We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday South Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday South Motel
Save
You added Holiday South Motel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2605 S. Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Me and my best friend ended up staying at this hotel for our birthday because the hotel that we reserved ended up losing our reservations. This hotel was our only choice because we were only 19 and other hotels had no vacancies. When we walked into the room it was DISGUSTING! I think we literally cried ourselves to sleep. Please Please Please don't stay here! I have posted pics so that you can see the type of mess we had 2 endure!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    1
    3
    30
See reviews for
16
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winder
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have stayed at this motel every June since 2007. We have always enjoyed it until this past year. The stay was awful. It started when we checked in. Supposedly, the owners have changed and these are the worst yet. There was never a quiet moment. The pool was not useable because of the relatives of the hotel workers. They just took it over. There were always rowdy people in the hallways even one peeing in the hall. They bathtub was like the ocean waves. Something had broken loose and you couldn't move without almost falling. Needless to say we will not be staying there this year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The year before last I stayed at Holiday South and loved it. I'm not sure what happened this year, but it was terrible when we came back. This hotel was extremely ghetto and not good for a family vacation. The younger kids were around other kids, and adults, that were openly using drugs in the hallways. The air conditioner didn't work at all, the outside was a lot cooler than the inside of your room. There were no maids to supply towels or anything, you had to do everything yourself. I did not enter the pool my entire vacation, half of the time I was there it was closed, Such a terrible vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

When we arrived we where given room 103 it had no carpet just carpet pad the shower did not work the sliding doors to balcony did not open so we told front desk they put us in a new room. the room was a little bit better but the carpet was nasty we had to keep something on our feet at all times. we planned on staying a week but said enough is enough we left after 3 days. This motel was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Always ask to see room befor you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

This motel is terrible. The first morning that we were there the police showed up along with agents with these ak47 looking guns. I could not believe my eyes. They allowed people to come on the property and visit even though they didn't have a room there. They also allow people to bring very mean pit bulls here. Another pit bull was jumped on and almost killed and 2 other dogs were jumped on too. Thank God they were alright, because 2 of the workers there helped get the pit off the other dogs. They had parties at the pool with loud music going and beer drinking. Not a family motel at all. We didn't get anything done to our room at all, except the first day, they came in the room and brought towels. That was it. From then on we had to go to office and get towels, toilet tissue. The elevator was very scary for a lot of people and it finally gave out, but they fixed it quick. It was a cheap motel room on the ocean front. I guess that we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

If I can find a way to sue this motel, I am going to. Room broken in the first night, sliding glass door would not lock. Police insisted management give us another room. That room was broken into the next night. The thieves which I believe were in cahoots with the motel management got all of our clothes, cell phones, shoes, ipods, luggage and the car keys to the car which they stole. The police found the car 24 hours later, stripped and with a big dent in the side. The entire time we were there, there was a man on drugs that the girl at the front desk said she let stay in a room there because he was so messed up and he kept coming up to us and trying to get into our room and car and would not leave us alone.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have drug addicts hanging around
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanceyville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

when we arrived even though we had already reserved the room a couple weeks before we had got there we had to clean it ourselves..it was nasty!!! broken furniture, we did not or could not ennjoy our stay at all. they need to have a police on site 24/7!!!!!!!!!! i WILL NOT EVER EVER go back. i dont care how cheap it is!!!! please if u see HOLIDAY SOUTH just keep on going. its not for your kids either....

Room Tip: to get the best room dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#22 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#102 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#12 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#93 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday South Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday South Motel

Address: 2605 S. Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday South Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Holiday South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday South Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday South Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.