We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation to your Saves list
Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Sea Watch Dr., Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
West Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Scenic and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I read Trip Advisor and made sure I requested a room in the North Tower. The first room we checked into was not exactly clean and outdated. It had bright blue counters, and even a medicine cabinet in the bathroom. There was a huge safe in the bedroom with a chair crammed up against it. I was disappointed. My boyfriend kept noticing hairs all over the white tile floors, we pulled back the covers on the bed and there was also a long hair in there. I decided then that we needed to just move rooms. Rolanda at the front desk was very nice, explained the South tower was newer and looked thru the computer to find us an updated room. We thanked her and checked into room 810 in the South Tower. MUCH better. Updated, cute, hardwood flooring, clean. I was so much happier. I think as guests sometimes we just "deal with what we're given" DON'T. You paid for this room you deserve to be completely happy with it, location, cleanliness, etc. The front desk person is not going to mind if you want another room.

There were 5 hot tubs on our side of the property, 4 outdoor, 1 indoor. There was an indoor pool, lazy river and 2 outdoor pools (not sure if heated or not) One was drained for maintenance. Some of the hot tubs were hotter and more full than others......but you had your choice to select from.

We did have breakfast Sunday a.m. and it was good. The breakfast staff is outstanding, ask and you shall receive ....they have a waffle and omelet guy that cooks you whatever you want. Get your breakfast prepaid when you get there - its 8.84 but in the restaurant its 10.50 I think. Its a savings to get it upfront. Lovely to sit and view the ocean and indulge in some lovely food.

No problems after we moved rooms, however, we did have some loud people on the hallway and they were running back and forth between rooms slamming doors. They eventually left to go out for the night. We also had a fire alarm go off.

The other thing I found weird is there are no restrooms on the pool level, you have to go to the 2nd floor and there is NO signage for the restroom. Its all the way down a long hallway at the end. Not exactly easy or convenient esp if you have a small child that "needs to go". Or a small bladder. LOL. The restroom is to the left as you get off the elevator just a heads up.

Overall, nice stay. If you find a nice unit, make sure you remember it for next time. They are indiv owned apparently .... 810 was not large, I wouldn't suggest it for more than 3 people. It was cozy for 2, 4 would be cramped I think.

Room Tip: The South tower is newer. A higher up floor would prevent you from hearing parking noise. No food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    108
    53
    34
    22
See reviews for
216
64
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayland, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We got a one bedroom one bath deluxe. # 1502 to be exact. The kitchen. living room and bedroom were fine but the bathroom was very small and the balcony was so small two people couldn't fit on it with the furniture out there. The lady at check-in got us pumped up because she said this was the country club of Wyndham resorts, not even close. The grounds and surrounding areas were excellent, very well maintained. The unit itself was very clean with everything you could need it was just not what we are used to from Wyndham. We stayed there because we had friends staying at Myrtle Beach Travel Park which is right next door. In a similar situation I would stay there again I would just set my expectations a little lower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at Wyndham SeaWatch with sis and a friend October 2013. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. We were supposed to be in a deluxe 2 bed suite, well we got the 2 bed suite but compared to the other Wyndham's we have stayed it was quite small. I think too many points had to be used for this particular room. The master suite did not have a Jacuzzi tub as advertised, the carpet was dirty and the room smelled like smoke, this is a non-smoking facility.
We did have a nice view of the ocean and the balcony overlooked the pools.

They had a very good buffet breakfast every morning, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They only serve breakfast and lunch. The only "bar" was a tiki bar by one pool and it was not always open. They advertise they are on restaurant row, it is not walking distance.

Wyndham offers grocery shopping on Monday, we flew and did not rent a car and came in on Thursday. They have a very nice shuttle that could be utilized to take their visitors various places, it sits idle. A small fee could be charged to help with maintenance.

Staff was friendly, but there are so many opportunities they are missing to make people want to come back often. The should check the amenities at other facilities.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean, the smaller rooms have a side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We are Wyndham owners and this was our first trip to Seawatch. As another review stated the 2BR units are small. We were In Villa III- it was disappointing the unit was small and balcony very small. I was told that all units were beach view. The beach was in view from our balcony but very limited and we looked over roofs, parking lots and a trailor park.
The unit itself was immaculate, decorated nicely and the bed is very comfortable for us.

I would return but would book a different unit. The pools and ocean are on site. Would be fun to bring the grand kids.

Room Tip: I would book in the towers for better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The common areas of this facility are beautiful, but if you don't have a car, there are no restaurants or bars within walking distance. It's supposed to be 1-2 miles from restaurant row, but it isn't walkable, especially at night. The SeaWatch shuttle doesn't run everyday. They only take guests too the grocery store once a week and to Biminis Restaurant once a week. We stayed in Villa II, Suite 609. The 2-bedroom unit was much smaller than other Wyndham properties we've stayed in. Although the website said the master suite had a Jacuzzi tub, it only had a walk-in shower. The second bathroom was only large enough for one person at a time. The carpeting in our room needed a good cleaning, however, the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped, and the hotel grounds were kept in very good condition. The one restaurant on-site was reasonably priced. There's a delicious breakfast buffet served every day for $10.49. The only bar on-site was the Tiki bar near one of the pools. We won't stay again only because it isn't convenient. They should make better use of the shuttle to take guests somewhere everyday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked an oceanfront room for our 30th anniversary. We were given a room in the back of the complex. While the inside of the room was clean, we had to walk down a walkway to get to our unit. Our unit, the walkway, nor the entrance to our unit ever saw direct sunlight. As a result there were bugs everywhere. They tried to tell us that all rooms were oceanfront, refused to do anything about the situation, even though all you saw from our room was the hotel next door. They ask us to come down to the front desk to talk to someone about our situation, when we arrived they tried to sell us a timeshare. They became very belligerent and offensive when we told them we weren't interested. We were also told that since this was a Wyndam resort, the assignment of rooms was out of the control of the local desk. This experience was so unbelievably bad, I thought of turning them into the better business bureau for their misleading information and conduct.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent three nights at SeaWatch Plantation. Got an amazing deal for three nights for two hundred and twenty dollars for a one bedroom oceanfront condo. The condo was dated. We had one bedroom with two doubles and a murphy bed in the living room. Kitchen is a small pass thru between the bedroom and living room. The view was slightly angled.....but you could still see and hear the ocean. The pools could use a cleaning...but they were large and didn't seem crowded. Several hot tubs available. Check in was easy and parking was ample. Overall, the room was satisfactory for the price we paid.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation

Address: 151 Sea Watch Dr., Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Seawatch Plantation Hotel Myrtle Beach
Wyndham Hotel Myrtle Beach
Wyndham Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.