southern Breeze Motel to your Saves list
Southern Breeze Motel
1901 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Duncannon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and i have been staying here for 24years, look forword to every Oct.We meat the same group of friends every year at this time, David and stapf are always pleasant and ready to help, hello Mary .see yall in 2012 Mel&Barb.

Room Tip: corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
28
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our family of four stayed here for our annual summer vacation from Aug. 5th to Aug. 14th. We have stayed here a few times in the past and have had good experiences. We had our wedding this year in North Myrtle on Aug. 6th, and spent the rest of the week at the Southern Breeze with the kids. The motel is older, but they do a very good job of keeping it tidy. My wife's parents wanted to spend one more day at Myrtle after our wedding, we offered our extra bed in the ocean front room, and informed the front desk, she told us where they could park, no problem. Any problems I experienced during our stay were quickly taken care of. A television remote that wouldn't work properly, just a short trip to the front desk and they gave me another to use, no problem. When we had a clogged toilet, it was just a few minutes later that someone came up, no problem. I watched them clean the pool every morning. The maid always asked if there was anything we needed when we seen her in the hallway. We had a wonderful stay and honestly hated to leave! We will be back next summer, and are already making plans to stay at the southern breeze for 2 weeks instead of our usual one week stay! Without smaller family owned and budget friendly motels like this one, that long of a stay would not be possible for us. The only amenity I could recommend adding is wi-fi. Thank you Southern Breeze and we will see you next summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernBreezeMotel, Front Desk at Southern Breeze Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for staying with us again this year!

We are always looking forward to having guest that understand that with low rates comes an older property. We have always felt we give guest a nice clean place to stay at very competitive rates.

As you have seen we have done many renovations over the past few years and we are hoping that WI-FI will be available in the upcoming year. We realize more people are requesting that option and we are looking into it.

We look forward to seeing you again next year and thank you for staying at the Southern Breeze Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

When we first arrived we noticed that our sheets had not been changed and we immediately called downstairs and the Manager came up and changed them on all three beds. He was very nice and explained that they were just stains but changed the linens to make us feel better. The hotel was very quite it was like we were the only ones there even though there were no vacancy. It was defiantely a family orientated hotel. Yes it does need handy work done and updated (appliances, furniture, etc.) but for the price it was a great place to stay with a great ocean front view. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernBreezeMotel, Front Office Manager at Southern Breeze Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Thank for you the kind review. We get all of our sheets delivered from an outside supplier and we changed them every time someone checks out and put new sheets on the beds for new guest arriving.

The sheets delivered where probably not washed properly from the supplier and the housekeeper may have just overlooked it when putting it on the bed. We always try to replace anything that is out of order to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and I took our kids, and got an oceanfront 2 room unit. It had a kitchenette, and we were on the 4th floor I think. We didn't have any problems and the kids had a ball. We were directly in front of the ocean. The rooms were dated, but hey you can't expect the ritz carlton for those prices. We were hardly in the room, but we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Hill, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We wanted a view of the ocean and I took it that was what we were going to recieve. We got there and we had a side view alright of the parkin lot and the hotel beside of us.We were on the first floor. We had a very hard time opening the door and usually ended up forcing it open. It didn't lock as we went out so therefore we had to lock the dead bolt every time and it wasn't the easiest lock to lock. I was going to hang my swimsuit out or just lay it across a chair out side the room on our balcony if thats what you want to call it and we didn't even have a chair so i got a clothes hanger and found a small hole on the bottom of the air conditioner and hung it up. We went out and came back and someone had put chairs on our very small porch. We wanted ice and was looking for the ice machine and couldn't find it of course so we went to the front desk and ask . The answer was they had no ice machine and we had to pay .25 for a little bucket of ice from the front desk. the only thing good about the whole place was the air conditioner worked really well and the tv was great and there were no bugs..every thing else sucked..The Southern Breeze sure didn't have any southern charm when it came to the front desk either. I live in Kingsport, TN and have worked at a hotel and charm and personality is what brings guest back I quit the hotel business years ago and I still have more hospitality than anyone working at that place..They never tried to find us another room where we could see the ocean and didn't even make an attempt to satisfy us as guest.. I know that place couldn't have been sold out. We even took down our parking tag when we went out so that people wouldn't know where we were staying.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernBreezeMotel, General Manager at Southern Breeze Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
When you booked your reservation did you reserve an "Ocean Front" or a "Side View" Unit? They are the only two room types that we offer. If you requested the cheapest we had available you would have received a "Side View".

Even though we call them Side Views, you can still see the ocean considering the motel that is beside us is more than 50 feet away from our building and it does not block the ocean at all. (If you look at the picture of our motel on Trip Advisor you can see the side view balconies and you and can clearly see there is nothing beside them blocking the view).

Our balconies are average size in comparison to most motels in the area. We apologize about the door and I'm sure if you had informed us about the problem we could have sent a maintenance worker to repair it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patricksprings
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

me and my family have stayed there a couple of times,most recently for spring break 2010. we always get the oceanfront double room,which has a great view,the rooms are always clean and we have always got great service from the staff.The rooms are very affordable,not very fancy,but you get what you pay for.A clean room,for a cheap price

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I have to start by saying I have stayed at this motel for the last 20 years . I keep going back for the quiet family atmosphere and friendly workers. and its always been clean. this year I have mixed feelings. I never complain when minor things tear up because they are always fixed quickly which in the last 20 years were few and far between and I could count them on 1 hand.
we arrived and check in was fast and friendly. after we got to our room we were not happy to say the least. pillow case had a foot print on it. bed spread had something on it. and toilet seat had urine all over it and they gave us new bedspread and pillow case and cleaner-maids were gone and only 1 person working. so ok were clean now so we unpacked and rested saw 1 bug killed it thought ok 1 no biggie right. then another and another we killed 6 bugs I was horrified! we went down and told them and they moved us to the top floor and upgraded us to an ocean front room. with new bed-so comfy, new countertops in bathroom. new faucets in bathroom. we checked for the first 24-48 hours and no bugs so we were good the rest of the week must of been just that one room as they have monthly exterminators to keep bugs out. and in all my 20 years have never had any bugs at this hotel ever. they also called the exterminator and they were there within the hour spraying that room. and were to come back the beginning of the week to do the rest of the motel. so other than the horrible start to our vacation after we were upgraded to a ocean front room and no bugs it was always clean and maids were nice. we had a great stay. Im still not sure if I want to return here but will consider it. ocean front had 2 rooms 3 beds full kitchen balcony new comfy beds. so thats why my title is mixed feelings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Breeze Motel

Address: 1901 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and friendly atmosphere located in the heart of the beautiful Grand Strand. The staff of the Southern Breeze strive to make your vacation the best ever by providing OCEANFRONT rooms, 1 and 2 room efficiencies that come fully loaded, and a pool for everyone to enjoy.Located in the south of Myrtle Beach places everyone near shopping centers, golf courses, and amusement parks to make every moment one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Breeze Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Breeze Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Breeze Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.